Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / anyone good with electrical wiring?

Author
DBPro Master
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 27th Oct 2017 22:53
I'm rewiring my bathroom because it's a mess. I've drawn up a diagram of how I think it should be wired, but I'm no electrician. I've run a few things myself without problem, but I've never had to branch off to this many things before. Since the bathroom wall with the wiring is shared with the kitchen on the other side, I have one outlet over the counter in the kitchen which will be on this same circuit along with 1 outlet in the bathroom and 2 switches to control 2 different lights (exhaust fan and vanity lights). Halfway through, I stopped drawing the ground wires because it was just taking up space in the drawing and it's pretty self-explanatory how those work.

I've looked at many diagrams online and as far as I can tell, this is how it's done.

"I like offending people, because I think people who get offended should be offended." - Linus Torvalds

Attachments

Login to view attachments
revenant chaos
Valued Member
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th Oct 2017 02:52 Edited at: 28th Oct 2017 03:02
Hi Phaelax, The picture looks good to me:
Everything is wired in parallel (not counting switches), Hot [black] wire being switched, maximum of 3 wires per nut (use a pigtail if you need more than 3 wires per nut).
Just be sure to only make connections within junction/gang boxes, and connect black-to-gold and white-to-silver when making connections to receptacles/fixtures.
It is also a good idea to install GFCI receptacles around sinks/water if they aren't already of that type. Best of luck man.