Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers AppGameKit Corner / Why is this ball flying up?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
This is really very noob question I must have missed something really simple, but - why is this sphere flying up? I thought that it should stand still or, at most, fall down to the plane. Why doesn't it stop at the upper plane, but after some jerks continues going upward?

PSY
Developer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 29th Dec 2017 15:46
I've never used the slide commands, and I'm new to 3D, but I guess it's because the sphere is too close to the plane to run an ObjectSphereSlide with a radius of 10, so you get unwanted values.

I replaced 10 by 2.8 in the following line, and it works:
if ObjectSphereSlide(0,oldx#,oldy#,oldz#,newx#,newy#,newz#,2.8)>0

PSY LABS Games
Coders don't die, they just gosub without return
Kot
Years of Service
User Offline
It's not the matter of the planes, because if you comment them out it still goes up like crazy Looks like it checks for collision with itself or just magic Yes, radius set to 2.8 works, but why? It can't be that I'll have to manually look for radius each time I'll want to load an object
Bengismo
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 30th Dec 2017 13:29
The code doesnt make a lot of sense to me. What are you trying to do??