Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Best way to draw on a texture

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th Jan 2018 15:01
Hello

I'm fairly new to terrain texturing. And now I need to "draw" textures onto each other to make paths on terrains and such.
While Googling around, I think I need "Texture splatting" as you can see in this image:
[img]https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Texture_splatting#/media/File:Texture_splatting.png[/img]

What is the easiest way to do this in AppGameKit? I guess it has something to do with shaders?

and an extra question: Is it in any way possible to also combine normal or diffuse maps? Ideally, grass should have another normal map than a path or sand.

Thank you for any help or leads!
Van B
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th Jan 2018 15:25
Nah, no way to do texture splatting in AppGameKit - you really need fast and efficient access to vertex data and the render pipeline.

What I would suggest is you use a key image. Say you have 4 terrain textures, you could assign each one a channel in the key image. Sand might be the default textures, then RED for rock, GREEN for grass, BLUE for paths. Then, if you UV map the whole terrain that way, it can accept a colour multiplier image for better lighting, and the key texture would be scaled to the terrain - meaning that a 256x256 image can be used, or a 4096x4096 image without needing to adjust any code.

On the shader, you have the key image as a texture, and grab its colour value then each component can be used to distribute the texture on the terrain.