Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Normal mapping help

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Feb 2018 20:49
Hey everyone.

I'm trying to get normal mapping working, but getting no where. I have generated the normal map of the texture, and if I use setobjectnormalmap it works fine. I grab that vs and ps, but when I put them seperately it doesn;t work. It seems that for some reason the shader seperately can't pick out the normal texture.

Has anyone had this issue?
george++
AGK Tool Maker
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Feb 2018 21:03 Edited at: 13th Feb 2018 21:04
I am not an expert.
Recently I read the guide for shaders in the AppGameKit documentation.(https://www.appgamekit.com/documentation/guides/13_shaders.htm)
Do you apply the lighting?

Quote: "
Note the GetVSLighting function is declared but not defined, AppGameKit will define it at runtime. In this case the lighting information is passed directly to the pixel shader, but you can do anything you like to the value. The GetVSLighting function makes no changes to any global values, it only returns a value. Also note that the call to GetVSLighting must occur after setting the gl_Position value, the lighting function makes use of this value.

The function for pixel lighting looks like this
"
Santman
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Feb 2018 21:06
I'm looking at hte guide, but something funny is happening. For some reason, the exact same shader that is built into AppGameKit isn't working.
Santman
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Feb 2018 21:19
Ok I think I found it.....amazingly, calling your shader "normal.vs" and "normal.ps" causes it to simply not work! Lol.
Santman
Years of Service
User Offline