Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers AppGameKit Corner / Creating a save game file

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Sep 2018 14:16
Hi all,

I would like to ask a question.

I have made a minecraft kind of game. I have done it so I I have a stack of cloned objects that can be removed or new blocks are created by cloning a set of original blocks.

I have been reading and I cant work out how to save the game into a file.

I am guessing it is either an Array, Memblock or making a text file. Which would be the best way to go about it

Just some other questions I have. Please excuse me if I sound dumb, I am quite new to App Game Kit. And I am not a Computer Programmer. I am learning on the fly.

Is Memblock the equivalent to a data grid?
and
Can I find which ".obj" file a particular Object is using? GetObjectFile or something...

Thanks for reading and I hope you can help.

Nick
smallg
Valued Member
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Sep 2018 14:52
saving depends how you want to do it but writing to a file is the easiest method imo, it's a bit of a tedious process with lots of data but as long as you remember everything and read the file in the same order when loading it everything will work as expected.
i use for loops to store all the data in chunks so all related data is in a readable order and use WriteLine() command to get a file you can read by eye after (requires you convert all info to string when writing but helps a lot for debug purposes).
i.e.
file = OpenToWrite("save.txt")
WriteLine(file,"player info")
WriteLine(file,str(playerposX))
//etc
WriteLine(file,"block info")
for a = 0 to 999
WriteLine(file,str(blockposX[a]))
//etc
next a
CloseFile(file)