Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / [SOLVED] Shadow Mapping mode causing issue with screen resolution?

Author
Message
Steveotronic
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2015
Location: Leicestershire
Posted: 11th Nov 2018 14:24 Edited at: 12th Nov 2018 10:06
Hi guys and gals,

Im just starting to dip my toe into 3D and was just testing things out, I've come across an issue when I turn SetShadowMappingMode on.

My screen resolution is set at 960 x 540 but when I run with shadow mapping mode on (either 1, 2 or 3) it basically just drops the drawable area to the bottom left quarter of the screen.

I include the code below. I assume its just something I have missed, but I've tried multiple different things and with no luck. My other assumption is it could be something to do with my integrated graphics on my MacBook Pro.

any help would be appreciated. thanks.

Steve



EDIT: added Image for ref. Also noted this runs fine as put in, but if you uncomment Shadowmode then it gives the image attached.

Attachments

Login to view attachments

The author of this post has marked a post as an answer.

Go to answer

CJB
Valued Member
15
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 10th Feb 2004
Location: Essex, UK
Posted: 12th Nov 2018 15:12
Looks fine here (screenshot attached) - Sorry that's not much help!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Scraggle
Moderator
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jul 2003
Location: Yorkshire
Steveotronic
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2015
Location: Leicestershire
Posted: 12th Nov 2018 22:07
Thanks for replying.

If it’s running ok for you guys it must be something to do with the Mac or the Mac’s integrated graphics.

If anyone from TGC could have a quick look on Mac, that would be great but otherwise I will just continue without shadows.

Thanks again for replying.

Regards,

Steve
Paul Johnston
TGC Developer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 13th Nov 2018 16:16
Looks fine here, I've attached what it looks like on a Mac mini running 10.14

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Steveotronic
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2015
Location: Leicestershire
Posted: 13th Nov 2018 18:19
Thanks For testing it Paul. It must be something with my Mac specifically. I’m going to try a fresh install of AppGameKit just to see if that fixes it.

Thanks again all.

If anyone has any ideas on what it could be, any help would be appreciated.

Steve.
Paul Johnston
TGC Developer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 14th Nov 2018 17:18
This post has been marked by the post author as the answer.
This looks like it might be caused by retina displays, I've uploaded a new Mac version (2018.11.08b) which should fix it, although I can't test it here
Steveotronic
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2015
Location: Leicestershire
Posted: 15th Nov 2018 10:30
Paul,

Just downloaded 2018.11.08b this morning and its fixed. You worked some crazy wizardry, thank you.

I must say I am extremely impressed with how helpful this community is and the the people at TGC, also very impressed with the speed of this fix.

Thank you very much Paul.

Steve

Attachments

Login to view attachments

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-08-19 08:36:03
Your offset time is: 2019-08-19 08:36:03