Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Sprite Modeller and Animation System

Author
Message
blink0k
Moderator
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2013
Location: the land of oz
Posted: 22nd Dec 2018 06:23
ok. no worries. i'll leave it to you
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 22nd Dec 2018 10:35 Edited at: 22nd Dec 2018 10:36
Here is a little update - not flash but workable



Press the + and - keys to zoom incase things get in the way of your sprite line
Shall keep cracking on with it
chafari
Valued Member
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd May 2006
Location: Canary Islands
Posted: 22nd Dec 2018 12:11
Hi puzzler2018 . It look more proffesional now...just tested and not error at all compiling . When saving sprites now it save not only the little sprites but aswell a black horrible square box
I'm not a grumpy grandpa
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 22nd Dec 2018 12:16
Thanks for checking, please change the "savespritesheet" functon to




chafari
Valued Member
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd May 2006
Location: Canary Islands
Posted: 22nd Dec 2018 12:19
It looks like it works correctly now .
I'm not a grumpy grandpa
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 22nd Dec 2018 12:22
Thanks

Still lots more to do, so will do some more and update tomorrow.
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 22nd Dec 2018 12:49
Here is a look of a 3D editor inside this too

Way not started yet - just getting some ideas...


Attachments

Login to view attachments
chafari
Valued Member
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd May 2006
Location: Canary Islands
Posted: 22nd Dec 2018 12:58
Looks nice . I think adding 3D function is a good idea . In my morfing 3D programm is was easy to guess the intermediate vertex position but in 2D...I've been trying to figure out how on earth to achive this...then I thought about converting the whole sheet of pixels to a grid of let's say 32*32 objects and then do the rest ...but that could be a pain in the neck...I have to test it .
I'm not a grumpy grandpa
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 22nd Dec 2018 13:01
Do you have some sample code to represent your thoughts here. having more than two eyes are better to try and resolve an issue.

chafari
Valued Member
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd May 2006
Location: Canary Islands
Posted: 22nd Dec 2018 13:12
About 3D morfing it is easy to asign variables to every vertex postion and let's say we have an object with the same quantity of vertex and we want to morf one of them with the same vertex postion to the second objet ...what we do is inc or dec variables until all vertex of first object has the x,y,z of the second object .

What I first imagined , if I had to get the same in 2D, that I could make just two or three control point to rotate the pixels and then just mke a line betwen the getscreenX/Y of the objets...somethind like this ...



Of course it needs much more work .
I'm not a grumpy grandpa
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 22nd Dec 2018 13:29
Thanks

Would a LERP do it


chafari
Valued Member
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd May 2006
Location: Canary Islands
Posted: 22nd Dec 2018 13:45
Yeah ...something like that but with more control points . I'm trying to convert part of my 3D morfing system in a little snippet to Agk.
I'm not a grumpy grandpa
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 22nd Dec 2018 14:07
Cool - ill have a go later

Here is an image morpher



Takes in two pre-prepared images and lerps the pixels out in TIme#

Hoope it works
chafari
Valued Member
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd May 2006
Location: Canary Islands
Posted: 22nd Dec 2018 15:31
That's ok for TV effects . I'm on my own morpher...let see if I don't get old ...
I'm not a grumpy grandpa
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 22nd Dec 2018 16:34
Hiya

Here is a multiple of bones in motion.


puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 22nd Dec 2018 18:14 Edited at: 22nd Dec 2018 18:29
A slightly different approach

Add a joint and then add bones to it, it will join them all together

You see here are bones joined together..

Promise




It also shows 2 examples of bone creations each having differences.

Catch up soon
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 22nd Dec 2018 18:34
Oh my

A spiders web

Who would have thought it..



Enjoy !!
chafari
Valued Member
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd May 2006
Location: Canary Islands
Posted: 22nd Dec 2018 21:18
That looks really a web. I'm still fighting with my code ....I can't understand why Dbpro and Agk are so different when both use Basic . I can't morph even just a simple box from one size to other size . Vertex looks like flying nowhere ....That's driving me hell
I'm not a grumpy grandpa
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 22nd Dec 2018 21:20
Please send your DBPro code and we will try to interpret it.

chafari
Valued Member
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd May 2006
Location: Canary Islands
Posted: 22nd Dec 2018 21:30
Let me do some test ....the whole code is a mess
I'm not a grumpy grandpa
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 22nd Dec 2018 21:32
No worries...
chafari
Valued Member
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd May 2006
Location: Canary Islands
Posted: 22nd Dec 2018 21:56 Edited at: 22nd Dec 2018 21:59
Here we go... This code works perfectly in Dbpro....it shows how the vertex change from one object to the other object



This is just part of the comparison code ...we need then to make the final object (just another box ) and adjust the intermediates sizes with vertexdata.
I'm not a grumpy grandpa
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 22nd Dec 2018 22:03
Thanks - Yikes...

So all you need to do is interopolate between sizes of cubes from one to another maybe color interoporalate too?
chafari
Valued Member
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd May 2006
Location: Canary Islands
Posted: 22nd Dec 2018 22:26 Edited at: 22nd Dec 2018 22:26
No...just vertexdata ....I suppose we could manage to achive colour from to colour new ...

This is the same snippet in Agk , but vertex fly off



The only different I found here is move object left /right ....which is the same moveobjectlocalx and move object up / down
I'm not a grumpy grandpa
chafari
Valued Member
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd May 2006
Location: Canary Islands
Posted: 22nd Dec 2018 22:56 Edited at: 22nd Dec 2018 23:31
Here's a working snippet in Dbpro




And here is a working code in Agk !!!


I'm not a grumpy grandpa
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 22nd Dec 2018 23:00 Edited at: 22nd Dec 2018 23:05
Cool - is that what suppose to happening?

and if not - what would you like to see be happening..Merging from one object into two object structures??
chafari
Valued Member
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd May 2006
Location: Canary Islands
Posted: 22nd Dec 2018 23:10 Edited at: 22nd Dec 2018 23:11
I don't know what I did ...but now it works .... the example works in a simple box and it should works in two different shapes with the same quantity of vertex...it has a little flickering but at the moment works.


We need morphing for example , to make a face speak , just combining several defferent poses.
I'm not a grumpy grandpa
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 22nd Dec 2018 23:12
Wow - stick with that code, no more changes hey...

id love to see where your heading with this one as its bamboozled me most of the day lol

chafari
Valued Member
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd May 2006
Location: Canary Islands
Posted: 22nd Dec 2018 23:18
yes ... haha I have to leave for today otherwise I'll be pushed away from home
I'm not a grumpy grandpa
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 22nd Dec 2018 23:21 Edited at: 22nd Dec 2018 23:24
Ouch - im sure thats not correct - what you mean. you spend more time on here more than with family?

WOW that hit a nerve.. Cheers - i must head back to the real world sometimes too
PartTimeCoder
AGK Tool Maker
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2015
Location: London UK
Posted: 23rd Dec 2018 14:30
Quote: "i must head back to the real world sometimes too"


It's overrated, get cozy and code
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 23rd Dec 2018 15:55
Yeah i agree....

We could make this bone thingy thing into something like a UV Editor where can shift coordinates around



Try and click and grab / move one of the circles on the web
chafari
Valued Member
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd May 2006
Location: Canary Islands
Posted: 23rd Dec 2018 16:45 Edited at: 23rd Dec 2018 17:00
You created here a vertex system . That's usefull for lot of 3D programms

Take a look to this video of my lathe tool
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rGNMtmAPMHY]
I'm not a grumpy grandpa
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 23rd Dec 2018 18:01
Wow - thats some impressive software there...

I have done a little on UV mapping exatrction, its manually done for the minute and used an OBJ file Fubarpk sent a long while ago, cause this is the only OBJ file I have with textural information

As you see i have just manually added in the textures and ordered to what the Faces are.



Fubarpk would you say that was correct in the UV map for your object you once provided me?

I have added the OBJ to check if its showing correctly

Attachments

Login to view attachments
fubarpk
Retired Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Playing: AGK is my friend
Posted: 23rd Dec 2018 18:57
Looks right to me at first glance, It was one of the cube primitives
Cube mapping might be the best method for creating a uv map

most texturing programs have several methods but cube mapping
is one of the easiest i feel as its great for low poly objects and displays
like a side view top view bottom view etc of the object in wire frame to
be mapped. This makes texturing the easiest, but theres still some
complex maths required to write the routines

my understanding of blinks kenney converter converts color mapped
parts from the mtl file into a texture mapped just made up of squares
ie if model red, blue, green that just creates a texture with red, green
and blue and maps the object file to it. The problem is it only seems to
work with objects made up of blocks and not just triangles that arent
joined proper etc This might be the most achievable and even if people
could just color a face and have the face mapped to one texture. And have
it work with all objects far exceeds my expectations.

At the moment I am using meshlab to color a model and then lithunwrap
to convert to a uv map. Meshlabe is by far superior withs its unwrapping
but it crashes too often when i do stuff that i dont really understand lol

But its all challenges for the mind which is the reason i code
fubar
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 23rd Dec 2018 19:18
Thanks for your comments, really good to hear - i shall work on these soon.

In the meantime, i made the UV map be able to be adjustable



Tomorrow, i shall look at been able to import OBJ with textures automatically plus whilst watching the good ole favourite xmas movies lol
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 23rd Dec 2018 22:28
UV modelling certainly on its way


Attachments

Login to view attachments
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 24th Dec 2018 11:41
Hi guys,

Does this work as we expect UVs to work?


Use the attached pic to work

Looknig forward to your feedbacks

Attachments

Login to view attachments
chafari
Valued Member
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd May 2006
Location: Canary Islands
Posted: 24th Dec 2018 13:31
@ puzzler2018 Well done . I`ve tested and it works correctly
I'm not a grumpy grandpa
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 24th Dec 2018 14:37 Edited at: 24th Dec 2018 14:40
Thanks for testing - even though this works on a Plane - other objects are more complex, so im going to have another bash at doing an OBJ importer and exporter which involves Materials and Groups too this time.

Catch up later in the week once got this sorted.

EDIT - does anyone at all have a free working OBJ model that i could use to test with - the model needs to have some material informration and with a few Groups in there too
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 24th Dec 2018 17:33 Edited at: 24th Dec 2018 17:34
OK cool - i think i have recreated a Object loader with loads the MTL - color at the moment



Use the two Kenny files attached

Here is the license agreement from Kenny.NL

Quote: "
License
License: (CC0 1.0 Universal) You're free to use these game assets in any project, personal or commercial. There's no need to ask permission before using these. Giving attribution is not required, but is greatly appreciated!
"


How does it work for you guys?

Attachments

Login to view attachments
chafari
Valued Member
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd May 2006
Location: Canary Islands
Posted: 24th Dec 2018 18:14
Quote: "OK cool - i think i have recreated a Object loader with loads the MTL - color at the moment"


Yeah...I tried to apply texture changing the mtl file, but looks something is messy . It takes as you said just colurs....I'll keep an eye here
I'm not a grumpy grandpa
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 24th Dec 2018 18:23
Cool - im currently working on the mixture of Textures and color MTL file at the moment. Be with you soon with this

It is a little messy too to code this up!
fubarpk
Retired Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Playing: AGK is my friend
Posted: 24th Dec 2018 18:24
Wasn't sure what "texture.png" it was trying to load so tried with the one you have above for the cube
but definitely great work
fubar
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 24th Dec 2018 19:37
Thanks guys!

This material and color combined is starting to drive me up the wall. Its just not happening with combination or colour data and a texture applied to an object

When solely color - it works well - like you seen earlier.

When texture - it will work

Combination of both makes the object go dim as a doh doh.

Any ideas on what i might be missing?

the combination code is this function



puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 25th Dec 2018 15:48
The possible reason why not loading a kenny model for example with color and texture is due to the odd VT data

Im beginnning to think Kenny models are extremely messy odd too as per what Blin0K states on aonther thread

Example of one of Kennys OBJ VT data



Whats that about - UVs only go from 0.0 to 1.0

My mind boggles!!!!

puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 25th Dec 2018 17:43
Yes it was that blooming Kenny....

Try this i think it works now with materials and colours



You will require the attached files in the media folder

The Cube.OBJ




The material file



Please let me know if this works and how you get on

Attachments

Login to view attachments
fubarpk
Retired Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Playing: AGK is my friend
Posted: 25th Dec 2018 21:34
The top and two sides coloured for me

Quote: "Yes it was that blooming Kenny...."

Blinks kenny converter attempts to reconstruct the obj file which works most of the time, but i find it often misses faces

Keep up the good work

fubar
chafari
Valued Member
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd May 2006
Location: Canary Islands
Posted: 25th Dec 2018 21:38
@puzzler2018 Now it works !
I'm not a grumpy grandpa
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 25th Dec 2018 21:40 Edited at: 25th Dec 2018 21:41
Thanks my good fellows

Im on with an OBJ exporter now..

Catch up soon, as this is proving to be a little more difficult to get the vertexes,normals,uvs.index data to get the f's in the right order.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-04-20 00:46:08
Your offset time is: 2024-04-20 00:46:08