Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Clarification on Memblocks with BoneIndices and Boneweights? There doesnt seem to be enough bytes to store the data

Author
Message
Golelorn
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Nov 2016
Location:
Posted: 25th Jan 2019 22:31 Edited at: 25th Jan 2019 22:31
According to the shader the boneweight and boneindice attributes are 4 components each. Also according to the data I read back from the memblock confirms there are 4 components.

I have verified the following.


However, there isn't enough bytes for 8 more float value (32 bytes). There is only 20 bytes left after the position, normal, and uv components. Its reporting back that the vertex size is only 52 bytes instead of the 64, I expected.

I would appreciate any guidance on what I am doing incorrectly. Thank you very much.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 25th Jan 2019 22:48 Edited at: 25th Jan 2019 22:55
For starters - Should your normalise be 0 instead of 8

What size if your attribute size?

- 32 is texture
- 36 with color too

Maybe you need 4 for additional stuff

Havent explored that yet

SetMemblockInt(chunkmesh,12,32) // 32 no color - 36 if color data --> maybe more if bonedata

What do you have param 12 set at
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 25th Jan 2019 23:07 Edited at: 25th Jan 2019 23:12
5 Attributes --- Damm. What you going on here... Textural / Color / Bonedata - thats 3 attribute Already

My apologies its the


SetMemblockInt(chunkmesh,8,3) // 3 attributes

With an amazing progress you do with your app, im sure you know more than me

Also still I talk like crap sometimes

Golelorn
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Nov 2016
Location:
Posted: 25th Jan 2019 23:19 Edited at: 25th Jan 2019 23:19
There is no vertex color, and not sure what you mean by normalize is set to 8? I thought I had it set to 0.

In the end, it doesn't appear to matter, because I do not know how to put a bone in an object created from a memblock.

So the mesh looks like this lol

Attachments

Login to view attachments
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 25th Jan 2019 23:19
You require to have bonedata too - check above
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 25th Jan 2019 23:22
Could you sent all parameters to us

eg



puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 25th Jan 2019 23:24
What should it look like - Bone Data - I persume that all those lettice leaves are bones
Golelorn
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Nov 2016
Location:
Posted: 25th Jan 2019 23:51 Edited at: 26th Jan 2019 00:00
I got the object to animate after turning it into a memblock and combining 56 trees to one object.

The bad part is there is only 1 bone being shared amongst all vertices. So the mesh is a "little" distorted to say the least.

The "trick" was having to use SetObjectMeshFromMemblock over the bone. But, I want to be able to combine meshes and bones. One bone, ain't gonna cut it.

I am guessing we aren't able to insert bones. So, gonna try something else.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
puzzler2018
User Banned
Posted: 26th Jan 2019 00:11 Edited at: 26th Jan 2019 00:11
each tree is a bone then - correct?

As long as you have the correct number of attributes on the mesh you can all you want.

I wont explain how memblocks work cause you fully know -plus my brain is knackered

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-10-01 01:17:20
Your offset time is: 2024-10-01 01:17:20