Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers AppGameKit Corner / Should I buy this ?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi,
As the title says, I am pondering on whether this is the game engine/software that is suitable for what I need !
I am totally new to writing games, I have always wanted to but never got around to learning.
I am very good at programming using AutoIT script language, but have very limited experience using other languages like C# , C++, Python etc

After looking at the AppGameKIt script, it seems very similar to what am use to using.

I am looking to write games mainly for using with SteamVR and the HTC Vive.
Obviously id start with really easy stuff to learn the basics, but id like to thing i could create a good FPS (maybe similar to Pavlov VR) in time after learning everything.
Maybe even then progesss to open world games and learn that sort kind of gaming programming.

So my question is, would AppGameKit be a suitable and good enough engine for creating such games. The learning side of it does seem very easy from watching some of the tutorials.
My concern is that after looking at some of the showcases, the games all seem very basic and more geared towards a mobile platform, and not a PC platform.

Or would you be able to suggest a different game engine to start learning with, that has a similar sricpting language to what am use to.

Thanks for any replies.

2D Analyst
AGK Developer
Years of Service
User Offline
I came from Game Maker and I think whatever games GM can produce so can this. I haven’t release any games using AppGameKit 2.0 yet, but I seen some amazing games created with it.
Kevin Cross
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 4th Mar 2019 11:47