Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Studio Chat / [SOLVED] slower than AGK 2

Author
Message
shadey
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 15th Mar 2019 11:25
After reading that there is a speed imrpovement, I purchased this app game kit studio, but after initial tests things are actually twice as slow, be that running my own engine code or the code already packaged,like the shader pack.... I am running things on a l,ow end windoze tablet, nothing powerful, so maybe the gfx chip in that doesnt support these things?I dunno.

But i thought it a good idea to use something low end anyhow to keep with the mobile speed so to speak
Hail to the king, baby!

The author of this post has marked a post as an answer.

Go to answer

Santman
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Sep 2011
Location: Inverness
Posted: 15th Mar 2019 11:58
That's odd......the new Vulcan engine isn't in yet, so the apps are essentially identical to agk of old for now, I think it's around may Vulcan is coming in. The IDE has various features now which use some resource, but I wouldn't imagine that's impacting a device it's broadcast too.

I've not noticed any change to frame rates.
shadey
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 15th Mar 2019 12:35 Edited at: 15th Mar 2019 12:42
Well,tis true! here is a screenshot of the Demo Labyrinth in agk studio


and here in AppGameKit 2



I stress again that this is on a low end spec, but honestly twaz the reason I loved AppGameKit 2,for its speed on such a low spec!
Hail to the king, baby!
shadey
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 15th Mar 2019 12:53 Edited at: 15th Mar 2019 12:56
To find out if it is the IDE that be hogging the speed I suppose I would have to test a broadcast to some mobile device huh?? Dunno...
Does this thing use the same broadcaster software on the google play store for agk 2?
Hail to the king, baby!
tiresius
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Nov 2002
Location: MA USA
Posted: 15th Mar 2019 13:19
This post has been marked by the post author as the answer.
Did you try the "FPS Run" option? See this:
https://github.com/TheGameCreators/AGK-Studio/issues/106

Next IDE version sounds like it will be improved greatly....
shadey
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 15th Mar 2019 13:44 Edited at: 15th Mar 2019 13:45
hah! I missed that one, this indeed brings it to the exact same speed as AppGameKit 2..
everything apart from that lab.. demo.. but i think that is just a bad example!!
But my 3D engine is fine and so are the shaders
tnx!
Hail to the king, baby!
RickV
TGC Development Director
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Apr 2000
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 15th Mar 2019 16:01
Hi,

The new UI has some new optimisation code added to it. When we release the next version it should perform much better.
Development Director
TGC Team
Santman
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Sep 2011
Location: Inverness
Posted: 15th Mar 2019 16:09
That makes more sense, I read it as though you were getting slow down on a device you were broadcasting too, but running the IDE on a less powerful machine AND your code would be the spot.

I have an 8 core processor, and have to say I've not noticed any impact on frame rates at all with the IDE, but that could be because they ate on different threads perhaps.

Looking forward to the next update .
Rick Nasher
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jul 2017
Location: Amsterdam
Posted: 16th Mar 2019 20:09
This looks like it's going the right way. My compliments.
Rick Nasher
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jul 2017
Location: Amsterdam
Posted: 17th Mar 2019 11:55
BTW: shouldn't this be marked "Solved"? For with "FPS Run" it runs pretty speedy.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-05-25 13:41:11
Your offset time is: 2019-05-25 13:41:11