Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Professional Discussion / Single Core Workaround for Anti-Virus Programs?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 25th Apr 2019 23:19
Hello.

I've been getting complaints on Steam about Brigand: Oaxaca's performance issues, and it always seemed unrelated to the players' computers. I'm pretty sure now it is because some antivirus programs only use the first CPU core, and I think DBP only allows programs to run on the first core as well. I'm not an expert with hardware, so I'll provide a link to the Steam discussion: https://steamcommunity.com/app/652410/discussions/0/1795152172929572850/?ctp=2

I don't use memory blocks at all, so is there some way that a memblock could help. Are there any other suggestions? Thanks.
sladeiw
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st May 2019 22:38 Edited at: 1st May 2019 22:39
I've no specific knowledge to your situation but generally the `core` that an app runs on is completely arbitrary and up to the OS. If you run a flat-out DBP app on a quad core system then total CPU utilisation is 25%. Run 2 DBP apps simulataneously (with no system-friendly pausing) then you will get 50% utilisation, and so on... The OS will even "split" a single app between multiple cores as it sees fit.
Kuper
Years of Service
User Offline
Playing: Planescape:Torment
Posted: 2nd May 2019 21:43
I think something wrong with yours last patch - otherwise previous game versions must be also slow with anti-virus app working in the same time.
Brian Lancaster
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd May 2019 23:55
The guy said he has a new anit-virus program installed, but I didn't ask which one. Thanks for the replies.
locecode
Years of Service
User Offline