Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Product Chat / Does Multiplayer still work?

Author
Message
caleblich
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jun 2012
Location:
Posted: 12th Jun 2019 22:30
I've been wondering, does the multiplayer aspect still work or what's the go? Can I still host games, and are there any guides on how to do so?

Thanks
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 12th Jun 2019 22:59
Caleblich
Quote: " does the multiplayer aspect still work "

In a sense, yes. Any version ( including Black Ice mod ) works right out of the box... if you know what to do.
First, local hosting on a LAN is easy, you just have to type in the local IP of the game you want to join.
( sadly ip addresses do not show/display anymore, but a local address is easy to figure out )
But to host the game on a WAN server somewhere else is a different matter. It's a little difficult
for others to find and join. Do a search and several members have posted how to setup on a WAN
and host it.
Also, if you know how to Nomad Soul's FPSC Developers-Kit has everything needed to setup multiplayer
included the necessary PHP files.
https://forum.thegamecreators.com/thread/221700?page=1#msg2644325
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
Location: You know that space between a dresser and the floor ? Yeah, that's where
caleblich
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jun 2012
Location:
Posted: 13th Jun 2019 20:14
@ncmako - Thanks for your response, I'll be sure to check it out and appreciate the detail, good to see you around the forums still
caleblich
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jun 2012
Location:
Posted: 13th Jun 2019 20:52
@ncmako - I don't understand coding much, is it still possible?
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 14th Jun 2019 00:19
Caleblich
Quote: " I don't understand coding much, is it still possible? "

Is what possible, to setup multiplayer ? Yes, you probably were overwhelmed by the Dev. Kit ?
No problem, you can use vanilla fpsc and follow Y0shondue directions he posted here...
https://forum.thegamecreators.com/thread/215437
He uses Logmein & Hamachi to host the game.
Urlforce Studios also has multiplayer working straight out of the box. Read about it here....
https://forum.thegamecreators.com/thread/222017
If you want, shoot him an email to get more info

As far as myself, I just run it local and type in my IP to connect with my LAN game.
I usually only player with friends and my grandson, that's all, but works a charm.

My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
Location: You know that space between a dresser and the floor ? Yeah, that's where

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-06-18 02:58:25
Your offset time is: 2019-06-18 02:58:25