Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Studio Chat / Bug(s) S 1.0

Author
Message
Increase
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Feb 2017
Location:
Posted: 24th Jul 2019 17:50
- cosmetic issue : some commands are tier-2-only documented ; integers are sometimes reffered to as "uint32_t"
e. g. the integrated documentation of some of the network / multiplayer commands only feature tier 2
Worldwide optimal state system - ISBN 9783748157748
Weltweit optimales Staatssystem - ISBN 9783748159476
Rick Nasher
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jul 2017
Location: Amsterdam
Posted: 24th Jul 2019 21:55 Edited at: 24th Jul 2019 23:48
Hi guys, congrats on the release.

I've noticed that double clicking a project file in explorer doesn't open up that actual project file in the editor, but instead:
1. it opens up a whole new instance of AGKS.
2. it doesn't open the intended project, but instead opens only projects that were previously already opened in it.

Hope you can change this behaviour.

(I've taken this to github)
Zwarteziel
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 24th Jul 2019 22:50
Every project I run gives me an error: 'Shader location value to high'. See this thread I made un Github
fubarpk
Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide
Posted: 24th Jul 2019 23:26
Quote: "Every project I run gives me an error: 'Shader location value to high'."


if you are running studio with a machine powerful enough for vulkan instead of opengl
you may have to make changes to the shader
fubarpk
fubarpk on Itch...………...https://fubarpk.itch.io/
fubarpk on googleplay..https://play.google.com/store/apps/developer?id=fubarpk
Zwarteziel
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 24th Jul 2019 23:33
Quote: "if you are running studio with a machine powerful enough for vulkan instead of opengl
you may have to make changes to the shader"


I use a very old laptop, so I figured it is probably Vulcan. I'd like to use the OpenGL fallback, but can't seem to find it in the preferences. Maybe it is switched automatically?
fubarpk
Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide
Posted: 24th Jul 2019 23:57
Im not sure how you can force to run opengl as its automatic but there may be a file
setting that can be changed but any problems like that can be reported on this link
https://github.com/TheGameCreators/AGK-Studio/issues you may get
the quickest fix that way as the developers check there for faults first and need time
to develop and not just read forums
fubarpk
fubarpk on Itch...………...https://fubarpk.itch.io/
fubarpk on googleplay..https://play.google.com/store/apps/developer?id=fubarpk
RickV
TGC Development Director
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Apr 2000
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 25th Jul 2019 07:55
@Increase can you let me know where you are seeing these inconsistencies?

I think an rendering choice command or a setup.ini feature needs to be added, I'll talk to Paul about it today.

If a project is not working for you then please send it to us so we can work out why it's not working properly in Vulkan.

Thanks!
Development Director
TGC Team
Increase
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Feb 2017
Location:
Posted: 25th Jul 2019 08:29
e. g. the documentation definition for commands/multiplayer/getudpnetworkmessage

is documented only with
' 2_t agk::GetUDPNetworkMessage( uint32_t listenerID ) '

something like ' integer = GetUDPNetworkMessage( ) ' is missing ;
this goes for a few of the multiplayer/network commands -
i don't know whether the new declaration ' uint32_t ' for integer variables is intentional, though

i haven't tested them yet in detail, but i assume that they work - up to now it's just seems to be a cosmetical issue
Worldwide optimal state system - ISBN 9783748157748
Weltweit optimales Staatssystem - ISBN 9783748159476
Cybermind
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Nov 2002
Location: Denmark
Posted: 25th Jul 2019 13:36
Quote: "I think an rendering choice command or a setup.ini feature needs to be added, I'll talk to Paul about it today."


I would like it as a command, that way you can make it an option for the user/player what to use (if for some reason a user/player have a GFX where OpenGL is to be preferred), or hardcode it as developer.
13/0
Paul Johnston
TGC Developer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 25th Jul 2019 14:50
Quote: "Shader location value to high"

That's an error from the new OpenGL renderer, so the app has already dropped down to OpenGL due to lack of Vulkan support and has encountered some unusual behaviour with your OpenGL driver. The shader location values typically start at 0 and increase in increments of 1, so they are stored in a 16-bit integer with a check to make sure this never overflows. It seems your driver exceeds the 16-bit limit so I'll make AppGameKit use 32-bit integers in the next version.

Quote: "i don't know whether the new declaration ' uint32_t ' for integer variables is intentional"

It is, it's the standard for declaring unsigned 32-bit integers but I failed to update the help files to display it correctly, I'll update the help files for the next version
Zwarteziel
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 25th Jul 2019 16:33
Quote: "It seems your driver exceeds the 16-bit limit so I'll make AppGameKit use 32-bit integers in the next version"


Thank you, it is much appreciated!
Increase
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Feb 2017
Location:
Posted: 28th Jul 2019 10:24
when i open an *.agc script in a random directory , AppGameKit S starts, but the script isn't opened / displayed
Worldwide optimal state system - ISBN 9783748157748
Weltweit optimales Staatssystem - ISBN 9783748159476
Increase
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Feb 2017
Location:
Posted: 28th Jul 2019 10:29
the function index doesn't seem to work for all functions stored in the format :

function xyz : command : command : command : endfunction


having mentioned that - although the function index is a great asset - i still wouldn't mind codefolding as a lot of code blurring around the center of attention can be distracting
Worldwide optimal state system - ISBN 9783748157748
Weltweit optimales Staatssystem - ISBN 9783748159476
Zed
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Sep 2002
Location:
Posted: 30th Jul 2019 18:54
When I try to export for Android AGKS just hangs and I have to kill it.
The exact same project loaded in AGK2 exports fine.

Anyone else having this issue?
blink0k
AGK Developer
Gold Codemaster
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2013
Location: the land of oz
Posted: 30th Jul 2019 22:20
yes. Same here. It does create a proper .apk though
fubarpk
Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide
Posted: 30th Jul 2019 22:33
Quote: "When I try to export for Android AGKS just hangs and I have to kill it."

I find the same thing with classic it hangs for a bit but if im patient then it completes the AGK
which I think may be a windows thing as windows detects the program not responding
then after time has passed fixes that and continues
fubarpk
fubarpk on Itch...………...https://fubarpk.itch.io/
fubarpk on googleplay..https://play.google.com/store/apps/developer?id=fubarpk
Zed
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Sep 2002
Location:
Posted: 30th Jul 2019 22:55
Quote: "yes. Same here. It does create a proper .apk though"


I never thought to test that so it's good to know.

Quote: "I find the same thing with classic it hangs for a bit but if im patient then it completes the AGK"


I've left it for 45 mins or more and it's not completed in studio but with AppGameKit I do get a couple of minutes delay and then it does it's thing!
blink0k
AGK Developer
Gold Codemaster
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2013
Location: the land of oz
Posted: 30th Jul 2019 23:36
Quote: "I've left it for 45 mins or more and it's not completed in studio but with AppGameKit I do get a couple of minutes delay and then it does it's thing!"

Yeah. Me too. Left it for ages and it still hung
basicFanatic
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2017
Location:
Posted: 1st Aug 2019 17:51 Edited at: 2nd Aug 2019 08:27
1) renderToImage() ignores the color defined by setClearColor()
2) Syntax highlighting breaks if a REM comment is followed by a tab character



EDIT: an easy hack to fix it: just enable skybox with preferred color.
EDIT 2: ...but then it won't render a 3D box.
basicFanatic
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2017
Location:
Posted: 2nd Aug 2019 08:30
AGK Studio takes almost a second to display the right-click menu.
blink0k
AGK Developer
Gold Codemaster
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2013
Location: the land of oz
Posted: 3rd Aug 2019 00:54
Is this were we are reporting bugs now, or do we still report bugs on github?
fubarpk
Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide
Posted: 3rd Aug 2019 01:03
Quote: "Is this were we are reporting bugs now, or do we still report bugs on github?"

All bugs should still be reported on GitHub https://github.com/TheGameCreators/AGK-Studio/issues
but the forums are used where other people can review the posts incase it isn't a bug after all
fubarpk
fubarpk on Itch...………...https://fubarpk.itch.io/
fubarpk on googleplay..https://play.google.com/store/apps/developer?id=fubarpk
blink0k
AGK Developer
Gold Codemaster
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2013
Location: the land of oz
Posted: 3rd Aug 2019 01:22 Edited at: 3rd Aug 2019 01:26
Thanks fubes, If someone can confirm this i would be good

Using the attached project
Ctrl+L, Goto 818
Select the SetSpriteVisible() lines
Enter 0 in the find field and 1 in the replace field
Click "s" for find in selection

Attachments

Login to view attachments
fubarpk
Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide
Posted: 3rd Aug 2019 04:10 Edited at: 3rd Aug 2019 04:11
not really sure what you are asking here blink
but when I use agk studio with your example I select the relative setsprite visible lines and ctrl-h (replace)
and i can change to 0 to 1 or visa versa by selecting "in selection" in the replace window
fubarpk
fubarpk on Itch...………...https://fubarpk.itch.io/
fubarpk on googleplay..https://play.google.com/store/apps/developer?id=fubarpk
blink0k
AGK Developer
Gold Codemaster
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2013
Location: the land of oz
Posted: 3rd Aug 2019 04:15 Edited at: 3rd Aug 2019 04:18
Not change in selection. Find in selection. Click on the letter "s" to the right of the find string
fubarpk
Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide
Posted: 3rd Aug 2019 05:01
got it!! so find in selection hangs and doesn't matter if the selection exists or not
perhaps report on github and post link here and il also confirm it
fubarpk
fubarpk on Itch...………...https://fubarpk.itch.io/
fubarpk on googleplay..https://play.google.com/store/apps/developer?id=fubarpk
blink0k
AGK Developer
Gold Codemaster
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2013
Location: the land of oz
Posted: 3rd Aug 2019 05:11
basicFanatic
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2017
Location:
Posted: 6th Aug 2019 10:34
I previously mentioned that renderToImage() ignores the color defined by setClearColor()
I just found out that this only happens when the render is set to Vulcan.
Increase
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Feb 2017
Location:
Posted: 6th Aug 2019 20:14
GetEditboxHeight & GetEditboxWidth could have an option to deliver values that include the bordersize , alternatively there could be a geteditboxbordersize() command
Worldwide optimal state system - ISBN 9783748157748
Weltweit optimales Staatssystem - ISBN 9783748159476
Increase
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Feb 2017
Location:
Posted: 8th Aug 2019 20:30
Worldwide optimal state system - ISBN 9783748157748
Weltweit optimales Staatssystem - ISBN 9783748159476

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-08-26 04:52:41
Your offset time is: 2019-08-26 04:52:41