Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Product Chat / New Dialog - A Simple Launch Creator

Author
Message
xplosys
VIP Member
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 4th Aug 2019 23:51 Edited at: 9th Aug 2019 15:42
In response to recent inquiries and requests, I put together a simple but fairly configurable launch creator which will allow you to create your own launcher for games, apps, basically whatever can be launched.

When you open the app you will be in editor mode. It's basically a process of replacing the default images and settings with your own. See the help file in the help menu to get started. It provides a quick overview of the menus and and a step-by-step for creating your own dialog, or launcher if you prefer.
NOTE: This is Version 1 and may have some issues. If you're interested I'd appreciate you beating it up and putting it through the ringer, if you'd be so kind as to provide feedback in return. As this is not only for FPSC, I may want to continue the development.
NOTE 2: One thing (probably more) I forgot to mention in the help file is that you can resize the dialog like any other windows by dragging on the bottom right corner. It can be any size, but don't get crazy. Someone else may be working on a smaller resolution than you. Best to stay at 1024 x 768 and below.
NOTE 3: LOL Make your background and button images the same size as your selected background and button sizes to avoid stretching.

Version Info:
V1.1
Added checking for "no parameters" when saving dialog
Improved Help file
Minor graphics changes

Attachments

Login to view attachments
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 5th Aug 2019 00:18
Wow, awesome stuff there Xplosys Thank you for sharing this.
Ok, I take it that the button starts or launches the program ? yes/no? Do the extra buttons start different chapters?
Or be configured that way.

One more question, what if one needs another/forth button? ( yes i had to ask )

My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
Location: You know that space between a dresser and the floor ? Yeah, that's where
xplosys
VIP Member
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 5th Aug 2019 00:28
Wise guys! Why do I get all the wise guys?
The buttons do whatever you tell them to; run programs, open documents or web pages, show movies or images, etc. They're configurable.
And in answer to your last question... Create a button that opens another dialog and you'll have 3 more buttons!
rolfy
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 5th Aug 2019 07:24
I wanna button that makes my game for me.....possible? It must be yellow,....and big.
xplosys
VIP Member
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 5th Aug 2019 14:05
All things are possible in these mythical halls of illusion and fantasy, more so that we fancy them to be extant, and therefore are already in our possessions.
When you see the big, yellow button, you will be ready to make the game.
s4real
Valued Member
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2006
Location:
Posted: 5th Aug 2019 14:28 Edited at: 5th Aug 2019 14:30
Very nice work on this you sure are into making launchers at the moment.


What happens if I only want two buttons ?

Best s4real
Amd fx4100,6gb ram,geforce 450
xplosys
VIP Member
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 5th Aug 2019 14:55 Edited at: 5th Aug 2019 14:59
Quote: "Very nice work on this you sure are into making launchers at the moment."

Thanks s4real. I'm not trying to infringe on your area of expertise. I'm just retired and bored and, when someone here is looking for something to meet their needs, it give me opportunity to create. The full screen launcher is just for me and was really a proof of concept. I wanted to see if it could be integrated or at least appear to be so. It's not for distribution as customizing it would take a very complicated editor. This was an easy way to fill a need.
I'm just finishing up a Skybox creator, again it was something mentioned here on the forum. It's necessary design was interesting and transferred pretty well to a transparent form... I think. I found your instructions in a long-ago post on how to make skybox files from existing ones. It went right into my archive of must keep info. Visual Studio does the job of re-writing the .x file and transferring the images to FPSC in a flash.


And enough about the buttons already!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 6th Aug 2019 01:15
Xplosys Does the pre-view (for the skybox ) does it rotate to give a 360 view? Mouse to move view?
This looks really good, simple and effective.
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
Deep In Thought: I lost my Big Yellow Button. Do you know where it is?
xplosys
VIP Member
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 6th Aug 2019 02:35
I sent you a copy Mike.
superunixstudio
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th May 2018
Location:
Posted: 8th Aug 2019 19:30
wow
impresive
s4real
Valued Member
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2006
Location:
Posted: 8th Aug 2019 21:47
@xplosys :- I have run into an issue with windows 10 it don't work just gives me a network error on built project.



The strange thing is i have network 4 that it using installed.

best s4real
Amd fx4100,6gb ram,geforce 450

Attachments

Login to view attachments
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 8th Aug 2019 22:06
@ s4real I had the same thing, but when you click "continue" it seems to run the program just fine ?
At least on my end.
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
Deep In Thought: I lost my Big Yellow Button. Do you know where it is?
s4real
Valued Member
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2006
Location:
Posted: 8th Aug 2019 22:22
@ncmako figured out why its doing this maybe xplosys will fix.
if a button does not have anything assigned to it,it will give the error.

Just a simple check needs to be added.

nice app

best s4real





Amd fx4100,6gb ram,geforce 450
xplosys
VIP Member
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 8th Aug 2019 22:49 Edited at: 8th Aug 2019 22:52
Thanks for checking it out guys.

@ s4real
I assume by the image that you're in preview mode? I need more input as I'm unable to replicate the issue. Can you give me the steps you use to get the error?
Also,if it can't find a specified file, the error details button should tell us the file it's looking for.
Much appreciated.

@ncmako
Looks like someone is sporting a new badge?
xplosys
VIP Member
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 8th Aug 2019 23:20 Edited at: 8th Aug 2019 23:47
Okay, I think I see it. It happens in a built dialog when a button is used (visible and has a function assigned) but has either no parameter or the assigned parameter is missing, like a missing file.
I wrote about this in the instructions (help file) but didn't code any checking to prevent it. I'll figure the best way to impliment the checking and repost a fixed version.
Thanks again for testing.

Fixed version was added to the initial post.
ncmako
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 9th Aug 2019 11:15
@ Xplosys
Quote: "Looks like someone is sporting a new badge?"

Oh wow, awesome Where did that come from?
Quote: "Fixed version was added to the initial post"

Terrific, thank you!
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
Deep In Thought: I lost my Big Yellow Button. Do you know where it is?
seppgirty
FPSC Developer
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2009
Location: pittsburgh, pa.
Posted: 11th Aug 2019 22:10
Look at all of those badges ncmako. I think you're a 5 star general now.
gamer, lover, filmmaker

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-08-26 04:55:00
Your offset time is: 2019-08-26 04:55:00