Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers AppGameKit Corner / About Lib AppGameKit Gui v0.50 and v0.77 and some problems

Author
Message
Takis76
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Apr 2005
Location: Greece
Posted: 13th Aug 2019 22:38
Hello,
I have downloaded the Lib AppGameKit Gui from here: https://forum.thegamecreators.com/thread/219790
But the thread is locked so I am going to post a new thread to ask some questions and I am encountering some problems.
Does anyone have ever used this GUI library? (If not do you have any better to suggest)?

First what is the difference between Lib AppGameKit Gui v0.50 and v0.77. It seems the version 0.77 is more improved and the version 0.50 have errors when it runs.

I have seen 1 example in the verion 0.77 here and I have one problem.
The example is working well, but when I put the code in my game (I am starting to play with Application Game Kit Studio).. the same code from the example is not working.
I try to create one menu.

The code to create the menu is like this:

I have put the include folder in the root folder of my project.




I have placed the ui folder inside the media folder for the library to find the skins.

The program prepares the window:



My program creates one window 1024x768 in size.

And then I copied the exact lines of code from the library example to my game to insure if I am making any error:



The window opens and creates one menu bar with 3 menus (File Edit View) all looks nice but when you are cliking on each menu the menu is not opening to present the menu items.
In the example the menu works when I am placing the same code in my project the menu is not working.

There is no manual or explanation how this Library works and I am looking inside the source code and the example they have to fugure out how is working.
If you like I can upload whole project with the source code to see it.
Any suggestion why the menus are not clickable?
Dark Lord Beholder Project.
Role Playing Game like Lands of Lore 1 and Eye of the Beholder 2.
https://facebook.com/darklordbeholder

fubarpk
Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide
Posted: 14th Aug 2019 03:44
Takis76
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Apr 2005
Location: Greece
Posted: 14th Aug 2019 19:05 Edited at: 14th Aug 2019 19:38
Do I will need to copy my question again to the post which unlocked?
Is it possible the threads never get locked?
Dark Lord Beholder Project.
Role Playing Game like Lands of Lore 1 and Eye of the Beholder 2.
https://facebook.com/darklordbeholder

fubarpk
Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide
Posted: 15th Aug 2019 12:11
They get locked by staff or if no one has posted for a period of time on the thread
fubarpk
fubarpk on Itch...………...https://fubarpk.itch.io/
fubarpk on googleplay..https://play.google.com/store/apps/developer?id=fubarpk
Takis76
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Apr 2005
Location: Greece
Posted: 15th Aug 2019 15:11 Edited at: 15th Aug 2019 15:23
I have asked my question in this thread. Do I need to duplicate my question in the old thread which discuss about L.a.g (Library. Application Kit. GUI) ?
When a thread is locked there is no way for someone to unlock it. I was lucky you unlocked the original thread because I was posted a new one an appeared at the top of the forums front page.
But there are many times I see many locked threads and I am unable to write any questions and other people are unable to write questions too.
In some topic there are not discussions in regular basis so the system locks the threads. But maybe when new people just browsing the forums and finds something useful or find an interest in some older post which is locked, is unable to raise a new post or ask
or write something new. (For example maybe the developer willl publish a new version of his library).
I think the forums should not get locke the old threads. Not answering for a short period of time doesn't means that no one will not discuss about it in the future.
You will need always to check if some thread is locked (Probably you will not check) and this makes the forums to get populated with locked threads and duplicated posts.
Dark Lord Beholder Project.
Role Playing Game like Lands of Lore 1 and Eye of the Beholder 2.
https://facebook.com/darklordbeholder

Takis76
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Apr 2005
Location: Greece
Posted: 16th Aug 2019 15:58
It seems no one was answered my question but I figured it out alone.
It was needed to add in my game loop the function:



And set 2 variables for menus and gadgets:



The functions LAG_EventGadget() and LAG_EventMenu() returns the index number of the menus and the gadgets I have created.
The menus work for now. I solved my problem so far. I am still playing with the Library. If I will need any other help I will post a new question.
Dark Lord Beholder Project.
Role Playing Game like Lands of Lore 1 and Eye of the Beholder 2.
https://facebook.com/darklordbeholder

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-10-15 13:33:05
Your offset time is: 2019-10-15 13:33:05