Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Studio Chat / Integer limitation

Author
Message
ReversalGames
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Mar 2016
Location:
Posted: 26th Apr 2020 15:17 Edited at: 26th Apr 2020 15:19
I was so surprise when i discovered that the Integer LIMIT is 2^31 and not 2^64

I can't believe that is the limit for integer value

Seriously, what am i doing wrong here …

Bengismo
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Nov 2017
Location: Yorkshire, England
Posted: 26th Apr 2020 15:42 Edited at: 26th Apr 2020 15:47
This is covered in AGK's documentation:

In AppGameKit the integer variable is a signed 32bit value from (-2^31 to 2^31-1)
Quote: "INTEGER Range : -2,147,483,648 to 2,147,483,647"


https://www.appgamekit.com/documentation/principles/1_datatypes.htm

An integer in computer science is most commonly 32 bits too. INT shouldnt really be used to specifically described 64bit numbers
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Integer_(computer_science)

A 64 bit value is normally long long, long word, quadword, quad, etc... If an integer type is used to store 64bits it is normally called an int64 specifically as it is larger than the 'normal' implementation.
ReversalGames
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Mar 2016
Location:
Posted: 26th Apr 2020 16:27 Edited at: 26th Apr 2020 16:54
Hi Bengismo,

I should have been more precise in my question.

AGK is limited to Numerical Integer and Float definition (unless i missed something)

We should have at least the following


So the possibility of an unsigned Integer would be great

I have been programming since the 80's and even then i was able to calculate numbers over 32 bits


So to have a limitation of 32 bits today doesn't make sense even more and the year 2020 !!!.
Bengismo
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Nov 2017
Location: Yorkshire, England
Posted: 26th Apr 2020 16:53
It might be a good idea to make a request more datatypes on github if you do genuinely have need for larger types.

Other people have requested doubles (64bit floats) and long int's (int64) before now on the forums but they have not been added as of yet.
ReversalGames
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Mar 2016
Location:
Posted: 26th Apr 2020 16:55
Good Idea !!!

Thank's
Scraggle
Moderator
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jul 2003
Location: Yorkshire
Posted: 27th Apr 2020 15:38
Get your request in quickly, there's a new update coming later this week!
ReversalGames
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Mar 2016
Location:
Posted: 30th Apr 2020 11:18
Hi Scraggle,

I did it on the 26th on GitHub.com

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2021-03-09 10:27:06
Your offset time is: 2021-03-09 10:27:06