Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Benchmarking AGK Sprite Draws

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I want to remake this game (from gms 1.4) using AGK. The game allows you to spawn infinite amount of bears (It's called Beartopia and it's free on Itch if you are curious).

Everything was going fine until I started drawing a ton of these bears. I noticed the performance on AppGameKit was signifcantly worse than on GMS.

Here are the results : (Note that the sprite is 16x18 pixels )
AGK:
- 4000 Sprites rendered, 45 fps.
- 1 Sprite drawn 4000 times, 30 fps.
GMS 1.4
- 4000 Objects rendered, 200 fps.
- 4000 Sprite draws, 450 fps.

I did the same test but this time, using a bigger image of 400x200 pixels.
AGK:
- 1000 Sprites rendered, 3 fps.
- 1 Sprite drawn 1000 times, 17 fps.
GMS 1.4
- 1000 Objects rendered, 15 fps.
- 1000 Sprite draws, 15 fps.

As you can see, drawing 1000 big images in both engines gives more or less the same fps but when drawing 4000 smaller images, gms out-speeds agk by more than 10 times. I have a feeling the process of setting the parameters (vertex positions, shaders, etc..) fed to the gpu in AppGameKit is heavier than that of GMS. I might be wrong. I do not really understand whats happening under the hood.

To the AppGameKit community that reads this, please help me overcome this problem. I really want to use AppGameKit so badly but these fps is a such a letdown. Is there a way I could achieve higher fps when drawing 1000+ sprites?

...btw, I am using a pretty dated Acer laptop with Intel Pentium@2.0GHz (2 Cores) , Intel HD Graphics (yes, my laptop sucks but at least it gets the job done)
hendron
Years of Service
User Offline