Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Studio Chat / Platformer - Smooth movement?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hello everyone! I am very new to AppGameKit Studio and trying to learn the basics by following various tutorials and examples.

While creating a sample platformer level, I found that the movements are not very smooth. One example is, the player sticks to the sides of the platform while moving left or right. I wonder how I can improve the overall experience and make things snappier.

Any tip on handling the background and platform objects would be really helpful.

Please find the project files attached for your review and suggestions. Any help would be highly appreciated.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Dualunitfold
Years of Service
User Offline
Hello
I've never used the AppGameKit physics engine in my life, and I've tried and failed to make platformer physics myself, so I'm probably the least qualified person to answer this, but I do have a few ideas I can bounce around that may or may not be useful

So my thinking as to the reason your character jerks sideways from the centre of the screen when you move is that you're using the sprite's position to position the "camera", and the sprite's position only gets updated by the physics engine during the Sync() command, which is after you set the "camera" position.
I fixed this pretty easily by splitting Sync() into its components: Update(1.0/30), Render() and Swap() (1.0/30 because that's what your fps is set to). Then I put your SetViewOffset() command after Update() but before Render(), so all the positions are up to date before it renders.