Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit/AppGameKit Studio Showcase / AGK Teir1 GUI for basic

Author
Message
smerf
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2005
Location: nm usa
Posted: 24th Dec 2022 22:51 Edited at: 3rd Nov 2023 03:09
This is a GUI library for building games and applications. This is written in 'AGK ' for 'AGK basic', so it is compatible on all platforms with no plugins dlls or dependencies.
I will be updating this page regularly and intend to support it indefinitely.
You my also join the github and contribute.

Newest!
Smerf_GUI_alpha_v2.1 https://forum.thegamecreators.com/attachment/89509 Added explicit support for 2023 8.23 agk

OLD
Smerf_GUI_alpha_v2.0 https://forum.thegamecreators.com/attachment/89483





Current gadgets.
*multiple cameras with viewports
* Sliders
*Scroll bars
*Containers called windows
*Tooltips
*Dividers
*Labels
*Buttons
*CheckBoxes
*TextBoxs
* List Browsers with Icon Preview Mode, list mode, icon and list mode


Complete Features
All gadgets support
*Drag and drop parenting and unparenting
*Drag to Resize
*Highlighting
*Auto Depth Sorting
*Relative absolute positioning
*Relative scaling
*Auto Resize to screen
* Auto Scroll Bars


Incomplete Features:
Networking,sql


Setup.
1. download the repository.
2. put the api folder in your project folder and if u want the included projects add the media folder to the media folder
3. add these line to your main file

4. Replace sync in your loop with APISync() "this just calls sync but reset some variables for the aAPIinside itself use normally"
5.call Run_api() from inside your game loop.
note: there are 2 included gui projects that u can play around with.
After this u can start using the basic gui language to create a GUI or build them in an include file and load them in when needed.






Attachments

Login to view attachments
MikeHart
AGK Bronze Backer
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2003
Location:
Posted: 25th Dec 2022 15:33
That looks good. Thanks for sharing and Merry Christmas to you and your love ones.
Virtual Nomad
Moderator
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Dec 2005
Location: SF Bay Area, USA
Posted: 26th Dec 2022 14:38 Edited at: 26th Dec 2022 14:39
hey, smerf. looking good and thanks for sharing.

do you want issues reported here or the repo?

Attachments

Login to view attachments
smerf
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2005
Location: nm usa
Posted: 27th Dec 2022 02:46 Edited at: 27th Dec 2022 02:49
Here is fine Nomad or on the repo. Do you have setGenerate mipmaps enabled(1) ive never seen this error before.
Updated sliders last night they actually move and return values now lol. added in a custom image for sliders as well. SetSliderRange( 1,350) will return the selected range within that, setRange in return will move the dial.

fubarpk
Retired Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Playing: AGK is my friend
Posted: 27th Dec 2022 19:16 Edited at: 27th Dec 2022 21:36
An example of another great contribution, thanks smerf, especially like the idea of no plugins require il give it a thorough checking later

when using mipmaps you may find these two functions useful
as you need powers of 2


example of how to use them


I changed line 14 in Command_Camera.agc to "API.gadget[ret].BgImageID= CreateRenderImage(128,128,0,0)"
and changed line 266 in Gadget_Build.agc to "renderer=CreateRenderImage (API.Gadget[ID].wIDth,API.Gadget[ID].Height,0,0)"
which turns off mipmapping but the above functions could be used to check and resize accordingly
fubarpk
https://fubarpk.itch.io/
smerf
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2005
Location: nm usa
Posted: 27th Dec 2022 23:42 Edited at: 28th Dec 2022 02:04
Thanks fubark. Changing the mipmap mode in the render image should solve the problem the doc says it overides the default setting. Tested runs on classic just fine. The render function is nice but in this particular instance i think it would yield bad results do to the fact that if ur resizing an image ud only have a choice between a box 64 or 128 but im not completely sure.

fubarpk
Retired Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Playing: AGK is my friend
Posted: 28th Dec 2022 03:50 Edited at: 28th Dec 2022 04:05
any power of 2 should work
2/4/8/16/32/64/128/256/512/1024/2048

The problem being is if you use a bigger render image there is most likely items you need to switch off sprites set depth etc
the way i got several cameras to work was like below but needs work
fubarpk
https://fubarpk.itch.io/
smerf
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2005
Location: nm usa
Posted: 28th Dec 2022 04:45 Edited at: 31st Dec 2022 06:38
Trying to Keep up with the documentation as well as i go through im sure its missing tons still but hopefully i can do a section a night.

I tried to make it friendly to navigate



smerf
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2005
Location: nm usa
Posted: 8th Oct 2023 03:20 Edited at: 10th Oct 2023 00:34
New Version available https://forum.thegamecreators.com/attachment/89483
Much more optimized added new keywords fixed many bugs.

maarceello
User Offline
Joined: 24th Oct 2023
Location:
Posted: 29th Oct 2023 15:47 Edited at: 29th Oct 2023 19:46
Hey there,

first of all, it's a great idea and a very cool project. I just downloaded the new file 'API 10-07-2023' and loaded the project, but I encountered an error. Please take a look at the screenshot

Did I do something wrong?

Attachments

Login to view attachments
smerf
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2005
Location: nm usa
Posted: 30th Oct 2023 03:29 Edited at: 30th Oct 2023 03:29
No idea marceello runs fine on my system my only guess it u are using explicit variable declarations they need to be turned off. It may be that im using the non steam version of agk.

did you use this link https://forum.thegamecreators.com/outbound?url=https%3A%2F%2Fforum.thegamecreators.com%2Fattachment%2F89483

the github link is old

maarceello
User Offline
Joined: 24th Oct 2023
Location:
Posted: 30th Oct 2023 07:09
Yea, I got the ZIP file you last uploaded here, after that I loaded the 'api.ggk' as project in Studio and and tried to run it.

Is there a way to disable explicit variable declarations somewhere? As I mentioned, I haven't made any changes, to your project, I just wanted to run your demo project

Well I don't think two different Studio versions should be so different, right? The Steam version has prolly a Steam DRM, but I don't believe there's anything else significant


smerf
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2005
Location: nm usa
Posted: 30th Oct 2023 19:16 Edited at: 31st Oct 2023 02:23
@maarceello add "button as integer" to line 353 in command_browser, the new version of agk does not like having variables declared before use

maarceello
User Offline
Joined: 24th Oct 2023
Location:
Posted: 1st Nov 2023 21:35
Yea that's that I did, works

MakeWindow() doesn't seem to work properly for me, during initialization, it doesn't load the menu bar at the top It only renders the bar after resizing the window
GemGames
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2018
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posted: 15th Dec 2023 04:21
Those GUI components and framework look promising! I was doing research on several GUI potential solutions including Electron and Qt, but if something like this can be used instead under AppGameKit then it could be a possible solution. Thank you for the contribution!
smerf
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2005
Location: nm usa
Posted: 21st Dec 2023 06:46
I have a few projects in the works atm but ill try to upload the new Api after Christmas many bug fixes along with addition 'tree views' and Bezier curves.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-03-29 10:58:51
Your offset time is: 2024-03-29 10:58:51