Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Studio Chat / [Tier2] [MACOS] I can't compile a template project on Mac. Gives an error message!

Author
Message
Alex_Peres
AGK Master
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th May 2009
Location: The Milky Way Galaxy
Posted: 18th Nov 2023 16:36
AppGameKit Studio gives an error when compiling a clean project (copy of template.mac) on XCode (Tier2). XCode 15.0.1.




I've been struggling with this for several hours, nothing works.
The same empty project but in AppGameKit Classic - it compiles without problems.
Please, help!
Aidan
User Banned
Posted: 18th Nov 2023 16:53 Edited at: 18th Nov 2023 16:54
Alex_Peres
AGK Master
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th May 2009
Location: The Milky Way Galaxy
Posted: 18th Nov 2023 17:11 Edited at: 18th Nov 2023 17:13
No, that's not it at all.
The point is that I'm trying to compile a template that is located in the AppGameKit Studio folder. This should work out of the box. But I immediately catch this error: "Undefined symbols:".
Studying the errors of other people's projects from 2018 will not help here.
But thanks anyway.
Aidan
User Banned
Posted: 18th Nov 2023 17:34
Seems like the linker is not using the right one for what studio is currently managed for.


https://stackoverflow.com/questions/77139621/xcode-15-undefined-symbols-linker-command-failed-with-exit-code-1-use-v-to-s

Maybe best to put in an issues to GitHub for it or change to an older linker in your system

Good luck




Alex_Peres
AGK Master
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th May 2009
Location: The Milky Way Galaxy
Posted: 18th Nov 2023 20:29
No, it's not working.
Maybe an older version of XCode will help, 14.3 didn't help. And how to put 13 or even earlier, I do not know.
MacOS 13.6.1.
hendron
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2015
Location:
Posted: 18th Nov 2023 20:43
I haven't used Tier 2 on Mac OS in a long time and unfortunately can't test it at the moment, but one thing I do remember is that I had to set the file type for all of my cpp files to Objective-C++ before it would compile. Not sure if that's your issue or not, but maybe worth a look.
Alex_Peres
AGK Master
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th May 2009
Location: The Milky Way Galaxy
Posted: 18th Nov 2023 20:47
hendron, you did not understand. I'm trying to compile the default AppGameKit Studio template. All these things are configured there by AppGameKit developers. But the linker gives an error.
Alex_Peres
AGK Master
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th May 2009
Location: The Milky Way Galaxy
Posted: 18th Nov 2023 21:27
On XCode 14.0 (oldest one I could run), it shows these errors (attached):

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Aidan
User Banned
Posted: 19th Nov 2023 07:19 Edited at: 19th Nov 2023 07:36
It tells you right there.

Xxxxxxx was built for newer Mac version 10.13 than being linked 10.9

Please upgrade your xcode to use linker 10.13

Or it maybe studio needs an higher update to version 10.13 with your version

I think this is more TGC to solve this one

Good luck
Alex_Peres
AGK Master
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th May 2009
Location: The Milky Way Galaxy
Posted: 19th Nov 2023 11:21 Edited at: 19th Nov 2023 12:25
Thank you, Aidan.

I just read the AppGameKit Studio Documentation, and it said that "iOS and MacOS Tier 2 apps now require XCode 14 or higher" [href=null]https://www.appgamekit.com/documentation-studio/whats_new.html[/href] !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I tested it on XCode 14 and the template gives errors!!! What could this be?!?!?
Alex_Peres
AGK Master
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th May 2009
Location: The Milky Way Galaxy
Posted: 19th Nov 2023 13:49
During my long experiments, I managed to find out that this bug is inherent only in versions starting from 2023.01.25 !!!
On version 2022.12.12, everything compiles without any errors on XCode versions 14.0 and 15.0.1.

It feels like no one has tested AppGameKit Studio on a Mac for almost a year...
Aidan
User Banned
Posted: 19th Nov 2023 14:10 Edited at: 19th Nov 2023 14:17
That's correct, both AGk classic and studio last updated last January time.

They need a nudge on GitHub issues to help you Mac guys out. Then maybe they can recompile it all with a newer version of xcode and linker.

I'm sure it should be backward compatible, depending on what xcode is currently, but currently it requires 10.13 linker especially for studio which will have all the correct symbols. From my interpretation of the error messages at least. Yours is currently 10.9

Hope you find the solution soon,

You mentioned that use xcode 15, can you change the target architecture in the build settings to a lower one, 10.13 minimum
Alex_Peres
AGK Master
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th May 2009
Location: The Milky Way Galaxy
Posted: 19th Nov 2023 15:25 Edited at: 19th Nov 2023 15:26
I'm just saying that Paul made XCode 14 mandatory from version 2023.01.25 !! And making it a lower version certainly doesn't make any sense.
Moreover, version 2022.12.12 works with the newer version of XCode.
Aidan
User Banned
Posted: 19th Nov 2023 15:33 Edited at: 19th Nov 2023 15:36
But if you have v15 then that's one higher than that, may need to drop to 14.

It will be backward compatible but not upward

You have a higher version that it's compiled for

Unless you change its target to the v14 linker

Hope that makes sense
Alex_Peres
AGK Master
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th May 2009
Location: The Milky Way Galaxy
Posted: 19th Nov 2023 15:37
I just tried to insert the library file libAGKMac.a into the project folder of version 2022.12.12 and immediately the same errors popped up during compilation.
This means that the problem is in this file. In addition, the new file weighs 2 times more: 377 versus 188 megabytes.
Alex_Peres
AGK Master
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th May 2009
Location: The Milky Way Galaxy
Posted: 19th Nov 2023 15:38
Quote: "But if you have v15 then that's one higher than that, may need to drop to 14.

It will be backward compatible but not upward

You have a higher version that it's compiled for

Unless you change its target to the v14 linker

Hope that makes sense"


I already wrote that I did this and nothing happened.
Aidan
User Banned
Posted: 19th Nov 2023 15:48 Edited at: 19th Nov 2023 15:54
Revert back to 14

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/77153800/xcode-15-c-compilation-errors

Until tgc has recompiled all its libraries for 15

Sorry about that,

Kind regards

Aidan
Alex_Peres
AGK Master
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th May 2009
Location: The Milky Way Galaxy
Posted: 19th Nov 2023 15:55
Don't you read what I write?? This error appears in ABSOLUTELY ALL VERSIONS of XCode!!!
Aidan
User Banned
Posted: 19th Nov 2023 16:00
Oh I'm reading it ok,

Your linker is for v15 you need a lower version v14

The libraries are v14

So changing the Target to 14 should do it

If not then it will be a waiting game I'm afraid cause

Tgc needs to update all its libraries for your version of xcode then will work, that won't be anytime soon

I'm giving you alternatives to fix now. I know it is a burden, but that's what I do when software doesn't work


Alex_Peres
AGK Master
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th May 2009
Location: The Milky Way Galaxy
Posted: 19th Nov 2023 16:14
I repeat once again, XCode version 14 shows the same error.
The problem is not with the XCode version. Problem with AppGameKit Studio.
Aidan
User Banned
Posted: 19th Nov 2023 16:19 Edited at: 19th Nov 2023 18:27
No probs,

Please raise an issue on GitHub issues.

https://forum.thegamecreators.com/outbound?url=https%3A%2F%2Fgithub.com%2FTheGameCreators%2FAGK-Studio%2Fissues

Unless someone else here has had similar issues and resolved it somehow.

Look forward to hear the solution


Edit man #1118

They need to download your version of xcode and recompile everything.

But what happens next year when a new xcode comes out, that automatically updated, the same thing will occur..

Just bear this in mind - they are no pro actively updating AGk any time soon. Its on the back burner for now.

We need to downgrade to the point of the last update (January 2023)

We are upgrading, they aren't at the moment

The libraries that we don't programme are the issue. These libraries are compiled and distributed in their own copyrighted merit. Its these libraries that we don't have any control over is the issue here. If these are built and included in the distribution and lower than our framework then they won't work. Cause not upward compatible. Probably the bytecode compiler libraries of which we cannot see

Hope that helps in how it all works

Double edit

Seems like Dec 2022 was 14.2

Uninstall current version and Download here

https://xcodereleases.com/

Note info

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/31643316/a-huge-number-of-linker-errors-using-llvm-c11-and-libc
MadBit
VIP Member
Gold Codemaster
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jun 2009
Location: Germany
Posted: 19th Nov 2023 18:46 Edited at: 19th Nov 2023 18:58
You can also try to compile the library yourself.
https://github.com/TheGameCreators/AGKTier2

Note that it can make a difference whether you are working on an Intel or M1/M2/M3 platform.
The TGC version will probably have been compiled for the Intel or the Mix (Rosetta).
I don't know too much about that.

But if you compile the library yourself there should be less problems.

EDIT:
Ahhh, forget it, you are working with the Studio version.
Thought it was for classic.
Share your knowledge. It\'s a way to achieve immortality. (Tenzin Gyatso)

Donations are always welcome.
Alex_Peres
AGK Master
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th May 2009
Location: The Milky Way Galaxy
Posted: 20th Nov 2023 10:55
Quote: "Double edit

Seems like Dec 2022 was 14.2

Uninstall current version and Download here

https://xcodereleases.com/"


I explained that XCode has nothing to do with it. I tried all versions of XCode from 14.0 to 15.0.1. 14.2. 14.3.1, etc.

Now I have a feeling that Aidan is ChatGPT or something...
Alex_Peres
AGK Master
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th May 2009
Location: The Milky Way Galaxy
Posted: 20th Nov 2023 14:07 Edited at: 20th Nov 2023 14:08
Quote: "You can also try to compile the library yourself.
https://github.com/TheGameCreators/AGKTier2

Note that it can make a difference whether you are working on an Intel or M1/M2/M3 platform.
The TGC version will probably have been compiled for the Intel or the Mix (Rosetta).
I don't know too much about that.

But if you compile the library yourself there should be less problems."


I did what you adviced (in AGK-Classic) for Apple Silicon and Intel. I recompiled the library (libAGKMac.a) and got the same output. The same errors as when using the AppGameKit Studio library from 2023.01.25 and higher...
Aidan
User Banned
Posted: 20th Nov 2023 15:43
I searched that library and a few things came up

Try these

https://forum.thegamecreators.com/thread/211951

https://forum.thegamecreators.com/thread/223068

Seems to have been an issue for some of you back in the days

No I'm not a bot, I'm just autistic
Aidan
User Banned
Posted: 20th Nov 2023 20:00 Edited at: 20th Nov 2023 20:30
Have you changed the architecture target to use i386 64 bit symbols at all.

They use 64 bit only now

If you have already then I apologise

I'm trying hard to diagnose, no one else around to help that knows the solution, (they maybe shy to speak) so I'm afraid we have to diagnose slowly but surely.

Welcome to software engineering problem solving

But the immediate answer will be with the developers (tgc)

Is this the first time you going tier mode?

When was the last time it worked?

Maybe your missing some prerequisites?
Alex_Peres
AGK Master
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th May 2009
Location: The Milky Way Galaxy
Posted: 21st Nov 2023 18:18
Quote: "No I'm not a bot, I'm just autistic"


Sorry buddy, I was just really upset that it wasn't working out. My project had to be delivered by a certain deadline.
Alex_Peres
AGK Master
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th May 2009
Location: The Milky Way Galaxy
Posted: 21st Nov 2023 18:32
Quote: "Have you changed the architecture target to use i386 64 bit symbols at all.

They use 64 bit only now

If you have already then I apologise

I'm trying hard to diagnose, no one else around to help that knows the solution, (they maybe shy to speak) so I'm afraid we have to diagnose slowly but surely.

Welcome to software engineering problem solving

But the immediate answer will be with the developers (tgc)

Is this the first time you going tier mode?

When was the last time it worked?

Maybe your missing some prerequisites?"


I will put off using AppGameKit Studio for now. I will wait for the developers to answer what my problem might be. Maybe I have to have an ARM64 processor of Apple to compile. Who knows...
Thank you for trying to help me out!
Aidan
User Banned
Posted: 23rd Nov 2023 15:24
No problem - I hope you get a solution soon.

In the meantime is it a template issue and having the right library paths correctly setup

Here is a link to how to set it all up

https://www.appgamekit.com/documentation/guides/60_getting_started.htm

Good luck
Virtual Nomad
Moderator
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Dec 2005
Location: SF Bay Area, USA

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-05-02 23:06:27
Your offset time is: 2024-05-02 23:06:27