Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Opening and editing "existing" text (*.txt, *.ini) files

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 23rd Nov 2002 21:18
I'm very new to programming, I've never used anything other than this and so far, even though I still stuck (always will, lol), I'd like to learn! Having said that, here is my issue that I have a feeling isn't possible

I want to open an existing txt file, actually it's an ini file, edit a particlar row / column in it and then close it, is this possible? I can get Darkbasic Pro to make a new file, I can put something in it and close, but I really want to edit an existing file and make changes to any row / column. If this is possible, would someone mind posting the source? I have what I've been able to do so far below:

1 line of text within the ini:

open to write 1, "c:\windows\desktop\test.ini"
write string 1, "This is a test"
close file 1

2 lines of text within the ini:

open to write 1, "c:\windows\desktop\test.ini"
write string 1, "This is a test"
write string 1, "Test 2"
close file 1

All this works fine. What I want to be able to do is have that file already existing and just make changes to it, for example, have the end result go from:

This is a test
Test 2

To:

Hello
This
Is
Another
Test

etc...

If anyone can help me with this, I would greatly appreciate it, thank you! If it's not possible, then I guess I'm out of luck, I don't want to have to resort to something like Visual Basic / Studio just to edit an existing ini / text file, hehe.
Luke
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 23rd Nov 2002 23:12
well, I only know DB, not DBP not they are a lot alike.