Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / New Game by April

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 24th Nov 2002 17:37
I am a student and for my project i have to create a computer game by April, i was aiming for a first person shooter. Only one level will be needed but if i have more time i will try to do a few. Where can i go for a description on how to lay this game out? I am completely new to Dark Basic but have gone through some of the tutorials. Like how to make a ball and setting the camera.
I need a structure like "this is required for the game to function."
John H
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 24th Nov 2002 18:27
Well, for a level, Id grab a copy of Cartography shop. As for FPS, if your new to DB, it may be a little hard. You will need a lot of knowledge of functions, while, and if then statements. For the gun, you will have to lock it on the screen.
I am not sure where you can find a description on how to lay the game out, but I can give you a basic idea (or you could be cheap and get the 3d game maker and make a FPS in 3 minutes :p no code required lol)

Well, first off, your going to need to figure out, what your going to have for enemies, A.I.? Or will it be online? Basically, what kind of game it will be. Near the start, I would design the levels so you know what you are working with.
Gameplay, what is it going to be like? Guns, are they going to be super powered high tech futuristic guns, oldschool? Map things out on paper.
Think of what kind of features you want this game to have, different guns? You will have to make physics for each gun. Are you going to make the character move slower if he has a larger gun? Will other guns be more powerful? Look into MATHs.