Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

3 Dimensional Chat / A football pitch: how do I create the lines?

Author
Message
tayete
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Nov 2002
Location:
Posted: 24th Nov 2002 19:27
I am trying to create a sport game field. I create the model and apply a tileable grass texture to it. The problem is I don't know how to create the white lines that limit it.

Any ideas?
Thanks...
Shadow Robert
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 24th Nov 2002 20:27
can either make a second flat texture and a plain object which goes over it... or make each plain white and have each plain as a line (^_^) upto you really

Anata aru kowagaru no watashi!
tayete
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Nov 2002
Location:
Posted: 25th Nov 2002 18:53
Thanks Raven, just one more question:

If I create a texture to put on top of the previous one, it must be a really huge one (if I am creating a FPS-like sport game, I have to run the whole field to score), and I guess DBPro won't be able to handle it properly. My previous experience with DB showed me that textures bigger than 2000x2000 were a handicap.
Do you know the size limit of DBPro with textures?

Thanks again...

Shadow Robert
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 26th Nov 2002 18:49
well it might come out a little poorquality if the field is huge, but i'd make a 1024x384 texture. That way it isn't too big and the blurring with DBpro might actually make it slightly better.

if you do that i'd place the plain a little above the field itself to prevent obvious Zbuffer problems and i'd also ghost it to help blend even more (^_^)

or you could always cut it into like 6 sections and make 6 plains over the main field, that way can have a higher res per texture (^_^)

Anata aru kowagaru no watashi!
BOC4J
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Oct 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 27th Nov 2002 15:38
why dont u just do it as a matrix?

actarus
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2002
Location: 32 Light Years away
Posted: 27th Nov 2002 22:06
yep a matrix with different textures that're seamless altogether.

Just remember that you're standing on a planet that's evolving
And revolving at nine hundred miles an hour!
tayete
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Nov 2002
Location:
Posted: 28th Nov 2002 10:09
Thanks a lot for the answers.

The reason I don't use matrix is easy: I am still having problems with BSPs which seem far easy to me than matrix...when I learn how to solve this, I'll try your proposal...

actarus
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2002
Location: 32 Light Years away
Posted: 28th Nov 2002 19:17
-I am still having problems with BSPs which seem far easy to me than matrix

Nope,Matrice are far easier...

Just remember that you're standing on a planet that's evolving
And revolving at nine hundred miles an hour!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-08-15 11:57:39
Your offset time is: 2020-08-15 11:57:39