Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

3 Dimensional Chat / milkshape mesh deformation export settings

Author
Message
indi
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Earth, Brisbane, Australia
Posted: 23rd Feb 2004 09:32
Its about time i worked out how to do this effectively.
heres a snap shot of the JT exporter in order to make it work if your not sure.


http://www.lunarpixel.net/temp/ms3d_mdf_settings.jpg


Overdroid
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location:
Posted: 25th Feb 2004 22:02 Edited at: 25th Feb 2004 22:03
Even with these settings I couldn't get the JT exporter to work.

But Milkshape's generic "DirectX 8.0" exporter worked for me with boned animation and mesh deformation.

So, if one doesn't work you can try the other. Also important to mention is - Make sure you are NOT in animation mode when exporting.

"If you want an audience, start a fight."
- Gaelic Proverb
indi
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Earth, Brisbane, Australia
Posted: 26th Feb 2004 14:17
you must have been doing something wrong for it not to work.


Overdroid
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location:
Posted: 27th Feb 2004 00:31
Could be, or maybe my model throws JT for a loop for some esoteric reason, or maybe there is an issue with my system. I've certainly spent enough time trying to get it to work and fiddling with parameters to know that I really don't care why. I'm just saying that the other exporter might work for you if JT doesn't work.

I've spent many many frustrating hours using DirectX exporters on more than one software package to finally be able to have boned mesh deformation working for me in DBpro. It's a VERY finicky process (in my opinion - some may have had no difficulties, although I have seen other posts from frustrated users in this forum).

I think it's best for those going into the process to know what HAS worked for others in order to save them time, so I'm just saying that the other exporter works for me.

"If you want an audience, start a fight."
- Gaelic Proverb
indi
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Earth, Brisbane, Australia
Posted: 27th Feb 2004 01:37
here is the 2nd example I have with all the source and milkshape files.


If you did something, care to share a mini example so I can see the way you reached the same result?

http://www.lunarpixel.net/temp/mesh_deform_test2.zip


Overdroid
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location:
Posted: 27th Feb 2004 20:22
Ok,

I got your settings to work.

I was using an old version of the DBP model browser to test my models and it was obviously created before the most recent patches. It didn't like mesh deformation.

One thing I noticed was my interpolation count had to be the same as my total frames, or it only exported part of the animation.

Also, the final frame count is multiplied by the time factor (obviously).

"If you want an audience, start a fight."
- Gaelic Proverb
indi
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Earth, Brisbane, Australia
Posted: 28th Feb 2004 04:19
good encouragement and work then.


JAT
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Nov 2002
Location:
Posted: 2nd Mar 2004 07:00
Hi Indi,

I'm curious as to why you need the interpolation setting. It basically adds the indicated number of key frames between the keys that you program. I put it in to be compatible with some DirectX applications using full matrix keys that don't interpolate between the keys. Is DBPro one of those?

-John

John Thompson
http://www.jtgame.com/jtedit
indi
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Earth, Brisbane, Australia
Posted: 2nd Mar 2004 08:43
im not sure mate. the larger the number the slower the animation. I just added some to show the result.


BadMonkey91
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 25th Mar 2004 17:52
My textures that i make within Ms3d seem to export, because I can see them in the model viewer tool, but when I load the object into DBC it doesnt load them. Is there anything you messed around with that fixed this?

Badmonkey91@hotmail.com
indi
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Earth, Brisbane, Australia
Posted: 31st Mar 2004 02:34
are they in the same folder as the model data?


Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2022-12-09 18:57:58
Your offset time is: 2022-12-09 18:57:58