Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

3 Dimensional Chat / MilkShape 3D 1.6.5 released!

Author
Message
Simple
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 2nd Dec 2002 18:07
Just incase you didn't know.
And here's some info on the new release >>

This release comes with quite a lot of new stuff. The main changes are local/global mode, when rotating joints, which makes animation a lot easier. Then customizable shortcuts have been added. With the ShortCut & PlugIn Manager you can define your own shortcuts, even for plugins and hide unused menu items. The progressive mesh plugin has been replaced by the DirectX Mesh Tools, which provides a good progressive mesh implementation. Finally a lot of new and useful plugins have been added. Here is the complete list:

Added: global/local mode for rotating joints, which makes animation a lot easier.
Added: customizable shortcuts, menus and plugins using the shortcuts.ini.
Added: added shortcuts for Reverse Vertex Order, X, Y, Z and other tool options.
Added: new plugin types: Edit, Vertex, Face and Animate.
Added: ShortCut & Plugin Manager to edit the shortcuts.ini.
Added: UT 2003 reference skeletons.
Fixed: deleting selected vertices doesn't remove all unreferenced vertices.
Fixed: using the Delete key in editboxes won't delete the current selection.
Included: plugins by mijacs: Bridge, Unify, Manual Edit and SelPolyCount.
Included: plugin by Taharez: Height Map.
Included: plugins by Mikko Rytkönen: Lathe, Tile Texture Mapper.
Included: plugins by scorpiomidget: MOHAA Plugins, Model Information.
Included: plugin by cam129: Terrain Generator.
Included: plugins by CCCP: LWO 5.x and 6.0+ importer/exporter.
Included: NovodeX plugin.
Included: Battlefield 1942 plugins by Brian Holinka.
Included: DirectX 8 Mesh Tools: progressive mesh, tesselate mesh and load simple .x files.

Note, that you can also define shortcuts for tool options. The default keys are 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8. This makes the whole thing more productive...
Spec - AMD Athlon 1000mhz - 256mb DDR - Gforce2mx 400 TV out - 30gb HD - 19" Compaq - DVD rom - CDRW - Firewire - ATI TV card - All linked to another PC with higher spec
indi
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Earth, Brisbane, Australia
Posted: 2nd Dec 2002 18:25
i didnt thanks the hotkey setup will be a god send.

any news on a perfect placement unit size feature?

Simple
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 2nd Dec 2002 18:40
No, not yet

It's in the wishlist section of there forum somewhere though I'm sure they will get to it sooner or later.

I've sent them a few e-mails as well.... with my own wishlist

Spec - AMD Athlon 1000mhz - 256mb DDR - Gforce2mx 400 TV out - 30gb HD - 19" Compaq - DVD rom - CDRW - Firewire - ATI TV card - All linked to another PC with higher spec
indi
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Earth, Brisbane, Australia
Posted: 2nd Dec 2002 19:07
it would be nice if bones moved polys without being in animations mode, if i missed how to turn that on

Simple
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 2nd Dec 2002 21:23
Narh !! you didn't miss any butons indi. It's not that bad though... just takes a little longer.

Spec - AMD Athlon 1000mhz - 256mb DDR - Gforce2mx 400 TV out - 30gb HD - 19" Compaq - DVD rom - CDRW - Firewire - ATI TV card - All linked to another PC with higher spec
Kohai of UWDesign
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2002
Location: France
Posted: 2nd Dec 2002 21:26
Hmm, yeah i find it a bit annoying having to switch modes when you add a bone ...

Bah, we'll get on with it ^^

[Kohai]
[url]www.underwaredesign.com[url] [url]kohaistyle.com[url]
pIII 733/256 Ram/Geforce 256
Megaman X
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Oct 2002
Location: Sweden
Posted: 2nd Dec 2002 21:32
The only complain I actually have about Milkshape is that when u start to have a more complex mesh, it's really hard to select faces... The rest can be worked around, but the faces thing is buggy....

I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it.
-- Rogue
actarus
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2002
Location: 32 Light Years away
Posted: 2nd Dec 2002 21:44
One or two tricks to effectively select faces in MS are,use the select by vertex option and go select it in the 3d viewport(holding ALT) and unselect(using the right mouse btn) the ones that you don't want.

Second trick is to do select normally in the viewport and if other faces get selected...Guess what,yunselect them in another viewport.

Just remember that you're standing on a planet that's evolving
And revolving at nine hundred miles an hour!
Simple
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 2nd Dec 2002 22:11
Hehe !! I normally select the faces which are in the way ( and hide them ) that way you can have a clear area to work in.

Spec - AMD Athlon 1000mhz - 256mb DDR - Gforce2mx 400 TV out - 30gb HD - 19" Compaq - DVD rom - CDRW - Firewire - ATI TV card - All linked to another PC with higher spec
actarus
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2002
Location: 32 Light Years away
Posted: 2nd Dec 2002 22:49
Yeah like when working on the under arm area it's always good to make the arm a separate group and then just hide the rest.

Just remember that you're standing on a planet that's evolving
And revolving at nine hundred miles an hour!
Simple
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 2nd Dec 2002 23:58
Yeah !! and don't forget the deodorant... Phew !!

Seriously though... with milkshape, getting used to "hiding" and "un-hiding" is a must.

Spec - AMD Athlon 1000mhz - 256mb DDR - Gforce2mx 400 TV out - 30gb HD - 19" Compaq - DVD rom - CDRW - Firewire - ATI TV card - All linked to another PC with higher spec
Kohai of UWDesign
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2002
Location: France
Posted: 3rd Dec 2002 00:18
Yup, i find the hide/unhide group method quite convenient also ...

Anyway, even with little things that could be added/changed, Milkshape is still an UNVALUABLE piece of software !

I def. like it ! ^^

[Kohai]
[url]www.underwaredesign.com[url] [url]kohaistyle.com[url]
pIII 733/256 Ram/Geforce 256
Megaman X
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Oct 2002
Location: Sweden
Posted: 3rd Dec 2002 02:18
Me too, so far it's my favorite. It's me have not mastered it yet

I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it.
-- Rogue
Epidemicz
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2002
Location:
Posted: 7th Dec 2002 19:42
..man it must be just me.....but, I really can't stand milkshape lol. Thats cool if you guys like it, but I can't stand the ui, and when I try to select faces, it always, forever grabs the wrong ones \./;

I am the very disease you pretend to be.
Shadow Robert
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 7th Dec 2002 22:55
lol... yup certianly not everyones cuppa tea - but unless you have the money you have little choice

certain aspects take a little getting used to,
I first got milkshape from mete when there was little time to go on the net an 1.2.1 when he'd just added the Vertex-Face stuff, seemed extremely odd to try it out from trueSpace's setup and I eventually left it for a few years and got along with Maya instead. Recently like the past year i've kinda been strong armed into useing it by him and i dunno there are alot of things that i don't like alot and still are underdeveloped but once i got used to it - certainly a fun budget package

Anata aru kowagaru no watashi!
Epidemicz
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2002
Location:
Posted: 7th Dec 2002 23:55
if i could find a decent tutorial for it , I would try to use it...all i want to do is make a room with 4 walls and have 1 wall have doorway with an arch at the top, if I could figure out how to do that i'd be happy.

I am the very disease you pretend to be.
Simple
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 8th Dec 2002 00:44
http://xu1productions.com/3dstudio/index.html

Spec - AMD Athlon 1000mhz - 256mb DDR - Gforce2mx 400 TV out - 30gb HD - 19" Compaq - DVD rom - CDRW - Firewire - ATI TV card - All linked to another PC with higher spec
Shadow Robert
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 8th Dec 2002 01:09
yeah alot of the tutorials are very lack luster in explaining the tools properly ... with not boolean subtraction (in a decent working state atleast) existing for MS3D it makes it an arduous chore.

I'd suggest for level development you work with specific tools for the task

Anata aru kowagaru no watashi!
Epidemicz
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2002
Location:
Posted: 8th Dec 2002 05:50
Such as?

I am the very disease you pretend to be.
Shadow Robert
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 8th Dec 2002 09:51
lol... oh geez the boards are full of them
just check any post about BSP, or Gmax, or i dunno - too many to count

Anata aru kowagaru no watashi!
Epidemicz
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2002
Location:
Posted: 8th Dec 2002 10:46
I really like gmax but how do I get from .gmax->.x or at least .3ds. I know someone wrote about a plugin or something that could do it...

I am the very disease you pretend to be.
Shadow Robert
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 8th Dec 2002 11:48
well best way is to download Tempest ... that way you can export as .Map which you can compile to BSP
Either with the builtin compilers or load into another Map editor and do such

Anata aru kowagaru no watashi!
Epidemicz
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2002
Location:
Posted: 8th Dec 2002 18:19
Cool, I've had tempest for a while lol but I actually never really used it.....I'll try it out, thanks.

I am the very disease you pretend to be.
Megaman X
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Oct 2002
Location: Sweden
Posted: 8th Dec 2002 18:37
Vegeta plz, where can I get Tempest? U mean, if I export a file .map with MilkShape can I compile it to BSP? That's just what I needed

I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it.
-- Rogue
Epidemicz
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2002
Location:
Posted: 8th Dec 2002 19:53
ya can get it from the discreet website.....www.discreet.com

I am the very disease you pretend to be.
Shadow Robert
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 9th Dec 2002 05:18
Tempest on the download page at Discreet/Products/Gmax
and is a matter of 520Kb (or there abouts)

Any file exported as a .map as long as it is a true .map format will be compiled by all BSP compilers.

Ther version of .map you use determines what entities and effects you're able to use and what texture files are used.
unforunatly last time i checked there wasn't an exporter for this format from Milkshape ... and really Milkshapes setup doesn't suit it to be a level developer as Boolean Subtraction, Union and Intersection Tools are a must for speed reasons.

I mean I can make and texture a door hole in Milkshape in about 30-35mins - but in Qoole I can do it in under minute.
That wouldn't be counting creating the actual door, which would take ALOT longer and would have to be developed seperatly and added later from Milkshape

Anata aru kowagaru no watashi!
Megaman X
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Oct 2002
Location: Sweden
Posted: 9th Dec 2002 05:29
Thanks Sir. Epidemicz and Sir. Vegeta ( yeah, I've been watching King Arthur lol ). I will check it out. U know one thing would be just that great? I have also 3D Game Studio, but I never used it much unfortunatly, but the editor is really good for maps... if we could export it and use as BSP my search for a good, easy to use level creator would be ended.
Well, let's see what I can do with Tempest
thanks once again.

I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it.
-- Rogue
Megaman X
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Oct 2002
Location: Sweden
Posted: 9th Dec 2002 05:41
Well, I did not find the link to Tempest Sad the site does not have a search engine . I really want try it
Apart of it, GMax sounds entresting... is it worthy? Anyone trying?

I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it.
-- Rogue
indi
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Earth, Brisbane, Australia
Posted: 9th Dec 2002 06:47
http://www.scriptspot.com/start.htm

type gmax into the right hand search bar for some gmax importers.

Its not a cheap viable solution to use that program if u want to go commercial.

Its cheaper to get milkshape and learn its features without fear of licence costs.

Shadow Robert
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 9th Dec 2002 07:24

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-08-06 08:36:26
Your offset time is: 2020-08-06 08:36:26