Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

2D All the way! / Ingame Menus/Buttons etc.,

Author
Message
Omikronian
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 15th Dec 2002 22:55
Hello all,

I have been trying to figure out how to make an ingame menu like those used in FPS games. This is what I got so far:

1. load background image to screen "load bitmap"
2. create blank bitmap "create bitmap" (Not drawn to screen)
3. load buttons bitmap
4. copy buttons to blank bitmap
5. clear screen
6. set current bitmap to zero (redirect bitmap to screen)

Has anyone figured out how to approach this puzzle or possibly have solved it yet?
Any help would be greatly appreciated,
Ben
Digital Awakening
AGK Developer
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: Sweden
Posted: 15th Dec 2002 23:35
do like this instead:

load image "image.xxx",#,1 (the last 1 is optional but makes the image much better quality)

paste image #,X,Y,1 (the last 1 is optional and turns on transparency)

[b]Digital Awakening
Game in developement: 3D RPG - The Magic Land
Visit DigAw.com for more info and shots
Kangaroo2
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 16th Dec 2002 00:57
I draw a plain then fix it (Like in the HUD examples in DB1) then hide it, until its supposed to be displayed. Then show it and texture it with your different options. Whilst its a complicated way, It does insure its always ahead of all 3d on the screen, and also will be of the same proportions no matter what screen resolution

* If the apocalypse comes, email me *
John H
Retired Moderator
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2002
Location: Burlington, VT
Posted: 16th Dec 2002 04:20
I use sprites for all images ,,,,,, usually

Current - RPG: Eternal Destiny : Help Wanted!
Upcoming- MMOFPS- Paintball Game: HELP WANTED!
Http://halbrosproductions.netfirms.com
Omikronian
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 17th Dec 2002 02:23
Thanks all for the input. I am now using sprites and made a simple three button menu with background. Does anyone know how to detect mouse pointer collisions, like when the mouse pointer is over the button sprite, I would like to change the sprite to another version of the button. I already know how to change it. I am testing mouse(x,y) with sprites(x,y) but I would like the cursor to activate the button when it is over it. Has anyone any clue to how to do this.
I would greatly appreciate any help you could give me.

Moggie100
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Oct 2002
Location: Behind You...
Posted: 18th Dec 2002 22:20
I've been using this for the menu's in my program L&Scape using the following code to detect wheather the mouse is over a sprite. Its quite simple really

The eisiest way to get collision between the mouse pointer and the sprite is to use a 1 pixel by 1 pixel black (or whatever colour) dot, and continuously position it where the mouse is, then use simple sprite collision, like so:


(Image 100 is the black bot btw.)


Hope that helps

Mog.

Life is like a hot bath, the longer you're in it, the more wrinkles you get.
ChronicFear
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 22nd Dec 2002 08:48
RPG gamer. In your game that you are making, Eternal Destiny, there is a box at the bottom with all the characters stats, like hp and such. How do I make one of them?

Your suffering cause of me its divine
-Korn-

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2022-11-29 14:15:01
Your offset time is: 2022-11-29 14:15:01