Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Code Snippets / enourmous landscapes using small memblock matrix...

Author
Message
jwurmz
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Oct 2003
Location: Arizona, USA
Posted: 27th Jun 2004 07:57 Edited at: 16th Nov 2004 02:25
i cannot stress enough how LARGE these landscapes can be. it takes almost 10 minutes to get from one side to the other.

i WAS making an RPG, and i've managed to get my landscaper working (GeoBreeze). it uses a dynamic matrix (96x96) which refreshes as you traverse the landscape, which is 2017x2017 segs.

media:
look here http://www.geocities.com/sixurbanninjas/download.html near the middle of the page, under "GeoBreeze"

unzip these into the same directory with the source.

thanks to phaelax for the memblock matrix code

here's the source:



keys:
push and hold mousehweel in (centerclick) - look around with camera
WSAD - move cam forward, back, left, right
QE - move cam up, down
F2 - save map to file "hmap.dat"
F3 - load file "hmap/dat"

mouse:
left/right click - raise and lower landscape around widget
scroll up/down - increase or decrease widget brush size
hold the "B" key AND scroll up/down - change brush type -> 1:height up/down 2:smooth 3:randomize

the wireframe box is the "brush"... notice when you scroll (without holding b) the mouse, the box gets bigger.

it should run fine.

thanks again to phaelax, who supplied the memblock matrix code!

if you test it, please give feedback here!!!

"Creativity is knowing how to hide your sources" - Einstein
jwurmz
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Oct 2003
Location: Arizona, USA
Posted: 30th Jun 2004 07:17 Edited at: 1st Jul 2004 16:27
[BUMP]

"Creativity is knowing how to hide your sources" - Einstein
Zeal
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Oct 2002
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posted: 2nd Jul 2004 04:48 Edited at: 2nd Jul 2004 04:50
Pretty neat, couple suggestions...

1.) Dont use make mesh from memblock. WAY too slow. There are some hidden vertex manipulation commands in the 3ddebug.dll that allow you to update meshes 100x faster than memblocks. Do a search on the forum for how to access these (ive made several posts about them). And note youll need to revert back to ver 5.0 or 5.2 to use em (dont work in 5.4).

2.) I saw the 'edge' of the world many times when scrolling around. You should revise your shuffle code so that the player is always in the center, thus never gets that close to the edge. This may require you to break up your sectors into smaller chunks.

*edit just noticed you said its for a rpg. So assuming youre going for top down only, ignore my point in 2. Me im going for fully 3d, so I dont want the user to ever see off the edge of the world.

All you need is zeal
jwurmz
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Oct 2003
Location: Arizona, USA
Posted: 2nd Jul 2004 08:01 Edited at: 2nd Jul 2004 08:02
first, much thanks for the feedback

second: i am at 5.2... i think. i went to 5.4 and went back to 5.2 (after alot of boolsheet) so that is great. i can't stand the little jerk when it remeshes (thats a word right?). if there is a way to make it faster, i certainly will search for it.

third: yeah, an RPG. though it won't be a 90degree top down view. more like a 45 or higher. trust me though, the final product will be beautifully "solid" looking, without jerks or visible mesh contruction. as it is, if i make the mesh use less verts, it almost runs seamless

"Creativity is knowing how to hide your sources" - Einstein
jwurmz
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Oct 2003
Location: Arizona, USA
Posted: 2nd Jul 2004 08:13
zeal, i just searched the dbp and code snippets forums with "3ddebug.dll" and "hidden vertex manipulation" but there were no results. can you be more specific?

"Creativity is knowing how to hide your sources" - Einstein
Hamish McHaggis
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2002
Location: Modgnik Detinu
Posted: 6th Jul 2004 10:30
There are ways to access them? We want now . Multiscape is way too slow at the moment.

Athelon XP 1600+/Radeon 9600 Pro/256 RAM
Ian T
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2002
Location: Around
Posted: 22nd Aug 2004 01:51
jwurmz,

the 'Textures' link just directs to the heightmap again ...

I'll be trying it out as soon as I scrape up some decent placeholder textures. It sounds great.

Jonanin
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jan 2004
Location: A place with a roof
Posted: 26th Aug 2004 04:08
Quote: "[email][img][href]
[/href][/img][/email]"


ummm... it doesnt work for me.

"If the shoe fits, It must be your size"
"Never name a pig you are going to eat"
"It is easier to hide intelligance than it is to hide Stupidity"
genius
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Oct 2003
Location: Utah, USA
Posted: 27th Aug 2004 10:35
@ jwurmz... i have a mix of 5.2, 5.4, and 5.5... what you do is install 5.4, then copy the "compiler" folder to you desktop... then install 5.5 and do the same. then reinstall DB and then install 5.2 then go to the plugins part of 5.4 and copy the whole thing. then go to 5.2 and copy i think it is "core.dll" into the plugins folder. then copy the "basic3d.dll" to the plugins folder and you have 5.5 that does not screw up your code... i am tecknically running 5.2 and i have the advanced terrain working. also, make sure that you have the 5.4 "launch.exe" i do not mean to hijack this thread

Why do they have BRAIL on Drive-Up ATM Machines?
http://www.tamperstudios.com
jwurmz
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Oct 2003
Location: Arizona, USA
Posted: 14th Nov 2004 08:51
this was an old post, but i realized that mouse had found an error on my site that directed users to the heightmap again. all fixed now. use this code freely, any suggestions are still welcome

"Creativity is knowing how to hide your sources" - Einstein
Mobiius
Valued Member
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2003
Location: The Cold North
Posted: 26th Nov 2004 20:06
it's pretty good, don't like the loading time whilst loading segments, but pretty good nonetheless.

Sweet.

1800+ XP - GeforceFX 5600 - 256MbDDR - 60Gb Hdd - XP Pro (SP2)
Sol462
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2004
Location: playing with the spazookeedoo
Posted: 13th Feb 2005 06:05
Quote: " There are ways to access them? We want now . Multiscape is way too slow at the moment.
"

mine dosen't even work.

coffee + monkeys + creativity = games
Operation Pineapple - Multiplayer FPS WIP

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-23 17:00:25
Your offset time is: 2024-11-23 17:00:25