Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Where the heck do I, a begginer, start?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 19th Dec 2002 00:42
Where do I start? I would like to know. I know how to make a cylinder gun with bullets, and I know how to make images and sprites, and I know about the IF THEN commads a little, but I dont know where to start when making games. I am VERY new at this, so I am posting the new peoples corner, asking for HELP!!! I want to make a game, similar to Halo for the XBOX, but not with as many levels and whatever, but I really have no clue where to start. CAn someone please help me? Thanks and bye!
The Darthster
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 19th Dec 2002 00:58
You aren't likely to make a game like HALO for a while yet. I'd advise you look through some of the examples and tutorials which come with DB. Get lots of experience programming very little programs, then when you think you know enough about how the commands are used, look at the structure of a game and see what you would need to code (player character, player input, environment, collision, computer ai etc). There is an unsurprisingly large amount of code to write and media to create to make something like HALO, so I advise you make Pong and work up (slowly).
Hockey07
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 19th Dec 2002 01:31