Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

3 Dimensional Chat / Subway in Progress.....

Author
Message
Disco Stu
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Nov 2002
Location: Australia
Posted: 26th Dec 2002 08:38
Hey everyone,
Been a while since I last posted here, been busy scribbling away. Anyway, here's a subway I started to work on in Truespace today. I've been working on it for about an hour now. Time for a break. Suggestions, crits and everything else greatly appreciated.


If the image doesn't work try:
http://xenla.tripod.com/My_CGI/Subinprogress.jpg
Or just go to my site and click on My CGI.
Enjoy!
Sina.
"Maybe if you ain't so good, I ain't so bad."--Tony Manero to Stephanie (Karen Lynn Gorney)
DBGuy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Oct 2002
Location: Finland
Posted: 26th Dec 2002 11:34
eh.. looks too much like Max Payne's first level..

DBGuy

: AMD Athlon 1.4GHz : 256MB : GeForce 2 Pro :
That toyfrog in my avatar is model, not real
DBGuy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Oct 2002
Location: Finland
Posted: 26th Dec 2002 11:35
oh and.. looks that cylinders take LOADS of polys

DBGuy

: AMD Athlon 1.4GHz : 256MB : GeForce 2 Pro :
That toyfrog in my avatar is model, not real
Puffy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Sep 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 26th Dec 2002 11:40
^_^ yup they do... you could get a poly masher from polycount... save you the trouble of making new models and just remove some poly's...

AMD Athlon XP 2100+ OC to 3Ghz/1.5gigs ram/128mb ti4200/120gigs hd/19" monitor/Sound Blaster Audigy Platinum EX/3072kbs Sat Con... I joined in!
Disco Stu
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Nov 2002
Location: Australia
Posted: 26th Dec 2002 12:31
Hehe, yeah now that you mention it, it does look like the Max Payne subway (ah the memories come flooding back...). Hmm, well I'm not too fussed about poly count, makes little difference since I'm not going to use this in any game/application. I'd settle for cube (or rectangular prism I should say) columns if I was using it for a game. I've still got heaps of work to do on it too. The overall look is too blocky. If any of you think that I could add something that would look nice into the picture I'm all ears.

Thanks for the reply,
Sina.

"Maybe if you ain't so good, I ain't so bad."--Tony Manero to Stephanie (Karen Lynn Gorney)
Puffy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Sep 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 26th Dec 2002 12:59
^_^ a 3d darthvader mask with a lil bit of a puff ball sticking out the bottom... a cape... and a lightsaver... O_O or a DarthPuff

AMD Athlon XP 2100+ OC to 3Ghz/1.5gigs ram/128mb ti4200/120gigs hd/19" monitor/Sound Blaster Audigy Platinum EX/3072kbs Sat Con... I joined in!
Disco Stu
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Nov 2002
Location: Australia
Posted: 26th Dec 2002 13:06
Uhhhhhhh I'll get back to you on that one (runs away)............
Well, at least you tried
Sina.

"Maybe if you ain't so good, I ain't so bad."--Tony Manero to Stephanie (Karen Lynn Gorney)
QuothTheRaven
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 27th Dec 2002 03:46
the coloring and texturing needs a whole lot of work. It looks like barney's underground devil playhouse...the colors are just so mashed together...ick...
Disco Stu
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Nov 2002
Location: Australia
Posted: 27th Dec 2002 06:07
True, all of the textures at the moment are made within Truespace itself, so not the greatest quality, and the lighting is all wrong. But I think I can do something with it. Thanks though,
Sina.

"Maybe if you ain't so good, I ain't so bad."--Tony Manero to Stephanie (Karen Lynn Gorney)
Puffy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Sep 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 27th Dec 2002 06:29
o_O hrmmm you could put some adds on the walls for darkbasic... and blitzbasic...

AMD Athlon XP 2100+ OC to 3Ghz/1.5gigs ram/128mb ti4200/120gigs hd/19" monitor/Sound Blaster Audigy Platinum EX/3072kbs Sat Con... I joined in!
Disco Stu
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Nov 2002
Location: Australia
Posted: 27th Dec 2002 09:23
Hey that's actually not a bad idea, a DB/BB subway.
It could work, i'll give it a go thanks.
Sina.

"Maybe if you ain't so good, I ain't so bad."--Tony Manero to Stephanie (Karen Lynn Gorney)
rapscaLLion
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2002
Location: Canada
Posted: 27th Dec 2002 15:27
The platform should be higher up, the track should be sunken lower. That is, if you are going for a realistic subway from the present. Your looks like its from the future...

Alex Wanuch
aka rapscaLLion
Kousen Dev Progress >> Currently Working On Editors

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-08-12 01:17:29
Your offset time is: 2020-08-12 01:17:29