Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Code Snippets / 3D object placer

Author
Message
Dom
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2004
Location:
Posted: 11th Sep 2004 03:37
Hello. Ive just finished writing this object placer. Its to help position objects for keyframing of animation. You just load all your models then move them to where you want them to go. Note down the co-ordinates then use position object. Then move on to the next object. Hope it will be of some use to you


If nobodys perfect then im nobody!
Turoid
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Nov 2003
Location: The Netherlands
Posted: 11th Sep 2004 03:52
Its moving a little to fast.. and:..
Quote: "help position objects for keyframing of animation"


animation ?

syntax error??? it isn't an error, it is a feature

Dom
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2004
Location:
Posted: 11th Sep 2004 06:14
if upkey()=1 then move object obj,1
if downkey()=1 then move object obj,-1
if rightkey()=1 then position object obj,(x+1),y,z
if leftkey()=1 then position object obj,(x-1),y,z

if controlkey()=1 then position object obj,x,(y-3),z
if shiftkey()=1 then position object obj,x,(y+3),z

if inkey$()="]" then yrotate object obj,wrapvalue(yrotate+1)
if inkey$()="[" then yrotate object obj,wrapvalue(yrotate-1)

if inkey$()="p" then xrotate object obj,wrapvalue(xrotate-1)
if inkey$()=";" then xrotate object obj,wrapvalue(xrotate+1)

if inkey$()="." then zrotate object obj,wrapvalue(zrotate-1)
if inkey$()="," then zrotate object obj,wrapvalue(zrotate+1)

If you make the number at the end of each line higher then you will slow down the movement.

As for animation: You can animate in DB by making a model of a human for example but make him up of lots of smaller models. You load these into DarkBASIC and position them in the right place. Then you can keyframe the positions. Each time you keyframe the model you move part of it to make an animation. My program helps you move everything into position for keyframing without all the time consuming trial and error.

If nobodys perfect then im nobody!
Turoid
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Nov 2003
Location: The Netherlands
Posted: 11th Sep 2004 07:13
Quote: "If you make the number at the end of .."


I know im not a newbie (look at my FPS engine, in code snippets thread )

Yes i know that with keyframes in db but its not really handy to use, but you can make it a keyframe editor ! like uuhm underware design hase done a while ago.. if im right. That would be cool

syntax error??? it isn't an error, it is a feature

Dom
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2004
Location:
Posted: 12th Sep 2004 01:21
Umm I would just like to point out that Im only 13 and this is my first program. And Im kinda busy with another project at the moment. but I might just make a keyframe editor. Thanks for your feedback.

If nobodys perfect then im nobody!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-23 19:26:14
Your offset time is: 2024-11-23 19:26:14