Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Program Announcements / DKShop - DBPro TPC Plugin

Author
Message
Dmitry K
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2002
Location: Russia
Posted: 27th Sep 2004 22:53 Edited at: 5th Jun 2009 22:47
EDIT
Updated for U7.4 05/06/09
Updated for U7.2 13/03/09
Updated for U6.9 28/06/08
Updated for U6.2b 12/07/06
Updated for U5.9 15/12/05
EDIT

Free TPC DLLs DKSHOP & DKAVM U7.4: http://forumfiles.thegamecreators.com/download/1771664

Free TPC DLLs DKSHOP & DKAVM U7.2: http://forumfiles.thegamecreators.com/download/150066

Free TPC DLLs DKSHOP & DKAVM U6.9: http://forumfiles.thegamecreators.com/?i=1532575


Free TPC DLLs DKSHOP & DKAVM U6.2b: http://forum.thegamecreators.com/xt/xt_apollo_download.php?i=406855


Free TPC DLLs DKSHOP & DKAVM U5.9: http://forum.thegamecreators.com/xt/xt_apollo_download.php?i=400955

DKSHOP COMMAND LIST.
+ Code Snippet

DKAVM COMMAND LIST.
+ Code Snippet

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Jess T
Moderator
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Sep 2003
Location: Over There... Kablam!
Posted: 27th Sep 2004 23:31 Edited at: 27th Sep 2004 23:36
Dmitry,
Your english is great ( better than most of the english speaking people around here ).

And I must say, you are one hell of a genius

These commands will be extremely helpfull for alot of people I know ( including myself ).

On behalf of those who may not see the thread, I thank you

[EDIT]
Works much like the hidden commands that I hacked out in the older versions of DBP, so my old code should be simple to port
[/EDIT]

Jess.


Team EOD :: Programmer/All-Round Nice Guy
Aust. Convention!
Guyon
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jun 2003
Location: United States
Posted: 28th Sep 2004 03:30
Dmitry K,
You english is incredible!
Cellbloc Studios
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Mar 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posted: 28th Sep 2004 08:14
Da!

-This is my boomstick!
Duffer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: chair
Posted: 2nd Oct 2004 04:10
@Dmitry K,

You star!
Peter H
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2004
Location: Witness Protection Program
Posted: 2nd Oct 2004 08:22
Quote: "DK CONVERT 2D TO 3D Camera Number, X, Y, Distance"

hehe...i love you

this is possible with vectors...ect but it's a little bit of a mess

(but not that way)

"We make the worst games in the universe."

David T
Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: England
Posted: 5th Oct 2004 05:17
Quote: "Quote: "DK CONVERT 2D TO 3D Camera Number, X, Y, Distance"
hehe...i love you"


Pick Screen()

Nice job Dmitry - especially the vertex manipulation commands.

Get 15 new commands, all the date / time commands left out of DBPro for free!
DOWNLOAD PLUGINS HERE: http://www.davidtattersall.me.uk/ and select "DarkBasic"
Dmitry K
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2002
Location: Russia
Posted: 5th Oct 2004 19:27 Edited at: 21st Oct 2006 23:51
Thanks all

Quote: "
Quote: "Quote: "DK CONVERT 2D TO 3D Camera Number, X, Y, Distance"
hehe...i love you"

Pick Screen() "


Pick Screen does not work with multiple cameras and scaled viewports.

Specs: P4 2.4GHz, DIMM 256 266Mhz, 60GB HD 7200rpm ATA-133, GeForce NX6600, CD-RW+DVD, WinXP

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Pheonixx
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Oct 2003
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posted: 11th Oct 2004 06:05
Thanks Jess for pointing me to this thread, and Thanks Dmitry K for finally getting the vertex manipulation commands available to the later versions of DBP.

I would like you to contact me for some information, so I can accredit you for this plugin in my program. As well as establish some coorispondance on features you may be able to help me out with. Email :: Pheonixx1980@hotmail.com

Again, thanks

Dmitry K
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2002
Location: Russia
Posted: 12th Oct 2004 06:00 Edited at: 10th Nov 2004 02:48
DKShop was recompiled to work with u5.7

[EDIT]
[/EDIT]

Specs: P4 2.4GHz, DIMM 256 266Mhz, 60GB HD 7200rpm ATA-133, GeForce 4 MX440, CD-RW+DVD, WinXP
Philip
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jun 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 22nd Oct 2004 07:43
Interesting DLL here Dmitry.

I have a question: although this DLL is described as being free is it in fact time limited? Or are there two different versions of the DLL: a free one and an improved shareware version with additional commands?

Cheers

Philip

What do you mean, bears aren't supposed to wear hats and a tie? P3.2ghz / 1 gig / GeForce FX 5900 128meg / WinXP home
Dmitry K
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2002
Location: Russia
Posted: 22nd Oct 2004 08:31
Quote: "
Or are there two different versions of the DLL: a free one and an improved shareware version with additional commands?
"

Yes, indeed. There will be two versions of this library. The free version of library contains:
Low-level vertex manupulation;(These commands are built-in in DBPro by developers)
Acces to some object and camera properties;
3D to 2D conversation and vice versa.

Shareware version will be contains:
Matrix intersection commands(which will be return picked poly and its normals);
Object intersection commands(which will be return picked poly(limb) and its normals);
3DSprite object commands;
and maybe more...

Specs: P4 2.4GHz, DIMM 256 266Mhz, 60GB HD 7200rpm ATA-133, GeForce 4 MX440, CD-RW+DVD, WinXP
Philip
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jun 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 22nd Oct 2004 23:38
Ok great.

I've just downloaded the *.dll and the *.ini file from the first link you posted at the top of this thread.

Is that the freeware or the shareware version of the DLL?

Cheers

Philip

What do you mean, bears aren't supposed to wear hats and a tie? P3.2ghz / 1 gig / GeForce FX 5900 128meg / WinXP home
Narf The Mouse
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jul 2004
Location:
Posted: 26th Nov 2004 15:43
Great Dll

Suggestions for future commands: Vertex Scale. DBPro's scale command doesn't actually scale an object (Which you may have noticed), however, with your dll I was able to easily write a function to scale an object, including it's limb's, with a flag to porportionally scale the limbs (So they stay in the same place, relative to the parent object).

Cheese!
Narf The Mouse
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jul 2004
Location:
Posted: 26th Nov 2004 19:19
Bug: VB SET VERTEX DATA UV is set to look for an object, not a vertex.

Cheese!
re faze
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Sep 2004
Location: The shores of hell.
Posted: 30th Nov 2004 04:59
where is the plugin with the 3d sprite commands
FXTC
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2004
Location: CzechRepublic
Posted: 30th Nov 2004 07:59
nice dll thx
Lampton Worm
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 1st Dec 2004 19:33
Unfortunatly, the samples for the 3d commands crashed for me (Win98SE), I'll post more info when I get a sec.
Dmitry K
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2002
Location: Russia
Posted: 3rd Dec 2004 02:44
Quote: "
Suggestions for future commands: Vertex Scale. DBPro's scale command doesn't actually scale an object (Which you may have noticed), however, with your dll I was able to easily write a function to scale an object, including it's limb's, with a flag to porportionally scale the limbs (So they stay in the same place, relative to the parent object).
"

APPLY MATRIX4 TO LIMB will do it. With this command it will be easy to rotate, scale and translate the mesh vertex data.

Quote: "
Bug: VB SET VERTEX DATA UV is set to look for an object, not a vertex.
"

Fixed.

Quote: "
where is the plugin with the 3d sprite commands
"

In forthcoming shareware version. I am working on it now.

Quote: "
Unfortunatly, the samples for the 3d commands crashed for me (Win98SE), I'll post more info when I get a sec.
"

Hmm. Maybe Win98 problem. Try new fixed version.

Specs: P4 2.4GHz, DIMM 256 266Mhz, 60GB HD 7200rpm ATA-133, GeForce 4 MX440, CD-RW+DVD, WinXP
Narf The Mouse
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jul 2004
Location:
Posted: 4th Dec 2004 04:17 Edited at: 4th Dec 2004 06:23
Thanks.

How do DK CONVERT 3D TO 2D and DK CONVERT 2D TO 3D work?

Cheese!
Lampton Worm
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 10th Dec 2004 20:00
Quote: " Try new fixed version."


Hi, will do -

Is the link at the top of this thread the latest available (freeware) version (i.e. new fixed version)?

Cheers
Dmitry K
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2002
Location: Russia
Posted: 10th Dec 2004 23:12
Quote: "
Is the link at the top of this thread the latest available (freeware) version (i.e. new fixed version)?
"


Yes.

Specs: P4 2.4GHz, DIMM 256 266Mhz, 60GB HD 7200rpm ATA-133, GeForce 4 MX440, CD-RW+DVD, WinXP
Lampton Worm
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 11th Dec 2004 17:18
Fantastic... demo's worked a treat. Any tips on how I could apply these commands to a 'pick limb' function?
Lampton Worm
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 14th Dec 2004 00:56
p.s. any idea when the shareware version will be available?
Phaelax
DBPro Master
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Apr 2003
Location: Agartha
Posted: 14th Dec 2004 03:44
I've already got a polygon collision engine and a terrain editor that uses these commands now, very useful.

What's up with the VB SET VERTEX DATA DIFFUSE command? The colors come out all wrong.

"eureka" - Archimedes
Philip
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jun 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 02:50
I'm confused as to how the DK CONVERT 3D TO 2D Camera Number, X, Y, Z command works. How do you extract from this command the X and Y coordinates of the 2D result?

Philip

What do you mean, bears aren't supposed to wear hats and a tie? P3.2ghz / 1 gig / GeForce FX 5900 128meg / WinXP home
Dmitry K
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2002
Location: Russia
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 13:32 Edited at: 20th Dec 2004 18:49
Quote: "
I'm confused as to how the DK CONVERT 3D TO 2D Camera Number, X, Y, Z command works. How do you extract from this command the X and Y coordinates of the 2D result?
"


See help file for Camera3D commands in attachment.

Specs: P4 2.4GHz, DIMM 256 266Mhz, 60GB HD 7200rpm ATA-133, GeForce 4 MX440, CD-RW+DVD, WinXP

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Philip
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jun 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 22nd Dec 2004 07:12
Thanks Dmitry. You are a star, sir!

Philip

What do you mean, bears aren't supposed to wear hats and a tie? P3.2ghz / 1 gig / GeForce FX 5900 128meg / WinXP home
Narf The Mouse
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jul 2004
Location:
Posted: 23rd Dec 2004 10:54
Thanks.

Cheese!
Calevra
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 28th Dec 2004 02:47
hey does DK GET VERTEX POSITION Y(Object Number, Limb Number, Vertex Number)
only get the start x position?
i want to keep the x position printed of one vertex..of my animated model..
Jess T
Moderator
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Sep 2003
Location: Over There... Kablam!
Posted: 28th Dec 2004 17:33
Why don't you test it and find out?

Whip up a quick app to see what it returns while an animation is playing, and you can see if it changes.

Give it a try

Jess.


Team EOD :: Programmer/All-Round Nice Guy
Aust. Convention!
Philip
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jun 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 30th Dec 2004 19:09
@DmitryK

I'm afraid the command DK CONVERT 3D TO 2D Camera Number, X, Y, Z crashes on my computer at compile time. No error is returned. My specification of computer is below. In terms of DBPro, I'm running v5.7 with BlueIDE.

See attached for a code snippet which causes the crash. If I rem out the DK convert line it works fine.

Cheers

Philip

What do you mean, bears aren't supposed to wear hats and a tie? P3.2ghz / 1 gig / GeForce FX 5900 128meg / WinXP home
Philip
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jun 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 5th Jan 2005 05:49
DmitryK just fixed this.

Philip

What do you mean, bears aren't supposed to wear hats and a tie? P3.2ghz / 1 gig / GeForce FX 5900 128meg / WinXP home
Avan Madisen
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2002
Location: The Castle Anthrax
Posted: 30th Jan 2005 06:49
I know it's been a few weeks since anyone posted here, but I've got a problem, I've installed the plugin and it works great. But the compiler always stops on the:

dk set vertex normals

command, I tried copying and pasting the command from the text file listing all the commands but it says it couldn't understand the command.

I haven't played around with all the functions yet, but this is frustrating, since not being able to change the normals makes my intentions for mesh-deformation useless. However, I haven't played with the vertex buffer yet.

I don't suffer from insanity:

I enjoy every minute of it!
Dmitry K
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2002
Location: Russia
Posted: 30th Jan 2005 14:23
Fixed.

Specs: P4 2.4GHz, DIMM 256 266Mhz, 60GB HD 7200rpm ATA-133, GeForce 4 MX440, CD-RW+DVD, WinXP
Avan Madisen
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2002
Location: The Castle Anthrax
Posted: 31st Jan 2005 06:23 Edited at: 31st Jan 2005 06:27
No messing around then, DK?

Thanks for that.

[edit] I do have a question, is this plugin royalty free?

I don't suffer from insanity:

I enjoy every minute of it!
Avan Madisen
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2002
Location: The Castle Anthrax
Posted: 1st Feb 2005 07:01
I've found another problem, not sure what can be done about this, after modifying the vertex data of an object the bounding boxes are still the same.

Is there any way to modify the bounding data for an object?

I don't suffer from insanity:

I enjoy every minute of it!
Ekko
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Apr 2004
Location:
Posted: 1st Feb 2005 18:38 Edited at: 1st Feb 2005 18:52
What exactly does DK CALCULATE POLY NORMALS do? Just by the looks of the code, it seems to update the normals so that the model will be effected by lights correctly after a vertex position has changed. This is not happening with my models, so I guess not. Does anyone know how I can update the normals so that my models will light properly after modifing the position of vertices?

...It seems that I'm not able to to set the first parameter of the function (Object Number) as show on the cammand list above. Is this a bug?
Dmitry K
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2002
Location: Russia
Posted: 11th Feb 2005 04:08
Quote: "
What's up with the VB SET VERTEX DATA DIFFUSE command? The colors come out all wrong.
"

Fixed. See example in attachment.


Quote: "
Is there any way to modify the bounding data for an object?
"

Added two new commands DK CALCULATE OBJECT BOUNDS, DK CALCULATE LIMB BOUNDS

Quote: "
What exactly does DK CALCULATE POLY NORMALS do?
"

This command calculates the normal vector for any face given three points in clockwise order.

Quote: "
...It seems that I'm not able to to set the first parameter of the function (Object Number) as show on the cammand list above. Is this a bug?
"

Oops, my mistake. Correct syntax:
DK CALCULATE POLY NORMALS Point1 X, Point1 Y, Point1 Z, Point2 X, Point2 Y, Point2 Z, Point3 X, Point3 Y, Point3 Z

Specs: P4 2.4GHz, DIMM 256 266Mhz, 60GB HD 7200rpm ATA-133, GeForce 4 MX440, CD-RW+DVD, WinXP

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Avan Madisen
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2002
Location: The Castle Anthrax
Posted: 11th Feb 2005 07:23
Quote: "Added two new commands DK CALCULATE OBJECT BOUNDS, DK CALCULATE LIMB BOUNDS"

Thanks for that, although the truth is that's the one thing I was hoping you wouldn't do. The reason is because I'm going to be looping through every vertex in the entire object every frame, so if I knew what was needed for the object bounding data I could calculate it myself while manipulating the mesh, the program would be able to run much faster, in theory. I was thinking something along the lines of commands like:

set object bounds
set limb bounds

If you could add those two commands with some info on how to calculate the bounds myself (I'm assuming it's quite simple), I'd really appreciate it! I'm just slightly paranoid that having the plugin calculate the bounds for my after I've modified the mesh, it'd drastically reduce the number of vertices I can manipulate per frame.

Great work so far DK, this has become a must-have plugin for me!

Thanks!

PS: You may have missed my other question, is this plugin royalty free?

I don't suffer from insanity:

I enjoy every minute of it!
Baggers
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st May 2004
Location: Yonder over dem dere hills
Posted: 11th Mar 2005 04:47
Hey there, great plugin ive just started work with it and i was wondering...
As i understand it to get realistic shadows on objects you have set normal values for each vertex, and that i can use your command to find the normal of a face. Now i also hear that the normal ofa vertex has to be the average of the surrounding faces, is this correct and is there an easy way to do it, or is it just a case of sorting it in an array?
Thanks
Tartopom
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jun 2004
Location:
Posted: 4th Apr 2005 05:12
Hello,

The plugin don't works with the U5.8 patch ... I hope tou can do something

Cheers.
Duffer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: chair
Posted: 13th Apr 2005 08:58
@DmitryK,

I second that... .pls pls can you get your plugin working with u5.8 - would be invaluable....
Phaelax
DBPro Master
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Apr 2003
Location: Agartha
Posted: 13th Apr 2005 12:59
Why do you need it to work in 5.8? Vert manipulating commands were added with the patch.

PETA - People for the Eating of Tasty Animals
Jess T
Moderator
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Sep 2003
Location: Over There... Kablam!
Posted: 13th Apr 2005 19:23
...I was thinking the exact same thing


Team EOD :: Programmer/All-Round Nice Guy
Aust. Convention!
Avan Madisen
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2002
Location: The Castle Anthrax
Posted: 15th Apr 2005 07:48
The plugin has a two very useful commands:

convert 2d to 3d
convert 3d to 2d

basically, world co-ords to screen co-ords and back again.

I don't suffer from insanity - I enjoy every minute of it!
Current Projects:
Lemmings Remake & Codename: Freedom
NoteJam
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Apr 2005
Location:
Posted: 30th Apr 2005 06:36
Dmitry K
I would like you to add symetrical vertex movement if it can be done for a character? also primitives?

Be good for making crowds of persons out of just one character.


This would be good to load in a character and then use it to "manufacture characters that look sort of like it, but get changed quite a bit depending on random amoount and range set by user for x, y, z or all 3 axis by user.
Then save them back out to the drive.


Things it would be good for in primitives:
Make random planets. (maybe 4 way symetrical for this)
2 way reflected. (good for making a deformed primitive that can be used as a head, or ?)


I would like it If the user could add a ranom amount, like add rnd(20)-rnd(20) to his choice of x, y or z axis of a vertex, and also adjust the vertex that is the one that would be symetrical to this vertex, and allow the user to pick different types of symetry, like 2 way, 4 way, do we need any more?

Your english is fine.
NoteJam
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Apr 2005
Location:
Posted: 30th Apr 2005 06:42
D.K.
Guess we need 2 way horizontal and 2 way vertical and 4 way for the options on symetrical vertex movement, but any other neat effects would be fantastic.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2017-07-23 23:30:44
Your offset time is: 2017-07-23 23:30:44