Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Professional Discussion / Noob got a question what sort of game can I do with DBpro?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi all

First of all I am new to DBpro but not to DB cause I used T3GM That is based on DB engine.
My questions are:

1 Can I make a good commercial game with it?

2 When running the exe game will I still see a loading bar?

3 Can I make a menu to the game? (Options video ETC) that support latest 3D cards

4 Can you compare DBpro to other commercial engines?

5 DB was very slow how is DBpro?

6 Can I make a 3D person game with it?

Thanks all
Freddix
AGK Developer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 23rd Sep 2002 17:48
1 yes

2 no

3 yes

4 i think yes

5 DBPro is around 10x/20x faster than DB

6 yes
Pickles
Years of Service
User Offline
1. Not if your game is built around a BSP level.
2. No.
3. Yes.
4. More work then any other engine.
5. 5x faster then DB for 3D, 100x faster with 2D
6. Not at the moment. Don't be fooled by the "box" that the demo reffers to as a BSP map.

90% of the people who are on this forum are 100% biased and will always recommend DB products (Will literaly say anything for you to buy). My only advice to you is to download the demo, check it out, and then shop around. See what best suits your "complete objective" for game development and go for that. Here are a few more questions to ask yourself when deciding.

What will the development cost be?
What extra tools will I need to use this engine?
What licensing issues must be considered?