Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Product Chat / FPSC using DBPRo

Author
Message
KyroMaster
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Dec 2003
Location: Germany in good old Europ3 :)
Posted: 27th Oct 2004 01:11
Perhaps this had been answered before, but I just couldnĀ“t find it somewhere around.
How is FPSC exactly affiliated with DBPro?
Ist the editor built using DBPro technologie?Is the DBPro compiler used for creating the game executables?
PowerSoft
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 27th Oct 2004 01:13
FPSC is "made" with DBPRO and a sprinkling off C++


Create? Play? YOU Decide
ionstream
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jul 2004
Location: Overweb
Posted: 27th Oct 2004 02:34
Nifty!

This image is not visible to idiots.

Turoid
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Nov 2003
Location: The Netherlands
Posted: 27th Oct 2004 06:06
is FPSC made with DBpro ???

Do you need a complete FPS,3rdPS engine ?? Or a collision command libary?? well here it is:
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=38869&b=6&p=0
Jedive
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2003
Location: Spain
Posted: 27th Oct 2004 06:14
Quote: "is FPSC made with DBpro ???"
That's what he said, isn't it?

== Jedive ==
AthlonXP 1600+, 512MB, GeForce4200, WinXP/DX9, Mandrake 10
iBook G4 1Ghz, 256MB, Radeon9200, Mac OS X Panther
Turoid
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Nov 2003
Location: The Netherlands
Posted: 27th Oct 2004 06:39
Quote: "FPSC is "made" with DBPRO and a sprinkling off C++"


are you sure?

Do you need a complete FPS,3rdPS engine ?? Or a collision command libary?? well here it is:
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=38869&b=6&p=0
Hamish McHaggis
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2002
Location: Modgnik Detinu
Posted: 27th Oct 2004 06:40
Yes. It is. That's why everyone was saying that it'd help finding and sorting problems with DBPro.

Isn't it? Wasn't it? Marvellous!
Mnemonix
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Dec 2002
Location: Skaro
Posted: 28th Oct 2004 03:57
FPSC is made with a computer. What is a DBPRO?

...foolish people.

The 3d chat is coming...
Rights For Traffic Cones!
Kentaree
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2002
Location: Clonmel, Ireland
Posted: 28th Oct 2004 04:02
The 3D part of FPSC was made in DBPro, and the engine etc. The actual editor is made in C++, and has a DBP window docked for the drag and drop display I think.

AMD Athlon XP2800+
GeForce FX5200 128MB
1.25GB DDR 333MHz RAM
Turoid
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Nov 2003
Location: The Netherlands
Posted: 28th Oct 2004 05:44
ok

Do you need a complete FPS,3rdPS engine ?? Or a collision command libary?? well here it is:
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=38869&b=6&p=0
KyroMaster
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Dec 2003
Location: Germany in good old Europ3 :)
Posted: 29th Oct 2004 00:38
Yeah, I already thought of this
Do you mean the main editor part is coded in C++ but the embedded 3D-view is DBPro. If yes do someone knows (or has heard) how they communicate with each other.
Kentaree
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2002
Location: Clonmel, Ireland
Posted: 29th Oct 2004 00:47
I know of a way you can do this, not sure if its done this way by TGC, but hey. If you have a look at one of the new expansion packs, it includes what are called filemapping commands. What these do is take a part of memory, stores stuff in it, and makes it possible for you to reference it as a file, but because its in RAM, its very quick. It's also non-protected, so two or more apps can access the same part of memory. In this way you share the memory between the 2 apps, and pass information between the 2.

AMD Athlon XP2800+
GeForce FX5200 128MB
1.25GB DDR 333MHz RAM
Mike Johnson
TGC Developer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 29th Oct 2004 02:11
Kentaree - that's exactly how we do it with the file mapping commands .

Basically we have 2 programs - the editor interface written in C++ and the DB Pro application. When the editor is launched it runs the DB Pro application which hooks up to a window of the editor to then be displayed. The editor and DB Pro application can then send messages to each other for example the editor may notify the DB Pro application that a toolbar button has been clicked on.

The editor interface is there as a front end for the GUI because it wasn't possible to create what we wanted in DB Pro. Everything else you see has been made in DB Pro.

Mike
Shadow Angel
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Oct 2004
Location: UNKNOWN LOCATION
Posted: 30th Oct 2004 17:03
Don't worry mate! Take a look at this

http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=41852&b=21

I asked the same question!

Ali - Parabox Studios


WWW.GEOCITIES.COM/PARABOX_STUDIOS :: Current Project - Future Rebel

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-08-06 09:05:34
Your offset time is: 2020-08-06 09:05:34