Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DLL Talk / noob vb6

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
okay, http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=26828&b=1 , exeat proved we could use vb6 to make dlls and cattleruster is using vbadvanced to export dlls to, but so, when using vb6 the only problem when porting the dlls to dbp is the string type ? because it must be on a c type allowed, in cattle ruster thread he solved the problem, so i can do anything i want with a dll right ? so how do i make one that when i call a function inside it it returns a simple hardcoded string, like hello world, so i could use dbp print command to print the returned value from the dll function.

im really new to dll's stuff, and i consider myself a general noob althoug with some knwoladge ant tons of curiosity, can u poitn me out some stuff i could read about this , dedicated to noobs, and also how to solve my problem ?

sorry for bothering you guys.
CattleRustler
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd Nov 2004 22:42 Edited at: 2nd Nov 2004 22:56
when you pass a string in, you have to have the dll function looking for a Long not a string. Then you convert the string within the dll to a vbString using the vb StrConv() function. Once the string is in natve vb string form, you can do whatever you like with it within the dll as a normal vb string. Then, once you want to pass the string (or any string) back out of the dll you need to convert it using StrConv() again. I wrote 2 private functions in my dll, 1 that converts the inbound string as its passed in, and 1 that converts a string for output.