Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / A question before ordering Dark Game SDK

Author
Message
DarkBasic Pro Guy
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jun 2004
Location: Broomfield, Colorado
Posted: 10th Dec 2004 00:21
forgive me if this has or any other question has been posted twice by me I don't keep track of where I post anything. At-least we all know it's better to ask twice then never (erm not like ask a million times and flood the forums)

1) I have Visual C++ 2005 Express Edition can I use that or would you have to add support for it first?

2) Why can't I create applications? Is it just designed for games or is it something in the liscense?

3) If I got the freeware liscense or the shareware liscense is it possible to upgrade?

Thanks lots in advance

IanG
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2004
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 10th Dec 2004 00:32
if you look on the buy page there is an upgrade price for changing licenses

why can't you create apps? good question, ask rik, mike, lee or rich

Used to be Phoenix_insane registered in september 2003 despite what the date says to the left <--
PC - amd athlon 2.0ghz, 512mb, GeForce FX 5200 128mb, 200gb, xp pro sp2
DarkBasic Pro Guy
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jun 2004
Location: Broomfield, Colorado
Posted: 10th Dec 2004 07:30
ok well then I need one of them here.

David T
Retired Moderator
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: England
Posted: 11th Dec 2004 17:48
Quote: "2) Why can't I create applications? Is it just designed for games or is it something in the liscense?"


I personally don't agree with it, but it's intended to stop people creating the next DBPro in.. erm... DBPro

Get 15 new commands, all the date / time commands left out of DBPro for free!
DOWNLOAD PLUGINS HERE: http://www.davidtattersall.me.uk/ and select "DarkBasic"
DallasG
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2004
Location: Jozi SA
Posted: 12th Dec 2004 04:35
Borland has the same clause in their EULA, the only thing Delphi cant do is create a better Delphi, which is funny since Delphi is written in ... erm Delphi hehe

*AMD64 3200+* *Lanparty UT nf3 250gb* *Leadtek nVidia 6800GT* *768Mb DDR400* *Coolermaster CM Stacker*
DarkBasic Pro Guy
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jun 2004
Location: Broomfield, Colorado
Posted: 13th Dec 2004 09:10
ok that explains that but could I at least maybe make a paint program or continue my text editor with darkgamesdk if I had the commercial liscense?

Computers are stupid all they do is calculate. Your the one that makes the computer do stuff
Steve O
AGK Bronze Backer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posted: 13th Dec 2004 09:15
absolutely not, according to the EULA.

DarkBasic Pro Guy
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jun 2004
Location: Broomfield, Colorado
Posted: 13th Dec 2004 10:11
well then I am not getting Dark Game SDK but it only is a loss of like $180 no big deal for TGC.

Computers are stupid all they do is calculate. Your the one that makes the computer do stuff
Mnemonix
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Dec 2002
Location: Skaro
Posted: 13th Dec 2004 10:20
isnt DGSDK inappropriate for a text editor anyhow?

The 3d chat is coming...
Rights For Traffic Cones!
DarkBasic Pro Guy
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jun 2004
Location: Broomfield, Colorado
Posted: 13th Dec 2004 10:24
doesn't seem like it

Computers are stupid all they do is calculate. Your the one that makes the computer do stuff
Morcilla
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2002
Location: Spain
Posted: 13th Dec 2004 23:09 Edited at: 13th Dec 2004 23:15
Yes you can do a text editor or a paint program if you like.
Rich confirmed that in the License topic, posted here at the SDK forum.

Uh
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=43459&b=22

Quoted from Rich:

Quote: "Quote: "There are many kind of things we can do with the Dark Game SDK, and that aren't games, like media players, demos or even text editors! We still can do that, although they are not games."

Correct."
Steve O
AGK Bronze Backer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posted: 13th Dec 2004 23:33
hmm...ok...though according to the EULA you can't!

DarkBasic Pro Guy
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jun 2004
Location: Broomfield, Colorado
Posted: 13th Dec 2004 23:43
well cool then I will be planning on getting the shareware version soon (at least when christmas comes hopefully) I just need about couple more bucks and I will get it

cya ppl and thanks

Computers are stupid all they do is calculate. Your the one that makes the computer do stuff
Joncom2000
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 14th Dec 2004 21:33
Why would you want to write a text editor that requires DX9 to run?
That would limit your market a bit if you planned to sell it don't you think.
APEXnow
Retired Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Apr 2003
Location: On a park bench
Posted: 14th Dec 2004 22:52
Text editor is a generic term, maybe he's thinking of like a console with backdrop textures like in Quake for example, in which case the SDK is more than capable.

Paul.


Home of the Cartography Shop - DarkBASIC Professional map importer
DarkBasic Pro Guy
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jun 2004
Location: Broomfield, Colorado
Posted: 15th Dec 2004 05:30
actually what Iu have now doesn't require DX9 though but the later versioins I have planned fr release might yeah require DX9

Computers are stupid all they do is calculate. Your the one that makes the computer do stuff
Benjamin
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 15th Dec 2004 09:42
Spell. Checker.

CURRENT PROJECT: Chaos Hizzle Demo
DarkBasic Pro Guy
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jun 2004
Location: Broomfield, Colorado
Posted: 16th Dec 2004 01:36
actually what I have now doesn't require DirectX 9 though but the later versioins I have planned for release might yeah require DirectX 9

Quote: "Spell. Checker."

ok I spelled checked you happy

Computers are stupid all they do is calculate. Your the one that makes the computer do stuff
Benjamin
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 16th Dec 2004 02:19
Yeah, exstatic.

CURRENT PROJECT: Chaos Hizzle Demo
enablerbr
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jun 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 16th Dec 2004 06:38
i just found out today that the expres beta version has files missing that the other versions in beta don't. example afxres.h from win32 resourcses. i hope this won't be the case for final or i'll be looking at VS 2005 standard at retail. so for now i'll go grab vc++ 2003 standard after xmas and settle for a non-optimized compiler.
APEXnow
Retired Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Apr 2003
Location: On a park bench
Posted: 16th Dec 2004 19:01
afxres.h? This is part of the Microsoft Foundation Classses that come with the Development tools anyway, at least with Visual Studio v6. I assume .NET tools are different.

Paul.


Home of the Cartography Shop - DarkBASIC Professional map importer
enablerbr
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jun 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 16th Dec 2004 22:03
APEXnow well i got round that by instaling the windows server 2003 SDK.
i added "Microsoft SDK\include\Win64\mfc" to the includes list. yet i still feal that the express edition is a waste of time (in final version terms). so it will have to be VS 2005 standard or above in retail.
DarkBasic Pro Guy
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jun 2004
Location: Broomfield, Colorado
Posted: 17th Dec 2004 12:16
well for now I will just sit here and wait for a real answer to the res of the questions or won't respond at all then.

Computers are stupid all they do is calculate. Your the one that makes the computer do stuff
OSX Using Happy Dude
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 17th Dec 2004 16:07
Quote: "1) I have Visual C++ 2005 Express Edition can I use that or would you have to add support for it first?
"

As the release version wont be out until next year, I dont see Mike adding support until then.

Quote: "2) Why can't I create applications? Is it just designed for games or is it something in the liscense?"

Because it stops people writing SlurkBasic Ultra Professional. Its is only really for games.

Quote: "3) If I got the freeware liscense or the shareware liscense is it possible to upgrade?
"

No doubt.

Beware the cat... The alien... The heretic...
DarkBasic Pro Guy
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jun 2004
Location: Broomfield, Colorado
Posted: 18th Dec 2004 12:22
Ok cool!!! Then I will be looking forward to getting it soon!!!

Computers are stupid all they do is calculate. Your the one that makes the computer do stuff

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2023-02-05 20:01:49
Your offset time is: 2023-02-05 20:01:49