Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DLL Talk / DBP Winsock v1.5.0

Author
Message
Dave J
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Feb 2003
Location: Secret Military Pub, Down Under
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 14:41 Edited at: 20th Dec 2004 19:45
DBP Winsock v1.5.1
Finally released, after much delay (busy with exams, other projects, bugs, you know the drill). The command set is a little weak at the moment, but it currently includes:

Commands
• ws_Host Port Number, Max Connections
• ws_Connect Remote IP/Host Name, Port Number
• ws_Send Message, [ID]
• Message = ws_Receive()
• Count = ws_MessageCount()
• ws_Close
• ws_DebugOn
• ws_DebugOff

Documentation
Hopefully, they're all pretty self explanatory, but just in case they aren't, this DLL comes equipped with full Help Documents (accessed via the F1 key in the official DBP IDE) as well as the standard issue Keywords INI file.

I've also included a 'Simple Chat' sample demo, showcasing the commands of the DLL, simply load up a few versions of the EXE, Host with one, and Connect with the others to start chatting. The built-in address is '127.0.0.1' or 'localhost', so if you wish to use that app with you friends, you'll have to edit the included DBP source code.

Coming Soon...
Future versions are looking at adding additional commands such as:
• ws_SecureSend Message
• ws_SendFile Path
• Message = ws_PeekReceieve()
• ws_Disconnect ID
• ID = ws_GetID()
• Count = ws_NumConnected()
• ws_SetMaxConnections
• IP = ws_GetLocalIP()
• Address = ws_GetLocalHost()

Currently, you can expect v1.7 to include the more basic commands seen above (things like GetIP(), Disconnect, NumConnected(), etc.), whilst the more extensive commands like SecureSend, probably won't be available until v2.0 - None of this is set in stone, depends how many bugs I encounter.

Misc Info
On a side note, I'd say this DLL is a fairly sweet piece of coding, probably my cleanest slice of C++ work so far, with absolutely no work-arounds or hacks at all. Additionally, there's very little repeated code and it should all be very optimal, however, I don't guarantee that there won't be bugs (I haven't tested sending very large amounts of data yet), so if you encounter any, please let me know. Unfortunately, contrary to what I previously said, the source code will not be available, but I guarantee you, that this DLL will remain free and will never cost you a dime.

Having said that, I'd recommend CattleRustler's server program for handling the server side of all your games and applications. It looks to be incredibly useful and will save you a lot of work, you can find it here: http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=44187&b=5

Download & Contact
Download: http://ep.designex.net/Files/DBPW151.zip
Contact me via my email address (found below this post) for Support, Suggestions, Feedback, etc.

Oh, and as usual, enjoy!


"Computers are useless - They can only give you answers."
darkdomy
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Apr 2003
Location: Italy
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 16:47
hello Exeat

no easy samples.


help connect the smpt server
recive string

the final relese a open surce ?



help no recive string

help comunicate a smpt server whith DBP Winsock v1.5.0

telnet mail.iol.it 25

tanks, attend news

Anxiously awaiting BlueGUI v2

it informs to me when and ended BlueGUI v2
Dave J
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Feb 2003
Location: Secret Military Pub, Down Under
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 17:01
You'll have to be familiar with your SMTP servers protocal, it's likely that you'll have to send a message to it first, before receiving a response. Apart from that, you should probably change your code to:



I've just tested that message myself, and I'm receiving the following message from your SMTP server:

"220 smtp.libero.it ESMTP Service (7.0.027-DD01) readyll"

I assume this is just a confirmation message that's telling me that I've connected to the server. Now I'd have to use ws_Send to send a message to the server to retrieve mail, etc. To find out what message to send, use Google to search the net and look for the protocal the server uses.

Good Luck!


"Computers are useless - They can only give you answers."
darkdomy
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Apr 2003
Location: Italy
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 17:15
hello Exeat
tanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!! very tanks!!!!!!!!!! Exeat

post in others forum.

yours plug-in I insert it in the forum of the dbpro in Italy, granzia still. they are truly content, I take it like Christmas present them.

tanks!!!!!!!

hello Exeat

Anxiously awaiting BlueGUI v2

it informs to me when and ended BlueGUI v2
IanG
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2004
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 18:44 Edited at: 20th Dec 2004 19:05
the demo crashes here - do you need to update anything to work?

im using dbpro 5.7, the app will crash (and bring up the report to ms window) if the disable escape key is left in, if you get rid of that then it will bring up a dialogue box which says

failed to load dll (2: DBPWinsock.dll)

Used to be Phoenix_insane registered in september 2003 despite what the date says to the left <--
PC - amd athlon 2.0ghz, 512mb, GeForce FX 5200 128mb, 200gb, xp pro sp2
Dave J
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Feb 2003
Location: Secret Military Pub, Down Under
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 19:16
Quote: "tanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!! very tanks!!!!!!!!!! Exeat "


No problem, if you have any more questions, feel free to ask.


Quote: "im using dbpro 5.7, the app will crash (and bring up the report to ms window) if the disable escape key is left in, if you get rid of that then it will bring up a dialogue box which says"


I'm using 5.7 as well, and as far as I know, there shouldn't be a problem. What version of Windows are you running? Also, what happens if you start a new project and just use one command from the library (e.g. ws_Host 300, 10)?


"Computers are useless - They can only give you answers."
IanG
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2004
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 19:18
Quote: "PC - amd athlon 2.0ghz, 512mb, GeForce FX 5200 128mb, 200gb, xp pro sp2"
- from signiture

ill try a single command

Used to be Phoenix_insane registered in september 2003 despite what the date says to the left <--
PC - amd athlon 2.0ghz, 512mb, GeForce FX 5200 128mb, 200gb, xp pro sp2
IanG
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2004
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 19:19
single command


errors saying that failed to load dll (1: DBPWinsock.dll)

Used to be Phoenix_insane registered in september 2003 despite what the date says to the left <--
PC - amd athlon 2.0ghz, 512mb, GeForce FX 5200 128mb, 200gb, xp pro sp2
Dave J
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Feb 2003
Location: Secret Military Pub, Down Under
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 19:21 Edited at: 20th Dec 2004 19:22
Oh sorry, didn't even notice your signature.

Ok, try this command instead: ws_EasterEgg - hopefully this will give us an indication of whether it's something to do with Winsock or the constructor.


"Computers are useless - They can only give you answers."
IanG
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2004
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 19:27
still comes up as failing to load the dll, it looks like it might be that i have an older version of winsock or the constructor is causing it to crash

Used to be Phoenix_insane registered in september 2003 despite what the date says to the left <--
PC - amd athlon 2.0ghz, 512mb, GeForce FX 5200 128mb, 200gb, xp pro sp2
Dave J
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Feb 2003
Location: Secret Military Pub, Down Under
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 19:31
Winsock 2.0 comes standard with Win 98 through to WinXP, I'll have a look at all my function/class declarations to see if there's something odd. It would be a lot easier if I could just test it on this computer though.


"Computers are useless - They can only give you answers."
darkdomy
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Apr 2003
Location: Italy
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 19:39
hello

yes error in dbpro ok , in separate exe faild load error

yes error load dll, error massage:failed to load dll (1: DBPWinsock.dll)

download file to test error
in dbpro ok , exe failed to load dll (1: DBPWinsock.dll)

and plese post samples.



Anxiously awaiting BlueGUI v2

it informs to me when and ended BlueGUI v2

Attachments

Login to view attachments
IanG
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2004
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 19:41
@exeat: would having sp2 or the .net framework do this

Used to be Phoenix_insane registered in september 2003 despite what the date says to the left <--
PC - amd athlon 2.0ghz, 512mb, GeForce FX 5200 128mb, 200gb, xp pro sp2
darkdomy
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Apr 2003
Location: Italy
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 19:45
helo

error

windows pro sp1 , p4 2600ghz , gforce fx 5200le

plese test in a win98se or in a windows sp1.

hello ,attend news

Anxiously awaiting BlueGUI v2

it informs to me when and ended BlueGUI v2
Dave J
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Feb 2003
Location: Secret Military Pub, Down Under
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 19:48
Nope, I have both SP2 and the .NET Framework, although, neither should be having any impact on this DLL. Try this DLL:

http://ep.designex.net/Files/DBPWinsock.dll

I'm pretty sure I know what the problem is, but I'm not sure if that will fix it.


"Computers are useless - They can only give you answers."
darkdomy
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Apr 2003
Location: Italy
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 19:51
hello IanG Surreal Studio

error in a c++ surce.

I am shaped with: windows/pro/sp1 in dbpro compiled ok exe error load DLL test open dbpro in start/program clik dbp pastes surce and ok. exe error.

Anxiously awaiting BlueGUI v2

it informs to me when and ended BlueGUI v2
Dave J
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Feb 2003
Location: Secret Military Pub, Down Under
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 19:57
darkdomy, did you test the new DLL?


"Computers are useless - They can only give you answers."
darkdomy
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Apr 2003
Location: Italy
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 19:59
hello

new dll.no fix error.



test , errer.

my system:

windows pro sp1
no rutine.

in dbpro ok.
exe error.
hello.
attend news

Anxiously awaiting BlueGUI v2

it informs to me when and ended BlueGUI v2
IanG
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2004
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 20:04
still failing

Used to be Phoenix_insane registered in september 2003 despite what the date says to the left <--
PC - amd athlon 2.0ghz, 512mb, GeForce FX 5200 128mb, 200gb, xp pro sp2
Dave J
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Feb 2003
Location: Secret Military Pub, Down Under
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 20:06
Ok, if this next one doesn't work, I'm going to have to think of something else...

Try this version:
http://ep.designex.net/Files/DBPWinsock.dll


"Computers are useless - They can only give you answers."
IanG
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2004
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 20:09
same error

Used to be Phoenix_insane registered in september 2003 despite what the date says to the left <--
PC - amd athlon 2.0ghz, 512mb, GeForce FX 5200 128mb, 200gb, xp pro sp2
darkdomy
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Apr 2003
Location: Italy
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 20:13
dll 1 2 3 in dbp compiled ok
exe error failed to load dll (1: DBPWinsock.dll)

yes new 3 dll, same error

Anxiously awaiting BlueGUI v2

it informs to me when and ended BlueGUI v2
darkdomy
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Apr 2003
Location: Italy
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 20:18
language use ?

c, c++ or vb ?

I collaborate if hand serves one. the plug-in open surce. the errors therefore fix error more fastly and the plug in upgrada better.
attend news

Anxiously awaiting BlueGUI v2

it informs to me when and ended BlueGUI v2
IanG
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2004
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 20:21
what version of c/c++ are you using? i've got visual studio.net 2003 and version 6 if you want me to compile it here

Used to be Phoenix_insane registered in september 2003 despite what the date says to the left <--
PC - amd athlon 2.0ghz, 512mb, GeForce FX 5200 128mb, 200gb, xp pro sp2
Dave J
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Feb 2003
Location: Secret Military Pub, Down Under
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 20:21 Edited at: 20th Dec 2004 20:26
How Odd.

Ok, I've just started commenting out code now to pin-point the problem.

Hmm... by commenting out code, I'm now getting the same error. o_O

http://ep.designex.net/Files/DBPWinsock.dll

Just realised I was making the same mistake elsewhere in the DLL, this one should work.

I'm using VC++ 6.0, I think I know the problem though.


"Computers are useless - They can only give you answers."
IanG
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2004
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 20:37
still the same error

what do you think the problem is

Used to be Phoenix_insane registered in september 2003 despite what the date says to the left <--
PC - amd athlon 2.0ghz, 512mb, GeForce FX 5200 128mb, 200gb, xp pro sp2
Dave J
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Feb 2003
Location: Secret Military Pub, Down Under
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 20:40
I'm using a linked list to create a dynamic array for Receieved Messages and connected clients, the class has pointers to the next and previous items in the list. The DLL initialises an instance of the linked list upon loading and the constructor for that list creates the root node and assigns the 'Previous' and 'Next' pointers to NULL or 0, unfortunately, you can't really set a memory address to nothing so this is probably what's causing the problems. However, somehow I need to keep the pointers but not set them to anything.


"Computers are useless - They can only give you answers."
darkdomy
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Apr 2003
Location: Italy
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 20:42
hello

new dll 4 == error dbpro compiled ok , exe error



this prg + exe error + new 4 dll.
dxdiag:


plese resolve test in a other system type win98se
o in other compiuter.

use partizion magic, and create 2 windows system.

1 you system

2 system winxpsp1 and dbpro to test dll.

or send via email the surce.
verify problem.

hello , attend news.

my sistem hd 4 windows xp bot 1 or 2 3 ..ecc..
very good mode.

Anxiously awaiting BlueGUI v2

it informs to me when and ended BlueGUI v2

Attachments

Login to view attachments
IanG
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2004
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 20:54
@exeat why don't you set them to a int which has the value of -1 then check whether it is set to -1 if it is then it is re-assigned before the memory op

Used to be Phoenix_insane registered in september 2003 despite what the date says to the left <--
PC - amd athlon 2.0ghz, 512mb, GeForce FX 5200 128mb, 200gb, xp pro sp2
Dave J
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Feb 2003
Location: Secret Military Pub, Down Under
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 21:14
They're pointing to a class I created, so I can't set them to int's because they're expecting a different memory size. Don't worry, I'll think of something. It's past midnight now, so I'm going to have to get some sleep and figure it all out tomorrow.


"Computers are useless - They can only give you answers."
IanG
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2004
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 21:17
past midnight? - where are you then, its only 20 past 1 here

Used to be Phoenix_insane registered in september 2003 despite what the date says to the left <--
PC - amd athlon 2.0ghz, 512mb, GeForce FX 5200 128mb, 200gb, xp pro sp2
CattleRustler
Retired Moderator
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Aug 2003
Location: case modding at overclock.net
Posted: 21st Dec 2004 02:54
hes in Australia

IanG
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2004
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 21st Dec 2004 03:18
ahhh - makes sense

Used to be Phoenix_insane registered in september 2003 despite what the date says to the left <--
PC - amd athlon 2.0ghz, 512mb, GeForce FX 5200 128mb, 200gb, xp pro sp2
Philip 1337
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 23rd Dec 2004 00:09
Exeat
Thank you very much for this DLL.
Its just what I need.

Three Score
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jun 2004
Location: behind you
Posted: 24th Dec 2004 06:48
ik havign the same problem everyone else is having
um if ti says it failed to load the dll then doesnt that mean rather a compile error or soemhtign cause i think (nto sure just from memory) it would say somehting else if the dll made an error

come to my forums http://hck83.darktech.info/forum/ formerly: 404 name not found
"others understand me but i dont understand my own thoughts"
darkdomy
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Apr 2003
Location: Italy
Posted: 24th Dec 2004 06:52
helo all

new dll ?

day ?

info ?

error
hello all,attend news

Anxiously awaiting BlueGUI v2

it informs to me when and ended BlueGUI v2
Dave J
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Feb 2003
Location: Secret Military Pub, Down Under
Posted: 24th Dec 2004 07:26
Sorry, still trying to fix the problem. Hopefully I should get it working tonight.


"Computers are useless - They can only give you answers."
Three Score
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jun 2004
Location: behind you
Posted: 24th Dec 2004 07:29
yea that would be very good
i really dont want to face the fact i will have to rather pay or write my own winsock dll soon cause of a failry big project

come to my forums http://hck83.darktech.info/forum/ formerly: 404 name not found
"others understand me but i dont understand my own thoughts"
darkdomy
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Apr 2003
Location: Italy
Posted: 24th Dec 2004 20:05 Edited at: 24th Dec 2004 20:06
hello

dll news ?

download new dll ?

plese send via e-mail the c++ file.

or post the surce.

eng google
your plan you could render it open surce, cosi the problems and the modernizations could be more expresses. why it you do not want to render open surce your DLL?
italy version
il tuo progetto lo potresti rendere open surce, cosi i problemi e gli aggiornamenti potranno essere più rapidi. perchè non lo vuoi rendere open surce la tua dll ?

hello,attend news

Anxiously awaiting BlueGUI v2

it informs to me when and ended BlueGUI v2
Dave J
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Feb 2003
Location: Secret Military Pub, Down Under
Posted: 24th Dec 2004 20:53
I don't want to make it open source because then I'll be receiving lots of questions about the code and how it works, I also don't want people seeing my messy comments.


"Computers are useless, they can only give you christmasy answers."
darkdomy
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Apr 2003
Location: Italy
Posted: 24th Dec 2004 21:08
hello Merry Exmas

and then plug-in without errors that go ok when he is available?

download new version dll fix error ?


hello Merry Exmas.

Anxiously awaiting BlueGUI v2

it informs to me when and ended BlueGUI v2
DarkSin
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jul 2003
Location: Under your bed
Posted: 25th Dec 2004 17:05
Very cool dll Nice work Exeat.


darkdomy
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Apr 2003
Location: Italy
Posted: 28th Dec 2004 01:06
hello Exmas

resolve problem ?

there are innovation?

this plug-in of the winsock serves to me.

tcp/ip plug-in?

plug-in when you end it?

Anxiously awaiting BlueGUI v2

it informs to me when and ended BlueGUI v2
CattleRustler
Retired Moderator
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Aug 2003
Location: case modding at overclock.net
Posted: 28th Dec 2004 03:25
dude, exeat will post when he has something new to add.

Dave J
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Feb 2003
Location: Secret Military Pub, Down Under
Posted: 29th Dec 2004 09:54
Thanks CR.

darkdomy, sorry, my computer isn't working at the moment so I haven't had time to fix the DLL.


"Computers are useless, they can only give you christmasy answers."
CattleRustler
Retired Moderator
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Aug 2003
Location: case modding at overclock.net
Posted: 29th Dec 2004 12:14
np - I have sent you an email regarding something you might want to add into this plugin.

Zero Blitzt
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2004
Location: Different Stages
Posted: 6th Jan 2005 10:24 Edited at: 6th Jan 2005 10:33
Hey everyone,

I've taken the time to make some new HTML pages, and edit some old ones so Exeat's help pages can be viewed directly in the DBP help browser.

Just download the attached file and follow the instructions in README.txt, and you'll be able to view Exeat's help files from the "Command Menu" in the DBP help browser.


"And C++ has 2 version Microsoft visual C++ and Bordland C++."

Attachments

Login to view attachments
darkdomy
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Apr 2003
Location: Italy
Posted: 16th Jan 2005 18:10 Edited at: 1st Feb 2005 22:34
hello

new version ? fix bag ?


Help Fix Bag

Day ?


hello , attend news

Anxiously awaiting BlueGUI v2

it informs to me when and ended BlueGUI v2
blanky
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Aug 2004
Location: ./
Posted: 16th Jan 2005 20:38
Darkdomy - WAIT.

As soon as stuff is fixed, the new plugin will be uploaded. Begging is just going to get people annoyed with you.

Avatar - white cat in a snowstorm. Look closely.
Three Score
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jun 2004
Location: behind you
Posted: 11th Feb 2005 09:22
lol
hmm wonder why it isnt working
not sure exactyl what i am talkign about here but here is a concept
set the pointers to something like if it is expecting a hex memory value then use an empty area of memory or create a blank class and point it to that

like i said i lack c++ knowledge and no nothgin on classes so maybe it gave u an idea and probbaly not

my avatar is working for the first time since free-space went down
http://hck83.tophernet.net (things are startign to look up)

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-04-18 04:21:18
Your offset time is: 2024-04-18 04:21:18