Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Product Chat / Got a few more questions about FPSC.

Author
Message
Game Freak10K
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Apr 2004
Location:
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 16:31
1. When I start up my game is it possible to have a small video clip play? The video clip would be for a logo, or the intro to the game.

2. Will there be a generic loading screen provided or can i make my own custom loading screen?

3. Someone asked about cutscenes. Now I know you cant make them in the FPSC, but if I made a cutscene and recorded it as a video file in some other program, could I play that in between a level?

4. Can models interact with surroundings? (Fire burns enemy, piston kills enemy, etc etc)...Im guessing the scripting system would allow that, but id like an official statement. (*if thats not too much trouble )

Comics and Games-Bread and Butter.
David T
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: England
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 17:52
Quote: "1. When I start up my game is it possible to have a small video clip play? The video clip would be for a logo, or the intro to the game."


You can definately customise sreens that appear - I don't know to what detail.

Quote: "2. Will there be a generic loading screen provided or can i make my own custom loading screen?"


I think it'll be possible to make your own.

Quote: "3. Someone asked about cutscenes. Now I know you cant make them in the FPSC, but if I made a cutscene and recorded it as a video file in some other program, could I play that in between a level?"


Same as bove - there's limited scope for scripting that sort of thing. I seem to remember somebody saying FMV wasn't supported though.

Quote: "4. Can models interact with surroundings? (Fire burns enemy, piston kills enemy, etc etc)...Im guessing the scripting system would allow that, but id like an official statement. (*if thats not too much trouble )"


You could create a kill zone where the fire is, that'd harm the player. And you couold attah a simple script to the fire working out the distance between it and an enemy and if so the hurt them.

Get 15 new commands, all the date / time commands left out of DBPro for free!
DOWNLOAD PLUGINS HERE: http://www.davidtattersall.me.uk/ and select "DarkBasic"
OSX Using Happy Dude
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 18:31
You could always chain executables...

Beware the cat... The alien... The heretic...
Cloud of Crows Studios
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 20th Dec 2004 23:47
Quote: "You could always chain executables..."


A viable option, but only if the chaining will pass variables.

For example say I end level 1 with 80% health, a shotgun with 7 shells, and an assualt rifle with 42 rounds... now after the cutscene plays and the next level loads will I still have these or will everything have to be reset to default (say 100% health and a pistol with unlimited ammo)

Of course I realize you can specify the start weapon(s) for a level, but thats not really the same thing.

In some cases it would be valid to "Refresh" a character after a cutscene... this happens quite often in the game Halo, but it's not always what the designer intended.
Game Freak10K
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Apr 2004
Location:
Posted: 21st Dec 2004 10:25
Thanks y'all!
PogoPogo youve posed an interesting question, ill elaborate:
Is it possible to control how much health and weapons the player has when switching between levels?

Just one more question (I dont mean to pester):
Its been said that scripts control everything....so that means I can have a medic hidden in a level somewhere, and when I find him hell give me a health boost (say Im below 50%) and hell talk and stuff when I press 'ENTER' near him? Or have a soldier hand me some ammo, or armor? (That would be AWESOME!!!)

Again thanks for the answers. (Now ive got even more work to do!)

Comics and Games-Bread and Butter.
Noah
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 21st Dec 2004 21:36
You could probably do that. How hard it would be, I don't know.
Coldnews
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2004
Location: Liverpool
Posted: 21st Dec 2004 21:37
Quote: "Its been said that scripts control everything....so that means I can have a medic hidden in a level somewhere, and when I find him hell give me a health boost (say Im below 50%) and hell talk and stuff when I press 'ENTER' near him? Or have a soldier hand me some ammo, or armor? (That would be AWESOME!!!)
"

Yeah that should be possible. It seems like the scripting language is really flexible.

-------------------------------------
www.ColdNews.co.uk - the worlds first solo band.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-02-28 02:30:31
Your offset time is: 2024-02-28 02:30:31