Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Product Chat / Update on release...

Author
Message
RickV
TGC Development Director
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Apr 2000
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 12th Jan 2005 00:30
Hi, and Happy New Year to you all. It has taken us a while to get back up to speed after the Christmas break.

We found that there was still many things that had not been completed on FPSC and so that\\\'s what was being done during the 1st week back.

We are now very much bug fixing and making small minor tweaks.

I am completing the user guide which is helping to ensure all i\\\'s are dotted and all t\\\'s are crossed. Lee and Mike hack at away at any bugs found (mainly there are for Lee to fix)

We will have a better idea of how we are progressing by early next week. As I said before it depends on what we find during the testing phase.

If any Beta testers are out there reading this, I don\\\'t mind you posting images of levels you are making to show the community. Talking up the project makese a lot of sense now.

Regards,

Rick

Commercial Director
TGC Team
[Read "The POWER of NOW by Eckhart Tolle". There is no past or future, only NOW!]
SkyCubes
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2004
Location: Vancouver, Washington
Posted: 12th Jan 2005 00:35
Thanks for the update, Rick.
Noldor
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 12th Jan 2005 01:40
Yea GIANT thanks. Feels better now that
we have some signs of life.

And do you hear that beta testers..
Plz post pictures.
Pictures of your more advanced architecture would be
interesting to see. Or generaly ANY picture of
levels in progress.
Or anything for that mather.. Now that you
got the green light i expect more pictures.
uman
Retired Moderator
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Oct 2004
Location: UK
Posted: 12th Jan 2005 01:48
Thanks very much for the update Rick. This is much appreciated by all I am sure. Very nice to hear from you.

I should like to take this opportunity to thank all the team and everyone else involved in working so hard towards getting the release out. Thanks too, to all the members here whos ideas, suggestions for things to do with FPSC and general comments will help build a database of thoughts and knowledge. Keep em coming and lets know what everyones doing when youre working away with FPSC.

On another positive note I look forward very much to using FPSC. In particular I look forward to the enhanced productivity the ease of use will provide and also the inbuilt level of AI which together will go a long way to help ensure that we see some good games made with FPSC coming along in the not too distant future.

Thanks again for the update.
jasuk70
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Dec 2002
Location: Hemel Hempstead
Posted: 12th Jan 2005 04:14
Here is a level that I'm working on. Experementing with lighting at the moment.



Attached is a full size screen shot.

Jas

----
"What is this talk of 'release'? Klingons do not'release' software. It escapes leaving a bloody trail of developers and quality assurance people in its wake!"

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Chimera
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Dec 2004
Location: Belgium
Posted: 12th Jan 2005 04:18
OH MY GOD... finally screens. Yeah, keep them coming

Don't eat yellow snow!
Mike Johnson
TGC Developer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 12th Jan 2005 04:47 Edited at: 12th Jan 2005 05:13
Screenshots from a map I have been making



Attachments

Login to view attachments
Mnemonix
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Dec 2002
Location: Skaro
Posted: 12th Jan 2005 04:47
Is that wolfenstein?

The 3d chat is coming...
Rights For Traffic Cones!
CPU
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jul 2003
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posted: 12th Jan 2005 05:28 Edited at: 12th Jan 2005 05:29
*faints* LOOKS AWESOME!
But what kind of frame rate are you guy's getting on those levels?

[center]K-OS Battlefields
IS
///---///---///---UNDER CONSTRUCTION---\\\---\\\---\\\
[center]
Noldor
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 12th Jan 2005 06:11
Thanks for the pics
Looks great.
Eric T
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Apr 2003
Location: My location is where I am at this time.
Posted: 12th Jan 2005 07:27 Edited at: 12th Jan 2005 07:29
Heres a room in map I started a few minutes ago actually. Its quite simple to create maps in the matter of minutes that have a mood. I was quite suprised.



(no light mapping on it yet... I'll probably make it dark though)

BTW the specs i am running on are:

AMD 64 3200+
1gb mem
Radeon 9600xt 128mb

As i said, i am quite suprised at the quality of the maps that pop outta this baby.

Eric

Edit (BTW, the blood and bullet holes on the wall are from an enemy i shot down in the process of taking the screenshot)

<Mouse> lag, d'you like "real" RPGs? : <drac_work> ... : <drac_work> isnt that an oxymoron : * Mouse slaps drac_work :
<Mouse> don't contradict me bitch

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Noldor
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 12th Jan 2005 07:56
Realy nice Eric and here we even get to see one of the guns.
I am impressed to.
Noah
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 12th Jan 2005 08:36
Which gun is that?
MaddA ChieF
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2004
Location: Cen*Cal
Posted: 12th Jan 2005 09:59
SHOOT !!!!!!!! Dang ! THANK YOU for the pics!! Very nice levels. pretty detailed. love the blood effects ... nice and realistic. How did you get to test FPSC? justawondering

www.geocities.com/vgamestuff
Noldor
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 12th Jan 2005 10:42
Yea i think were all wondering how you got to do that that.
uman
Retired Moderator
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Oct 2004
Location: UK
Posted: 12th Jan 2005 10:49
Yes thanks for the shots. Its really interesting to see as always what can be done while the mind ponders what we will do ourselves when we get it.

These shots tend to inspire ideas in others of course...so they can get that graph paper out in readiness.

We can see the FPS here - is there a FPS max ceiling being used?

Thanks again.
Red Ocktober
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Dec 2003
Location:
Posted: 12th Jan 2005 11:38
me too... THANKS for the previews...

--Mike
Coldnews
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2004
Location: Liverpool
Posted: 12th Jan 2005 11:41
HAH! these shots are great. And these guys sure know when to throw the dog a bone! hehe! Great to hear from you rick! Thanks for keeping us in the know and thanks to the beta testers for the lovely screenies. Keep em coming...

-------------------------------------
www.ColdNews.co.uk - the worlds first solo band.
LoneWolf 3D
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2004
Location: Coleman Michigan - USA
Posted: 12th Jan 2005 13:28
Hey, count me in also on the big thanks for the previews....these pictures were great!!!!!

--Don

Don
Dave J
Retired Moderator
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Feb 2003
Location: Secret Military Pub, Down Under
Posted: 12th Jan 2005 13:40
I should probably sticky this...


"Computers are useless, they can only give you answers."
Noah
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 14th Jan 2005 07:02
I was looking at the pics, and I'm wondering what those yellow letter/numbers are on the bottom. I assume they're just for testing purposes to show what's going on, but I'm really not sure. Does anyone, especially beta testers, know what they are?
Dave J
Retired Moderator
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Feb 2003
Location: Secret Military Pub, Down Under
Posted: 14th Jan 2005 11:48
Some WWII shots of my own:


Ack!


Now, with a gun.


Ouch...


Splat!


Going, going, gone.

I've been messing with the FPSC scripting to try and get a fire effect with the lighting but ran into a bug that stopped it working. I'll record a video of it working (if it works ) when we get the next beta.


"Computers are useless, they can only give you answers."
MaddA ChieF
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2004
Location: Cen*Cal
Posted: 14th Jan 2005 12:22
Good pics. Love to see a video!!!

www.geocities.com/vgamestuff
Coldnews
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2004
Location: Liverpool
Posted: 14th Jan 2005 20:11
yeah, looks absolutely fanstic! thanks

-------------------------------------
www.ColdNews.co.uk - the worlds first solo band.
Dave J
Retired Moderator
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Feb 2003
Location: Secret Military Pub, Down Under
Posted: 14th Jan 2005 21:50
Unfortunately trying to record the screen while playing the game causes it to go all jumpy so no video just yet, need to find a better way to do it first.


"Computers are useless, they can only give you answers."
OSX Using Happy Dude
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 14th Jan 2005 23:15
Rather dark pictures...

Visit http://homepages.nildram.co.uk/~nickk/
I have no signature.
Chimera
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Dec 2004
Location: Belgium
Posted: 14th Jan 2005 23:59
Yeah I noticed that 2, for the first time in my life I had to adjust the brightness of my screen...

Don't eat yellow snow!
jasuk70
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Dec 2002
Location: Hemel Hempstead
Posted: 15th Jan 2005 00:04
The brightness of the screen shots we've posted seem dark, but they are brighter when you are playing the level.

Jas

----
"What is this talk of 'release'? Klingons do not'release' software. It escapes leaving a bloody trail of developers and quality assurance people in its wake!"
SoulMan
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Nov 2002
Location: In a house somewhere on the planet earth
Posted: 15th Jan 2005 01:31
Try saving the picture from this forum to your hard drive and open it up in another editor or so.
I think it has something to do with the way the web is being rendered. I didn't have this problem at home.
SoulMan

This is as backwards as is This
Eric T
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Apr 2003
Location: My location is where I am at this time.
Posted: 15th Jan 2005 04:46
I thought my screen was rather bright... too bright

<Mouse> lag, d'you like "real" RPGs? : <drac_work> ... : <drac_work> isnt that an oxymoron : * Mouse slaps drac_work :
<Mouse> don't contradict me bitch
Coldnews
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2004
Location: Liverpool
Posted: 15th Jan 2005 06:31
fine on my screen. Dell laptop screen: "not too dark, not too bright" (tm)


-------------------------------------
www.ColdNews.co.uk - the worlds first solo band.
Dave J
Retired Moderator
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Feb 2003
Location: Secret Military Pub, Down Under
Posted: 15th Jan 2005 06:33
It's probably also because they've been resized and compressed as a JPEG.


"Computers are useless, they can only give you answers."
hackinc 2000
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Dec 2004
Location: Puerto Rico
Posted: 16th Jan 2005 06:21
I wanna see some if some one could, some pics of the editor in action!
Noldor
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 17th Jan 2005 05:38
Then i wanna see the "Segment Editor" or the "Entity Editor"
Dr Who
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th May 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN. USA.
Posted: 18th Jan 2005 03:44 Edited at: 18th Jan 2005 03:46
Hmmmm...

Rick V, How does one become a beta-tester for FPS Creator?!?
I would love to beta-test your product if you have room for another tester. I've beta-tested many products before. Please let me know via email if you can fit me in or not..

Email: doctorwho_3dgx@yahoo.com

Thank's alot!



Best Regards,

DoctorWho...
Noah
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 18th Jan 2005 03:46
Testers by invite only. We all want to be one.

Huked on foniks wurked fer mee!
Dr Who
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th May 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN. USA.
Posted: 18th Jan 2005 03:49
Well maybe I might get an invite huh?

Best Regards,

DoctorWho...
Chimera the 2nd
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 18th Jan 2005 03:55
I guess it's too late to be picked cos FPSC is almost ready.
Coldnews
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2004
Location: Liverpool
Posted: 18th Jan 2005 23:40
the EA is. And i think that "by invite only" means that you have to be a close friend/qualified/trusted tester. Not just "yeah, we'll invite the people who ask..."

-------------------------------------
www.ColdNews.co.uk - the worlds first solo band.
Noldor
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 19th Jan 2005 03:32
Yea listen to "Coldnews" if it just was a matter
of asking, then ALL of us would be testing it.
Coldnews
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2004
Location: Liverpool
Posted: 19th Jan 2005 04:40
yeah, everyone. Listen to me.

-------------------------------------
www.ColdNews.co.uk - the worlds first solo band.
6r1m r34p0r
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th May 2004
Location:
Posted: 19th Jan 2005 05:08 Edited at: 19th Jan 2005 05:09
Well, i mean I beta tested The Specialists, AHL, and a Sci Fi mod that was ditched and I wouldn't have a better chance then you. Also, i'm waiting for the beta for SWAT because i'm a beta tester. The only real way to get in testing without the things mentioned is to pay them to just kidding.

...perfecting my reality...
Noldor
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 19th Jan 2005 06:20
Well that is irrelevant.
If you check the Newsletter FPSC has been in
development since atleast "February 2004" and
is close to being finished. They allready have
a full team of beta testers since the start of
the project. What im saying is that its probably
not a queastion of experience its a question of
TIME. Basicly we are all to late to even have a
chanse to become beta testers.
Coldnews
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2004
Location: Liverpool
Posted: 19th Jan 2005 19:14 Edited at: 19th Jan 2005 19:15
But I think that anyone who gets the EA version will technically be classed as a tester because its not V1. So we'll all be able to bombard them with horrible horrible emails saying how "stupid" they are and how "the *insert REALLY important feature here* doesnt work up to *insert amazing new game here*'s standards and how we need to have ULTRA SUPER UBER *insert graphic feature here* otherwise it wont be anywhere as near as good as Half Life 2".
what was I talking about? Oh yeah, doesnt matter how much experience you have, if you want to be a beta tester for TGC chances are that a) you wont get paid and b) its probably not the most professional thing to ask on the forums hoping that the Head Developer sees it.

-------------------------------------
www.ColdNews.co.uk - the worlds first solo band.
Plazmeh
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 20th Jan 2005 21:06
Quote: "But I think that anyone who gets the EA version will technically be classed as a tester because its not V1. So we'll all be able to bombard them with horrible horrible emails saying how "stupid" they are and how "the *insert REALLY important feature here* doesnt work up to *insert amazing new game here*'s standards and how we need to have ULTRA SUPER UBER *insert graphic feature here* otherwise it wont be anywhere as near as good as Half Life 2".
what was I talking about? Oh yeah, doesnt matter how much experience you have, if you want to be a beta tester for TGC chances are that a) you wont get paid and b) its probably not the most professional thing to ask on the forums hoping that the Head Developer sees it."


I agree, and what does EA stand for and is that the one costing 50 bucks?

Coldnews
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2004
Location: Liverpool
Posted: 20th Jan 2005 21:27
EA = early adopter.
the version before Version 1. Yes the onle that should be 50 "bucks"

-------------------------------------
www.ColdNews.co.uk - the worlds first solo band.
Dr Who
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th May 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN. USA.
Posted: 21st Jan 2005 04:05 Edited at: 21st Jan 2005 04:26
[/b]Oh ok! I see... You have to be a special person in order to beta test thier software! I see how it goes now... I guess the other question would be "How does one become a Special Person" in order to beta test thier future products? I haven't seen any FAQ or descriptions anywhere explaining how one can qualify to be a beta tester?!? Any clue's from [b]TGC[b] on this question???

Best Regards,

DoctorWho...
Coldnews
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2004
Location: Liverpool
Posted: 21st Jan 2005 04:18
You're born special.

-------------------------------------
www.ColdNews.co.uk - the worlds first solo band.
Dr Who
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th May 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN. USA.
Posted: 21st Jan 2005 04:23 Edited at: 21st Jan 2005 04:25
Awwwhh.. Thank's for the complement Coldnews...
I didn't know you cared?!?

Best Regards,

DoctorWho...
Noldor
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 21st Jan 2005 07:56
"Dr Who" look at my last post.
(You can not become THAT special person)

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-09-22 02:56:39
Your offset time is: 2020-09-22 02:56:39