Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Product Chat / Are any of these possible

Author
Message
blackpawe
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 18th Jan 2005 09:59
First hello to the members of this forum.

This is my first post.
I have had DBC since 2000
I am not a noobi to game design.
I am currently working on a commercial game.That I would like to port to FPSC.
I can post screen shots of its current state.

Are any of these possible in the current state of the engine.Or perhaps at a later stage of development.
Change texture of a x.model though script.
Dynamic mirrors
Render to texture
Dynamic RGB lights
Dynamic texturing effects such as procedurals, animations, blending, and morphing
Lighting bolts
User extendible particle systems
For Rain and other FX
Liquid engine for water, & containers...
Animated level textures
Decal engine NOT just for bullet holes (bloodstains,cracks in walls, Logo,etc)

Translucent world geometry
3D sound positioning and attenuation
Is there gib support though script.

Sorry for so many question.
I can not find answers to these question in the forum.

Best Regards.
Blackpawe
David T
Retired Moderator
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: England
Posted: 18th Jan 2005 15:57
FPSC is more of an editor, rather than an engine, so lots of things are done for you.

Change texture of a x.model though script.

Yes

Dynamic mirrors

Might have to use a shader

Render to texture

No (why?)

Dynamic RGB lights

No

Dynamic texturing effects such as procedurals, animations, blending, and morphing

Shaders again

Lighting bolts

Using a decal you oculd make a flash appear somewhere.

User extendible particle systems

No

Liquid engine for water, & containers...

Liquid engine?!?

Animated level textures

Not really

Quote: "Decal engine NOT just for bullet holes (bloodstains,cracks in walls, Logo,etc) "


Blood is automatic. You could place signs on walls for other things.

Translucent world geometry

Don't think so

3D sound positioning and attenuation

Again, all automatic. Fo for example enemies walking around etc are all done in 3d.

Is there gib support though script.

Don't think so.

(sorry, didn't have the heart to go through quoting all of that )

Get 15 new commands, all the date / time commands left out of DBPro for free!
DOWNLOAD PLUGINS HERE: http://www.davidtattersall.me.uk/ and select "DarkBasic"
blackpawe
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 18th Jan 2005 18:41
David T
Thank you for your time and quick response.
blackpawe
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 18th Jan 2005 19:03
Quote: "Render to texture
No (why?)"

When using this a camera can be rendered to a texture.
For security camera station in game and other effects.

Thanks again.
IanM
Retired Moderator
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Sep 2002
Location: In my moon base
Posted: 18th Jan 2005 20:16
Rendering the scene twice would half your frame rates. More cameras would be worse.

Lee has had to work hard to keep them where they are.

*** Coming soon - Network Plug-in - Check my site for info ***
For free Plug-ins and source code http://www.matrix1.demon.co.uk
Zone Chicken
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2004
Location: `~-..-~`~-..-~`
Posted: 19th Jan 2005 06:09
Liquid engine?!?
wouldn't this fall under the physics add on pack that might be released later on? That would be if they added in boyancy and gravity handelers both into the pack.
blackpawe
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 19th Jan 2005 07:51
IanM

Thank you for your response.
The second camera is not active.
Through the level.Only when triggered
Perhaps if there is camera switching through scripts?

Zone Chicken.

Thank you also.
Thats is what I am talking about.
OSX Using Happy Dude
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 19th Jan 2005 17:04
Is it possible to have a count-down timer ? Animated skys ?

Coldnews
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2004
Location: Liverpool
Posted: 19th Jan 2005 19:20
Quote: "Is it possible to have a count-down timer ? Animated skys ?"

probable for a countdown timer. not too sure about animated skies tho. That would be DAMN cool though, halfway through a level, looing out of the window and watch the sky turn blood-red.

-------------------------------------
www.ColdNews.co.uk - the worlds first solo band.
MaddA ChieF
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2004
Location: Cen*Cal
Posted: 19th Jan 2005 23:56
Quote: "Animated skys ?""

I heard there are animated skys.

www.geocities.com/vgamestuff
Coldnews
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2004
Location: Liverpool
Posted: 20th Jan 2005 04:41
oooh!

-------------------------------------
www.ColdNews.co.uk - the worlds first solo band.
Noah
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 20th Jan 2005 06:06
Cool.

Huked on foniks wurked fer mee!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-09-22 02:57:28
Your offset time is: 2020-09-22 02:57:28