Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Product Chat / Developer Question: FMV

Author
Message
SkyCubes
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2004
Location: Vancouver, Washington
Posted: 19th Jan 2005 06:25
I'm 99% sure this question hasn't been answered yet on the forum.

The question is: Will the EA and/or Boxed version of FPSC have the ability (like it's predecessor, T3DGM) to import and play video files to start the game off? If so, what formats will it support (i.e. AVI, WMV, SWF, MPEG, etc.)?

If this question has already been answered elsewhere, I apologize.
uman
Retired Moderator
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Oct 2004
Location: UK
Posted: 19th Jan 2005 07:02
The questions been asked, and I think at one time I had seen an answer of no which seemed rather odd considering T3DGM had that option and FPSC is intended I believe to be somewhat more advanced.

Not sure if any update to this possibility has or will be included.

One would think one or two intro screens and or a video intro function would seen as an invaluable asset.

This and most other questions will hopefully be clarified in the near future with the EA release.
Noah
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 19th Jan 2005 07:10
I believe they said it could be "easily added" and MAY come in the full version.

Huked on foniks wurked fer mee!
Noldor
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 19th Jan 2005 07:29
You can make a extra launch file wich playes the AVI and then launches FPSC when it is done..
Would be easy with TGF or CNC or MMF.
Altough there are probably tons of other ways..
Noldor
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 19th Jan 2005 07:29
Quote: "then launches FPSC "

I of course mean the game you made with fpsc
SkyCubes
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2004
Location: Vancouver, Washington
Posted: 19th Jan 2005 07:35
Quote: "Would be easy with TGF or CNC or MMF. "


Noldor, can you expand on that a little bit...as in I have no idea what you're talking about I'm assuming those are software titles. Are they freeware or $?

And, when you say "easy", would you mean that it would be easy enough for an 8th grader to do?

Thanks.
Noah
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 19th Jan 2005 08:32
TGC, CNC, and MMF are shareware products from http://www.clickteam.com . They are for 2d applications/games, and have their own scriptish language. There are extensions available, including OpenGL and TheMode7 (MMF only) for 3d games and things, but the 3d lags and is not practical. What Noldor says is, as he said, extremely easy to do. But would FPSC have to save your game (health, ammo, etc) and create one of the "checkpoint" type things to make it work? Noldor has a great idea, but you'd have to buy one of the softwares. I have bought TGF. Home edition. And, if you wanted to sell the game, you'd have to buy an extra license.

Oh, and something else I just wanted to say about these:
When you buy TGF, it comes with 3 sample games (Zeb, Magician's Lair, and Labotomy). Lee coded Zeb. Zeb is an amazingly coded platform game. Some how Lee managed to get out all the glitches, something virtually impossible with any Clickteam product.

That wasn't important. But "fdecker" asked for Noldor to expand on that a bit. I did it for him (sorry Noldor!)

Huked on foniks wurked fer mee!
Noldor
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 19th Jan 2005 08:43
NP "Franken Kyle" less writing for me.
YOu could probably make one of those exe
files easy with many other programs as well.
Seems a bit steep to shell out the cash just
to make an intro video.
Noah
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 19th Jan 2005 08:45 Edited at: 19th Jan 2005 08:46
Quite true Noldor.

edit: Oh, about that "expansion" post, ur welcome . I think I went a bit overboard though. Lee did a really good job coding Zeb.

Huked on foniks wurked fer mee!
Noldor
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 19th Jan 2005 09:41
Zeb? The game with TGF???
Rob K
Retired Moderator
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Sep 2002
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom
Posted: 19th Jan 2005 21:42
The answer is definately *no* for the EA version. Whether it will make it into the boxed version will depend partly on user feedback from the EA release.


BlueGUI Windows Plugin
Mr Flowerkohl
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Jan 2005
Location: Deutschland - Germany
Posted: 19th Jan 2005 21:50
Just get yourself a copy of RGHprofan and you're able to "program" your own little game-sarter. perhaps you could start the avi , and when its done , launch the exe file. i think its free now ?!?
MaddA ChieF
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2004
Location: Cen*Cal
Posted: 19th Jan 2005 23:51
Zeb is a demo game that came with The Games Factory. I have tgf. Cool to start out with. I've been using it to make nice 2D games for about 3 years.

www.geocities.com/vgamestuff
Noldor
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 19th Jan 2005 23:57
Yes i know what it is.
I was asking "Franken Kyle" if that was the
game he meant when he said
Quote: "Lee did a really good job coding Zeb."

because i did not know that lee was inwolved
with clikteam.
Rob K
Retired Moderator
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Sep 2002
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom
Posted: 20th Jan 2005 00:52
Lee wrote some of the samples for one of Clickteam's products I believe. He didn't write the product itself.


BlueGUI Windows Plugin
Noldor
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 20th Jan 2005 02:06
Cool. I did not know that.
Mr Underhill
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Apr 2003
Location: The Forgotten Worlds...
Posted: 20th Jan 2005 02:10 Edited at: 20th Jan 2005 02:11
IIRC, FPSC can export into DBP code. If that is the case, you can easily add an FMV with the following code:


All teh codez are belong to us!
Rob K
Retired Moderator
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Sep 2002
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom
Posted: 20th Jan 2005 04:46
It doesn't export DBPro code at the moment - I think it was on Lee's "if I get 5 spare minutes" tasklist.


BlueGUI Windows Plugin
Coldnews
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2004
Location: Liverpool
Posted: 20th Jan 2005 04:46
can FPScreator ACTUALLy export all code into DBpro code? because if it can then wecan do some final tweaks in DBpro and get the programme doing a hell of a lot more? Surely this cant be true. But if it is, it would be a great way to get TGC to sell a few more DBpros.
Can u export all the code?

-------------------------------------
www.ColdNews.co.uk - the worlds first solo band.
Noah
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 20th Jan 2005 06:05
Yeah Noldor, Lee wrote Zeb.

Huked on foniks wurked fer mee!
Coldnews
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2004
Location: Liverpool
Posted: 20th Jan 2005 16:13 Edited at: 20th Jan 2005 16:15
I tried downloading it and it doesnt work.
I cant believe Lee and Rich worked for Europress! Will wonders never cease?
edit: that means he must have worked with fracois lionet: creator of AMOS for the Amiga! wow! how cool man...

-------------------------------------
www.ColdNews.co.uk - the worlds first solo band.
Noah
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 21st Jan 2005 07:11
Downloading what? Zeb?

Huked on foniks wurked fer mee!
Coldnews
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2004
Location: Liverpool
Posted: 21st Jan 2005 14:50
yeah. I searched for it on google and u can get it from The europress website. But unfortunately it wont install on my comp.

-------------------------------------
www.ColdNews.co.uk - the worlds first solo band.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-09-22 02:42:52
Your offset time is: 2020-09-22 02:42:52