Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Product Chat / Importing Levels From 3DS ?!

Author
Message
Olby
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 21st Jan 2005 21:45 Edited at: 3rd Sep 2007 17:18
I wonder is it possible to create a complete level in Milkshape or Cartography Shop and then just simply export it to a 3DS file and later import it into the FPSCreator. Then attach some lights and some effects and your level is ready! Will this be possible?

PentiumIV 1.60GHz, 256MB, NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 128MB, AC'97, WinXP Pro SP2, DirectX 9.0c (Feb2007), DBPro 6.6b
http://www.myspace.com/producerolby
http://www.olby.times.lv

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Van B
Moderator
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Oct 2002
Location: Sunnyvale
Posted: 21st Jan 2005 22:09
Yeah..... BUT:

It's be slow, it'd be a nightmare to add doors, and it would be pretty tricky to position anything. Segments really are the best option.

I think the best route is to make sections of level, like wall sections and details then build them into level segments that you'd use in the editor. You can add a mesh as an entity, which would be good for irregular details like rubble for instance.


Van-B


It's c**p being the only coder in the village.
uman
Retired Moderator
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Oct 2004
Location: UK
Posted: 21st Jan 2005 23:19
Van B,

What exactly is the definition of a segment? and how do they work?

Is it a model (mesh) created outside of FPSC and imported/added?

When you say "wall sections and details then build them into level segments"

Where do you build them into segments? Do you bring in individual pieces (meshes) and build them (put together) inside the editor and save them as a complete segment, is that how it works? or do you mean build and join them outside in a model editor and then add the complete object as a segment?

Hope that makes sense.

Thanks
Van B
Moderator
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Oct 2002
Location: Sunnyvale
Posted: 22nd Jan 2005 00:23
Segments are like building blocks, made from 1 or more mesh. Most segments will just be 1 mesh object - the segment is made up using a little setup file, which I imagine the segment editor creates for you when it makes it's way back in. Most segments will be a case of just getting the mesh and texture copied over and hacking a setup file (which is easy because it's all understandable ascii).

A segment is really just a level component that you draw onto the grid - you can also place windows on walls etc, but the actual basis of your level is made from segments, all the walls, the floor, the roof, the windows, the steps etc. Now a good example might be lifts, when you make a lift, it does 2 things, firstly you'd position the bottom of your lift, and it would automatically create a platform to go with it. That would work right away, you'd be able to step on the platform and get moved up - however the platform is known as an entity.

Entities are imported much like segments - except they can do a lot more, you can rotate them, and they're not constrained to the grid in any way - the can do far more in relation to the player, like the moving lift platform for instance, or glass that breaks - you'd actually make your walls and windows then add the window pane as an entity that would sit inside the window to give a nice glass effect.


Van-B


It's c**p being the only coder in the village.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-09-22 04:00:40
Your offset time is: 2020-09-22 04:00:40