Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Program Announcements / BOS - DBPro TPC Plugin

Author
Message
Phaelax
DBPro Master
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Apr 2003
Location: Metropia
Posted: 22nd Jan 2005 11:21
BOS(Build Order System)

I made this plugin to help organize the build structure inside an RTS game.



The commands help you set up a hierarchy system as shown in the picture. Other commands let you know what is available and what is currently active. Available would mean that you are allowed to build a "war factory", but if "active" is 0, it means it has not yet been built and therefore its children cannot be accessed.

Bugs:
When deactivating a node, it's children remain active.

keywords.ini


Example


"eureka" - Archimedes

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Hamish McHaggis
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2002
Location: Modgnik Detinu
Posted: 22nd Jan 2005 21:16
Could be pretty handy in cutting out a lot of work for RTS makers . Nice job!

Isn't it? Wasn't it? Marvellous!
David T
Retired Moderator
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: England
Posted: 23rd Jan 2005 00:27
Ahh clever - so you tell it the name of the bulding and it gives you a list of what can be built?

Get 15 new commands, all the date / time commands left out of DBPro for free!
DOWNLOAD PLUGINS HERE: http://www.davidtattersall.me.uk/ and select "DarkBasic"
Mr Underhill
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Apr 2003
Location: The Forgotten Worlds...
Posted: 23rd Jan 2005 01:15
Quote: "Bugs:
When deactivating a node, it's children remain active. "

You could get away with saying "it's not a bug, it's a feature!" with that. Maybe a separate command like SetBOSAutoDisable would help.

And what does that N mean in your example?

This could really help with an RPG I'm making (skill/weapon upgrade tree). Good job!

My name is Underhill...commit it to memory.
Fellow Americans, defend your democracy! Support the Voter's Bill of Rights!
Phaelax
DBPro Master
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Apr 2003
Location: Metropia
Posted: 23rd Jan 2005 07:06
Each command returns an integer. 1 is successful, 0 if not, and -1 if the name was not found. That's usually do to a typo in the string.

@davidT, no but I could add that in. It helps you keep track of what's active. That way you know what can and cannot be built.

"eureka" - Archimedes

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2022-12-02 02:23:53
Your offset time is: 2022-12-02 02:23:53