Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Problem for executing sample programs

Author
Message
dede
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Feb 2005
Location: France
Posted: 18th Feb 2005 03:04
Config :
Win XP SP 2, PIV 2.4, Geforcefx5700LE 256Mo.
VC++ 6.0, DX october version.

I have no problem for comiling the sample, but when I execute, I have just a black screen and 1 minute after, a error message come.
I've tryed with my own program and it's the same.
The only function wich works is dbPrint()!
Please help me, I don't understand why it doesn't work.
I'am waiting for your response.
Thank you for your futur help
OSX Using Happy Dude
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 18th Feb 2005 03:58
Any code ?

It sounds like it may be a DirectX problem - do you have DX9.0c ?

Visit http://homepages.nildram.co.uk/~nickk/
Questions are a burden to others, answers a prison for oneself.
dede
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Feb 2005
Location: France
Posted: 18th Feb 2005 04:21
Yes I have.
Forthe code, I took the sample program, so it can't be the code.
zao420
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Aug 2003
Location: Canada
Posted: 18th Feb 2005 07:57
if you using the sample code you have to make sure you have the media folder where you putting the compiled exe, and you need to set the working dir to where the exe is if you tell it to copy to a different folder after it compiles.

http://cavesoft.no-ip.com
WIP Version of my site. Usally it is offline.
http://dev-cavesoft.no-ip.com
dede
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Feb 2005
Location: France
Posted: 18th Feb 2005 15:40
I'm not sure I've made what you say zao420, but with my own code I have the same problem.
Dou you think that if I haven't the SP5 for VC++ can be the reason of my problem, because I've instal the SP6 for VB, but I don't remember if I've instal the SP5 for VC++. I will the that tonight after the work.
For information, my version of VB is the enterprise edition.
Thank you for your advices.
OSX Using Happy Dude
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 18th Feb 2005 16:05 Edited at: 18th Feb 2005 16:06
I think you need SP6 if your using Visual Studio 6.
Whatever it is though, its certainly a problem with your machine, especially if programs crash that dont use any media.

Visit http://homepages.nildram.co.uk/~nickk/
Questions are a burden to others, answers a prison for oneself.
dede
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Feb 2005
Location: France
Posted: 18th Feb 2005 16:20
OK, I will see for the Sp6.
If the bug persist, I will reinstal Visual studio, DX sdk and Darkbasic...
dede
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Feb 2005
Location: France
Posted: 19th Feb 2005 18:53
I have re-instal all the composant and it’s the same !!
In debug mode, it tell me that there is an acces violation, memory can’t be read.
I have the SP 6 of VC++ 6.0 entreprise edition.
I don’t understand why it can’t works, it make me mad!!
I have the october version for the dx SDK and october for the extras too.
Can the december or the february version work with VC++ 6.0?
For instal the extra pack, I just have to put the contain of the dir “D3dx9 Visual Studio 6” in “C:\Program Files\Microsoft DirectX 9.0 SDK (October 2004)\Lib” ??
Please help me, I want to find a solution, I’ve paid for this program and I want to work with.
Artus
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Feb 2005
Location: France
Posted: 25th Feb 2005 23:55
The description you make corresponds exactly to what happens when a file (image etc..) is not found. You should really check the path to media files as Zao420 said. You could try with a full path in your code ("c:\\xxx\\xxx.jpg") to verify this.
Mike Johnson
TGC Developer
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 26th Feb 2005 03:58
dede - are you still having problems with the SDK? As others have mentioned it sounds like the problem is related to the working directory of the programs. Look in the project settings dialog and make sure the working directory is set to the right location.
dede
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Feb 2005
Location: France
Posted: 4th Mar 2005 20:55
OK I will see if it's not a problem from the directory, if it's that... I'll be very happy.
Now, I'm in school and for my diplom, I want to prepar my game at school, but I have some problems too.
It's with Visual Studio .NET 2003, I've install the last version of DirectX SDK (the february version), with the extras and I have problem when executing sample programs :



And I have an other problem when I exectuting my own programs, VS dont find some dll??



I think it a conflict in the library, but I don't know why.
OSX Using Happy Dude
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 4th Mar 2005 21:13
Can you make the full project availiable ?
If it cant find some DLL's when you run your own program, some pathing system is up the wall (or possibly the pathing in VS .Net is incorrect).

Visit http://homepages.nildram.co.uk/~nickk/
Questions are a burden to others, answers a prison for oneself.
dede
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Feb 2005
Location: France
Posted: 4th Mar 2005 21:28


I think is that I haven't make a "blank" win 32 project, but how can I do that?
OSX Using Happy Dude
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 4th Mar 2005 23:33 Edited at: 4th Mar 2005 23:35
Get rid of _tmain to start with.

Try :



With the latest Microsoft DirectX SDK, there needs to be a #define in there - once I've had a look at my code, I can tell you what it is.

Visit http://homepages.nildram.co.uk/~nickk/
Questions are a burden to others, answers a prison for oneself.
dede
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Feb 2005
Location: France
Posted: 5th Mar 2005 00:06
I think the problem is that I have the last Direct X SDK version, it seam to make a conflict in the library.
Look, I try with your code and I this error :



I have 2 other error : LNK2019 and LNK1120.

I'll try with the december version when I'll have time and I'll tell you if it works.
Thanks for your help
OSX Using Happy Dude
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 5th Mar 2005 00:22
No idea what causes that "library" conflict - sounds like a C++ thing.

The latest SDK works fine with DarkSDK - just need an extra #define in there.

Visit http://homepages.nildram.co.uk/~nickk/
Questions are a burden to others, answers a prison for oneself.
zao420
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Aug 2003
Location: Canada
Posted: 5th Mar 2005 08:01
i am using the feb 2005 version two, just reinstalled after a format. only problem i has was a driver issue witch was cause the programs to crash. after i fixed that all was good.

@ Squidgy The Brick
what extra define you add, i didn't add any and it works for me. i do you the precompiled headers and in that i have.


i did notice with the december version it would cause problems with out the define but the feb one seams to work with out it.

http://cavesoft.no-ip.com
WIP Version of my site. Usally it is offline.
http://dev-cavesoft.no-ip.com
OSX Using Happy Dude
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 5th Mar 2005 19:55
The extra #define is :

#define INITGUID
#include <dxdiag.h>

Visit http://homepages.nildram.co.uk/~nickk/
Questions are a burden to others, answers a prison for oneself.
zao420
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Aug 2003
Location: Canada
Posted: 6th Mar 2005 01:59
yea i don't use that anywhere is my project. iam using vs.net 2003 with the feb 2005 sdk, with the december one it seams you need it.

http://cavesoft.no-ip.com
WIP Version of my site. Usally it is offline.
http://dev-cavesoft.no-ip.com
marcsbike
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Mar 2005
Location:
Posted: 20th Mar 2005 05:24
Hi,

I'm trying to get my first program (copied from an earlier post) to build in VS 2003 .NET (I also have the Feb 2005 update of DirectX 9.0) and I am getting the following two errors:

test1 error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _main referenced in function _mainCRTStartup

and

test1 fatal error LNK1120: 1 unresolved externals

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance!
Marc
marcsbike
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Mar 2005
Location:
Posted: 21st Mar 2005 01:51
Hi,

Solved the problems noted above. Now struggling to understand some of the sample code that came with the kit (and why some of it doesn't seem to work!)...

Thanks,
Marc
Smithy
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2004
Location: Switzerland
Posted: 15th Apr 2005 22:09
I have this "error" too...

"defaultlib "library" conflicts with use of other libs;
use /NODEFAULTLIB:library"


It's no error, its only a warning, the code will be compiled successfully.
When I compile twice, the second time, the warning doesn't show up.

Don't know where the problem is though,
Smithy

//Pentium IV 3200E/Prescott; 800Mhz FSB; Hyperthreading; WinXP Pro (!XP2); ATI R9700PRO; 1024MB RAM (2x 512MB "DualChanneled"; VC++ 6.0; Delphi; ADSL;

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2023-02-06 19:47:15
Your offset time is: 2023-02-06 19:47:15