Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

3 Dimensional Chat / Save Object *.dbo,1 - where do all the little textures go...???

Author
Message
Duffer
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: chair
Posted: 12th Apr 2005 04:02
OK - so I create my wonderful skysphere, I grab an image 2048,2048 in program and texture my skysphere with it, I then save the .dbo object... when I load it up again it is faithfully the same object - but without the texture.... what can I do about this???

would loading the texture into the program as a named .bmp file (eg. "star01.bmp) as an image and then texturing the object effect this problem at all...?
BF game programmer
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2005
Location: hoover alabama
Posted: 12th Apr 2005 07:52
if you make an image then texture that should work . im not realy sure what your saying but if your grabing the image and not saving it as a .bmp file then loading it as an image then i suggest you do that because it workes better. thats mainly what i understand if thats not what your looking for then post a discriptin of what it is or give me some code or some thing. hope that helps!

james bond rules
Duffer
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: chair
Posted: 12th Apr 2005 08:44
@ BF game programmer...

thanks for that,... anyway, you asked for it, I attach some code which I might add creates a rather nifty starfield based on I think a 2000,50,50 sphere textured with a 2048x2048 grab image 1 - save it (you will need to add your own startBlue code at start or alter my code) and then load it back (dito) - the sphere comes back but without the texture....???? can you see why>?
BF game programmer
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2005
Location: hoover alabama
Posted: 13th Apr 2005 07:38
this is kind of hard but ill figer it all out ill post it as soon as im done!!

james bond rules
Duffer
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: chair
Posted: 13th Apr 2005 08:49
@ BF, OK and thanks v much for this - and let me know what you think of the starfield if it works for your system as well...
G Man
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 13th Apr 2005 09:00
Well for one thing you're mixing apples and oranges... This bit of code:



has you selecting a .dbo file as the save destination and then you append ".X" to the file name. Are you attempting to save the model in .DBO or .X format? They are two completely different model file formats. You know that right?

Intel Pentium 4, 3.4GHz, 1280MB RAM, NVidia Quadro FX3000/256MB, 240GB HD, XP Pro
Duffer
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: chair
Posted: 14th Apr 2005 04:15
@ G Man,

Knew that. Just forgot to alter things back properly as I tinkered and tinkered... here is the adjusted code.... to be honest I was saving as a mesh object (and they are saved as .x) as an act of abject desperation to see if the texture would be saved with the mesh as it wasnt being saved with the .dbo.... even being 99.9% sure that meshes just saved structure and not texture - unlike .dbos - supposedly.... anyway... I re attach the code and the question remains - why does the saved .dbo fail to retain the texture???? (and does the code produce a reasonable starfield for you in 1st place)...???

I was doing the a$ = " " after I'd saved the .dbo because for reasons unknown the program keeps on resaving and resaving for reasons beyond me as well...

thanks for your help on this one,
Duffer
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: chair
Posted: 14th Apr 2005 04:17
@ BF - have you solved the failure to save texture in .dbo problemo yet either???
G Man
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Nov 2004
Location:
Posted: 14th Apr 2005 06:49
As you are using a procedurally generated texture, it could be that DBPro does not have any way of knowing what the texture filename will be once it is saved. Now it depends if the crew here at TGC have made this thing that savvy, but it could be that in order to fix your problem, you need to save the texture first, then update this texture pointer (if it indeed exists) by doing a "load image" and "texture object" using the newly loaded/saved texture. If however DBPro doesn't maintain any internal kind of indication as to the texture's source, then you're simply going to be SOL my friend. In which case you are going to have to manually load the generated model into some editor and assign the texture by hand. Which shouldn't be too big of a deal since we can expect that DBPro was smart enough to save the UV data...

You have to remember that textures are not stored inside of the model files themselves. All that is stored is a reference to the texture file name.

Intel Pentium 4, 3.4GHz, 1280MB RAM, NVidia Quadro FX3000/256MB, 240GB HD, XP Pro

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-27 20:47:49
Your offset time is: 2024-11-27 20:47:49