Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

The 20 Line Challenge / An idea for new rules:

Author
Message
UberTuba
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2002
Location: Brittania
Posted: 1st Feb 2003 15:31
1 :you are only allowed 100 cammands, but as many lines as you want

This makes code much more readable, and allows use of essential if commands , but he macimum number of commands is unchanged
Life is a terminal disease.
You never survive it.
IanM
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Sep 2002
Location: In my moon base
Posted: 1st Feb 2003 18:04
It would certainly make the damn things easier to code and read and (god forbid) to include comments

How would you class this though?

if a>0 then print a

Is that one or two commands? It's one using the original rules.
UberTuba
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2002
Location: Brittania
Posted: 1st Feb 2003 20:16
No, sorry but it's two in the original rules, and i think it should be the same in the new ones (if they are ever made official)

Life is a terminal disease.
You never survive it.
UberTuba
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2002
Location: Brittania
Posted: 1st Feb 2003 20:19
"allows use of essential if commands"
sorry i meant more essential if commands.all commands after an if statement are used only if the if stetement is true, so often you cannot go up to the maxmum
5 commands per line

Life is a terminal disease.
You never survive it.
Witch Bomber
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2003
Location: Scotland
Posted: 25th Mar 2003 17:53
Yeah, but the "100 command challenge" doesn't have the same ring to it

Visit the new Madd Matt Games Website
http://www.madamattgames.o-f.com/index.htm
Home of Witch Bomber,Magic Cube and Pinball Football(and a lame website)
The Darthster
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 25th Mar 2003 18:51
To get round that, I omit the 'then' and stick an endif after the block, counting it only as one command (plus whatever is in the if endif block). The example given would be:

if a>0: print a: endif

and wouldn't mess up the rest of the line.

Once I was but the learner,
now, I am the Master.
Witch Bomber
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2003
Location: Scotland
Posted: 26th Mar 2003 02:20
So that counts as 2 commands then?

Visit the new Madd Matt Games Website
http://www.madamattgames.o-f.com/index.htm
Home of Witch Bomber,Magic Cube and Pinball Football(and a lame website)
PiratSS
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2002
Location:
Posted: 26th Mar 2003 02:35
Yea, I do it the same way.

I just count it as 2 commands.

20 Lines is 20 lines, not 100.

Cheers.

1PH J00 C4|\| U|\|dER$T@|\||) +|-|I$, j00 |-|@\/3 4lR3Ady w0|\|! - p1r@T$$
rapscaLLion
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2002
Location: Canada
Posted: 28th Mar 2003 03:57
OR you can code your proggy for the 20 line challange in a nice-easy-to-read format, and post an official version and an easy on the eyes version...

Alex Wanuch
aka rapscaLLion
Kousen Dev Progress >> Currently Working On Editors
Hamish McHaggis
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2002
Location: Modgnik Detinu
Posted: 29th Mar 2003 17:07
2 commands! I could have done my recent code in 18 lines then!

Why the hell'd you ask me for crying out loud!?!
Rob K
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Sep 2002
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom
Posted: 29th Mar 2003 19:58
I am currently writing a 20-line Challenge expander to convert code into easy reading. It replaces ":" with new characters and indents code as necessary.

Current Project: Retro Compo. Entry.
minkus
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2003
Location: My House
Posted: 1st Apr 2003 07:26
it seems that people don't listen to the "5 commands per line" anyway... i've seen 10 commands on one line tons o times, and even the "quake 3 arena" won with more than 10 commands on 1 line

MY POINT:

people would make a lot more than 100 commands, and even if 20 * 5 commands is the same as 100 commands, Rich even said in:

http://www.darkbasicpro.com/apollo/view.php?t=560&b=11

that you could put x-tra lines and comments on the code...

They say I'm crazy
but I'm actually REALLY crazy
Richard Davey
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Apr 2002
Location: On the Jupiter Probe
Posted: 1st Apr 2003 15:14
I would rather increase the commands allowed per line - but keep it limited to 20 lines. Comments have always been allowed and never counted to the line total. The point of this competition was never to have everyone post readable code others could learn from, it was to impress people to be honest.

Am going to modify the rules post now.

Cheers,

Rich

"Gentlemen, we are about to short-circuit the Universe!"
DB Team / Atari ST / DarkForge / Retro Gaming
Hamish McHaggis
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2002
Location: Modgnik Detinu
Posted: 1st Apr 2003 21:00
25 Commands Per Line?!?!?! Wow, that should make it alot easier, but dbpro people will have the advantage since 25 commands usually wont fit into 255 characters!

Why the hell'd you ask me for crying out loud!?!
Chiwawa
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posted: 2nd Apr 2003 19:42
damn......25 command...really to much..
why not keep the 5 line..rule..?
Hamish McHaggis
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2002
Location: Modgnik Detinu
Posted: 2nd Apr 2003 20:25
Yeah, maybe, but you can get much better stuff with 25 commands and It'll still be a challange to beat other people.

Why the hell'd you ask me for crying out loud!?!
andrew11
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Feb 2003
Location: United States
Posted: 3rd Apr 2003 01:46 Edited at: 3rd Apr 2003 01:46
I thought the hard part was trying to fit it in 20 lines with only 5 commands on a line?

Its not alot easier, now its not a challenge at all. If each line has 5 times as many commands, that means that you can have up to 500 commands.
Maybe 10 or even 15 commands, but not 25.

[center]"All programmers are playwrights and all computers are lousy actors." -Anon.[/Center]
<--- Ouch, my head!
Chiwawa
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posted: 3rd Apr 2003 01:51
5 was perfeft.... 25 is far too much.... lets go WE WANT OUR 5 command max
Richard Davey
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Apr 2002
Location: On the Jupiter Probe
Posted: 3rd Apr 2003 03:35
No, you can't have 500 commands - the second you introduce any kind of logic you're ending the line effectively.

If you want to keep it to 5 commands per line then do so, stop moaning about it, I'm not changing it!

Cheers,

Rich

"Gentlemen, we are about to short-circuit the Universe!"
DB Team / Atari ST / DarkForge / Retro Gaming
The Darthster
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 5th Apr 2003 12:13
Maybe people should state in their entry whether they are using the new 25 command-per-line rule or the old 5 command-per-line rule. What I liked about the old rules was that 20 lines with 5 commands isn't actually very much, yet you can still program a lot of varied stuff in there (like quake 3). It doesn't take very long to fill 100 lines, the ripples 'n' lights were done in about 20 minutes, quake 3 took longer. Enter the matrix took even longer, because of the text effect, the 3d bit was just taken from quake 3. 500 lines will take ages to fill. The trick is stuffing it all into the 20 lines when you're done.

You can have 500 commands if you have no logic at all, just a rolling demo.

Once I was but the learner,
now, I am the Master.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-04-19 04:10:34
Your offset time is: 2024-04-19 04:10:34