Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Visual C++ Express Edition Beta 2

Author
Message
ArcAngel
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2003
Location:
Posted: 10th May 2005 07:16
Can I use Visual C++ Express Edition Beta 2 with Dark SDK?

"It is well that war is so terrible, or we should grow too fond of it."
"Visit my website! www.freewebs.com/stradigos"
OSX Using Happy Dude
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 10th May 2005 07:40
Is that VS .Net 2005 (aka VS .Net 8) ?

Visit http://homepages.nildram.co.uk/~nickk
Calm down dear! Its only The Unofficial DB Sci-Fi Con...
http://spaces.msn.com/members/BouncyBrick/
Raven
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Mar 2005
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 10th May 2005 08:09
Beta 2 has alot of incompatibilities, I wouldn't recommend it for development means.

Beta 1 can be used, but it requires you to manually set the Platform SDK (which must be downloaded seperately).

[ Liandri Corporation / Chief Software Architect ]
ArcAngel
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2003
Location:
Posted: 10th May 2005 08:58 Edited at: 10th May 2005 08:59
Tesio can you elaborate? What does "manually setting the platform SDK" involve and how do I do that? I take it I can get the program itself from Microsoft.com.

EDIT:

And yes I am talking about that.

"It is well that war is so terrible, or we should grow too fond of it."
"Visit my website! www.freewebs.com/stradigos"
Jedive
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2003
Location: Spain
Posted: 10th May 2005 09:05
It involves downloading the SDK, which contains Windows headers & libs, independently from VC++, installing it, and manually adding its "include" and "lib" folders to the search path of VC++.

== Jedive ==
AthlonXP 1600+, 512MB, GeForce4MX, WinXP/DX9, Fedora Core 3
iBook G4 1Ghz, 256MB, Radeon9200, Mac OS X Panther
ArcAngel
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2003
Location:
Posted: 10th May 2005 09:08
Is it worth it? Is it easy? Where is this SDK and is there a tutorial I can follow to make sure I don't screw it up lol.

we seem to both be on right now, my AIM name is arcangel01101. IM me so we can talk faster.

"It is well that war is so terrible, or we should grow too fond of it."
"Visit my website! www.freewebs.com/stradigos"
Raven
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Mar 2005
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 10th May 2005 10:12
Not just manually adding the includes/lib directories.. god if it were only that straight-forward.

You have to also manually add each of the libraries in the reference.

You'll need at the very least,

Kernel32.lib User32.lib CRTmdt.lib, and a few more I forget.
Your best bet is to find someone who has Visual Studio 2003 installed, and ask them to look at the reference libraries for your. So you know which base-system libraries you need to add.

Once that's all done though, it is fairly easy to get it all working.

[ Liandri Corporation / Chief Software Architect ]
Jedive
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2003
Location: Spain
Posted: 11th May 2005 17:40
Yes, sorry, forgot about that. You have to manually add all the .lib files in the linker options. When I compile something on VC++ 2005, I do the following: I compile the project and then, when it gives me a linker error, search for that function @ MSDN. There I can see to which .lib file that function belongs. I add it to the library dependencies, and recompile You usually have to do it 4 or 5 times only.

== Jedive ==
AthlonXP 1600+, 512MB, GeForce4MX, WinXP/DX9, Fedora Core 3
iBook G4 1Ghz, 256MB, Radeon9200, Mac OS X Panther

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2023-02-06 20:43:39
Your offset time is: 2023-02-06 20:43:39