Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Scripts / How-To Guides -- "Creating a Simple FPI File" <---- This doesn't work!!!

Author
Message
DrWho
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Apr 2005
Location: USA
Posted: 13th May 2005 20:29
Hi guys,

I've just started scripting, And I followed everthing that the
How-To Guides says in all... But when I created the mylogic.fpi file like the tutorial say's to do & then try to
run it in FPSC, It doesn't play it?!???

Can anybody shed any light on this subject, And show me the proper
way of doing this? Id' appreciate it very much so.

Thank's guys...

Best Regards,

DoctorWho...
DrWho
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Apr 2005
Location: USA
Posted: 14th May 2005 16:37
Well...

1.) I did state above that I was just starting scripting
using the How-To Guides in the manule. So according to
the manule in the section called Creating a Simple FPI File I did exactly what they had instructed me to do according to
that section of the manule! I used a dynamic entity, An
animated character without a weapon!

2.) And yes I did select the character & assign the fpi script to
it according to the manule in the AI-Main section of the
properties in the editor of the entity.

3.) And yes I did click apply and the properties of the
entity did close!

4.) The following below this line is my fpi script:



5.) And what is My Real Name really doesn't apply to fpi scripting!



Best Regards,

DoctorWho...
DrWho
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Apr 2005
Location: USA
Posted: 29th May 2005 13:21
ok.

I finally got to play around with the scripting language a bit.
And as was previously mentioned about this language. The scripting
language does seem to be based off of:

IF (Condition) THEN (Action)

The Scripting language would be alot more clear & make more sense
if it was written in this syntax format.

This way it makes the scripting language alot more easier to understand for people that may have never written any code at all!

If the below code was written like the next line of code, It would be alot more clear & straight forward.

Original FPI Script Code:
:STATE=0:SOUND=audiobank\music\horror\title.wav,STATE=1

More Clear & Understandable FPI Code:
If STATE=0 THEN SOUND=audiobank\music\horror\title.wav:STATE=1

The second line of code makes more sense & is more logical in nature. But this is just my opinion only! I think the work that TGC
has done on FPS Creator is nothing short of amazing indeed! However.. I just personally think that if the FPI Scripting Language
was written in such a manner, That you would have fewer questions as the one I originally posted above! Not only from me, But also from others that Im' sure might share the same feeling towards this matter in question.

Best Regards,

DoctorWho...
UltraNerd
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jul 2005
Location:
Posted: 18th Jul 2005 03:29
What is 3d Sound and how can 3d sound help in this issue?
I'm having the same problem with scripting sound in FPSC.

Dis Dat and de oddah Ting. A Splender to Render.
socrates
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jul 2005
Location:
Posted: 21st Jul 2005 22:27
Does the file \audiobank\music\horror\title.wav even exist on your system? It doesn't on mine. Did you create the horror folder youself and put a custom sound in it?

"Who in their right mind would ever need more than 640k of ram!?"
-- Bill Gates, 1981
MikeC
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Aug 2005
Location:
Posted: 5th Aug 2005 08:07
I ran into the same problem. The problem I am having is that when I create the script using notepad, it saves it as a .txt when I think it is looking for a .fpi. I try to change it but that isn't working.

The manual refers to using notepad and it gives the exact code that seems to be the problem.

On another note, is there a FPSC-Segments.exe or a FPSC-Entities.exe? I did a search of my hardrive and I couldn't find it.
Any suggestions?
dpharaoh
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Nov 2005
Location: SouthEast MA
Posted: 3rd Nov 2005 12:13
A bump because I'm trying to learn scripting also!

In the code below, taken from the "How to Create a Simple FPI file" on page 85 of the FPS Creator manual, the .wav file exists, and plays once extremely briefly (doesn't finish) when the map begins, does not loop.

Granted, there are better ways to add sounds to objects, but as a script example, how can it be made to work?

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2022-10-06 04:15:55
Your offset time is: 2022-10-06 04:15:55