Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Help with "Hello World"

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I have just recently purchased the DB-SDK and wanted to get a simple hello world app going... I'm familiar with DB-Pro but am having a hullva time getting this simple test case to work with the SDK. I'm sure its because I'm new to VisualStudio

Could anyone maybe give me a hand with this pathetic request?

Thanks,

-dylan
Mike Johnson
TGC Developer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st Jun 2005 18:00
Can you compile any of the sample applications? Do you get any errors when attempting to compile and if so what are they?
IanM
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st Jun 2005 21:22
If you have the correct settings for the include file and library file locations, then the following code will do the 'Hello World' thing.

Let us know what errors (if any) that you get.

*** Coming soon - Network Plug-in - Check my site for info ***
For free Plug-ins and source code http://www.matrix1.demon.co.uk
Bernard
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd Jun 2005 17:41
I'm sorry, but doesn't a valid C++ code need a main function in order to run?

like this:
The Goat Ass!
Years of Service
User Offline
Thanks for the posts...

My problem was that VS-03 adds a ton of uneccesary files if you don't tell it to make an "empty" project

Once I did that, all was happier in the world -- Thanks!

I have notice though that some of the examples that came with the SDK don't actually compile.?...I've loaded the 1.1 patch for libs and include.

Thanks again!
Smithy
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 3rd Jun 2005 16:38
@Bernard
You are right,... and the main() is there!!!
Its hidden from you, like the WinMain(), but it's there