Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

3 Dimensional Chat / 3D model animation with 3d Studio is still killing me

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Welp, I have spent 2 days digging around trying to find the answer to my problem. But have seemed to narrow it down a bit.
I am guessing everyone else is having this same problem just like me. I am somewhat new to modeling, but I learn quick.
The physical numbers of my PC aren't a problem, everything is above a gig.

My problem is, I have made a simple character in 3d Studio 3.1. I added bones to it so I could link the boxes together and give it movement. I double check to see if it has animation. Then I have saved it as a 3DS file. Then run the converter in DB. And I get a *.X file that has no animation. I check it with the DB browser and it has no animation, but has texture. When I load them up into the tutorial program all of the boxes that the character is made of collapses down to a single point, and I am able to move the pile of mess around. Like I was walking, but no animation of the character mess. I have grabbed 4+ diffrent file converters to convert it to something else and then convert it over to a *.X file. I have tried to convert it to an *.OBJ, then convert it with MilkShape, and I still get nothing. But I did notice that MilkShape also didn't show me the animation. So I am hypothesising that 3D Studio is not infact saving the animation to the 3DS file.
If anybody has any clues as to how I can get this to work, that would be nice. I have tried my best to describe what I have done in 3D Studio. Please don't assume that I automatically knew about changing some setting to make everything stay where is supposed too, because that just might be what I screwed up on.