Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / 3DMapEditor Ver 2.29 for DarkBasic V1

Author
Message
Freddix
AGK Developer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Sep 2002
Location: France
Posted: 2nd Oct 2002 20:44
Hello.
The last release of my program will be available in 1 week or faster . . .
I will give you the URL to download it but there is a snapshot of a map created with 3DMapEditor and running under DBv1 :

Incandescant
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 4th Oct 2002 14:41
sweeeeeeet!!!!

System: Athlon TBird 800Mhz, 320MB RAM, GeForce 2MX440, DX8.1
Crossleo
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Oct 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 4th Oct 2002 18:38
mmmh a little dark don't you think i had to adjust my brightness to be able to see it but looks really nice

Crossleo
-------------------------------------
Admin of the Cross entertainment team
David T
Retired Moderator
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: England
Posted: 4th Oct 2002 23:56
"mmmh a little dark don't you think i had to adjust my brightness to be able to see it but looks really "

But it is set at night?

I love Star Trek.
Especially the Episodes with Starships in.
Freddix
AGK Developer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Sep 2002
Location: France
Posted: 5th Oct 2002 02:32
If you want you can download ver 2.28 that is available on my site . If you want to see what my editor can do
The 2.29 will be released for public that week-end.

http://cordierfr.free.fr/html/index.html
Freddix
AGK Developer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Sep 2002
Location: France
Posted: 6th Oct 2002 18:12
3DMapEditor Ver 2.29 for DBv1 is now available for download for alls !
--------------------------------------------
http://perso.wanadoo.fr/frederic.cordier/index.html [site]
http://cordierfr.free.fr/html/index.html [mirror]
http://cordierfr.free.fr/index.html [base]
Kevin Picone
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: Australia
Posted: 6th Oct 2002 20:00
Freddix:

I wonder if you'd have some time to try and add an Visible Worlds map export to this. It's be nice to have a real world for some more serius testing.

drop me an email if your interested

l8r,
Kevin Picone
[url]www.uwdesign.50megs.com[/url]
Freddix
AGK Developer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Sep 2002
Location: France
Posted: 6th Oct 2002 21:33
Please , could you explain a bit more what you want ?
( I'm french and I've not understand all your means . . . )

You want I export my map to something ? another file format ?
Kevin Picone
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: Australia
Posted: 7th Oct 2002 06:13
HI Freddix:

Yes, I was hoping that you could ADD an export function to your editor, that exports your editors worlds into Visible Worlds Map format.

The Map format is a simple a list of boxes. These boxes have DB objects within them, From this list of boxes Visible Worlds will calculate the PVS (visibility) sets for the world.

So then users could load in a world from your editor with your load world function, and then load in the portal for the world, to speed up rendering. It's like a poor mans BSP, designed to work with the DB object system, rather than on a polygon level.

It's important to ntoe that Visible Worlds doesn't replace your tool, it works along side it.

Just email me and i'll send you the current beta version. uwdesign@hotmail.com

Or, I could prolly write an exporter based on your load world routine if you really need, but it'd be better if you did that.

l8r,
Kevin Picone
[url]www.uwdesign.50megs.com[/url]
Freddix
AGK Developer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Sep 2002
Location: France
Posted: 7th Oct 2002 16:11
I will working on a thing like you telled . . .

Here is now a 3DMapEditor Technical Demo :
It show you how you can make a Bio Hasard Clone using both DB and 3DMapEditor Ver2.29.
With Action Zones you can easily create doors , téléports , and more . . .

Here is the direct URL for the binary only demo download :
http://cordierfr.free.fr/bin/3DMe_Example2-Resident_Evil_Like(binary).zip

Source code is available for 3DMapEditor's registered users . . .

Here is a small snapshot from one of the demo screens . . .

And the full snapshot here :
http://cordierfr.free.fr/snap/3dme_tech2_rec.jpg
denki
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 7th Oct 2002 22:54
Looking good

denki
Kousen DPB RPG latest - Working on editors!
Kevin Picone
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: Australia
Posted: 8th Oct 2002 09:10
Freddix:

I not sure we understand each other.

I've already written the portal/Pvs compiler, just need world editing tools like yours to support it.

l8r,
Kevin Picone
[url]www.uwdesign.50megs.com[/url]
Freddix
AGK Developer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Sep 2002
Location: France
Posted: 8th Oct 2002 20:12
okay , Now I've understand ( I'm sorry but I'm french and it's not always easy to understand all thing english speaking peoples say .
Then I'll sen d you an e-mail soonly to talk about it with you ( And If you have MSN you can contact me )
CoCoTower
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Oct 2002
Location:
Posted: 12th Oct 2002 09:33
I have your 3DMapEditor, maybe the previous version, but the problem I have is that is mixes English with your language and I can only understand the English parts.

So is your editor just for matrice-type walls, floors, etc.? This is not all so bad, because of the examples I have seen in your program, this takes a load off of the game since everything is predefined and contained in a data file(s).

Freddix
AGK Developer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Sep 2002
Location: France
Posted: 12th Oct 2002 23:19
normally you can change the langage with the 3DMapEdit.cfg file.
put 'ENGLISH' instead of 'FRANCAIS'

I will try to see if it is a bug a fix it .
MiRRoRMaN
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Oct 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 15th Oct 2002 03:13
Pretty good tool. too bad its shareware, is the open version crippled btw?

If its not: keep up the good work.

www.mirrorman.cjb.net, the classic Commodore 64 and Amiga site.
MiRRoRMaN
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Oct 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 15th Oct 2002 03:19
Ok I just checked it out, a 128 object limit isnt too bad. If I really like it I will register.

Keep up the good work dude!

www.mirrorman.cjb.net, the classic Commodore 64 and Amiga site.
Megaman X
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Oct 2002
Location: Sweden
Posted: 25th Oct 2002 02:29
It really looks good. I tried to run and it crashed when I used mouse click But it looks very well done. Sad its crashing in my computer

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-08-13 19:05:49
Your offset time is: 2020-08-13 19:05:49